We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited twice over vacation - and enjoyed both meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar

Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar
Yacht Haven Grande Marina | St.Thomas, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas (Formerly Grand Cru)
340-774-7263
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Plainville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Visited twice over vacation - and enjoyed both meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I actually ended up eating here twice while on vacation. The first time, I sat outside - the views are incredible. The service was OK, I think as a single diner, I was the first priority of my server. However, the food was excellent. The second time, I ate inside at the bar. The bartender was awesome - checked in on me just enough times. The second meal was even better. Overall, I would recommend folks try this place out. Sit outside - loved watching all the yachts docked nearby.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    106
    43
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln RI 02865
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

High end restaurant / night club. Expensive ,good food and people watching . Right on the water.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced, terrible service and not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Sorry to say we did not enjoy our dinner at Grand Cru. While the atmosphere is great, the food and service leaves alot to be desired. Our waiter had no clue of what he was doing, we had to call over someone else to ask question's. We were very disappointed. There are many better restaurants in St. Thomas, I would not waste my money here again.
The bar makes great martini's so stop in for a martini, check out the view and go eat somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I went here on vacation in St Thomas when we were there for our babymoon. We thought this restaurant was excellent and we love good food. It has a fantastic view of the largest yachts I have ever seen. The food is very fresh, staff was really friendly and the drinks were innovative. I also thought the prices were reasonable for how good the food is. We were staying at the Marriot and paying more for food that wasn't half as good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great choice and a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've been to this restaurant before and we enjoyed the service and the food, and the views. Our last visit was even better with a nice up-grade on the menu with new offerings. The service ranks high compared to other restaurants on STT and we suggest you make a reservation in advance.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.