We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Cafe

Amalia Cafe
5143 Palm Passage, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
340.714.7373
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Amalia Cafe is a delightful open air Spanish themed restaurant in historic downtown Palm Passage, Charlotte Amalie. The menu is heavy on tapas, with favorite Spanish entrees like Paella or Zarzuela. Enjoy a taste of Spain in the Caribbean.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Cafe Amalia has the best food in all of St. Thomas---their paella was fantastic, the seafood cassarole sublime. The curried labster bisque and roasted duck salad was perfect. The owner Maynard was was a joy to talk to, just a friendly guy taking time to chat with everyone in his restaurant. The setting, in Palm Passage, was an added bonus. We were in St. Thomas for a week and went back 2 days after we ate there the first time! Thanks, Maynard! Maureens sister Gail from Texas

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    259
    69
    13
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little Paradise in Downtown St. Thomas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Amalia is located on a pathway ("passage") between blocks. The location does not attract the masses of tourists looking for t-shirts. Rick, our waiter, was exceptional. And the food was even better. The fresh fish specialty was heaven, as was the gazpacho soup, with little tiny ice chips on top to keep in cold. Lots of locals were enjoying the restaurant the afternoon we were there. A bottle of well priced wine made the afternoon that much more enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East End, St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cafe Amalia Revisited!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just a short note to say I have been back to Cafe Amalia twice since writing the first review. It is still wonderful and the Salmon with Honey Mustard Glaze is DIVINE!!! I have been going through health so what a treat to have Cafe Amalia there through my journey. Thanks again Maymard & Helga

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Italian brilliance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

A pure joy, lamb shank the best I have ever eaten! My wife had the seafood casserole and it was erupting in flavor! Her tomato and crab salad could have been a whole meal! The waitress was overwhelmed with customers, but coped handily. Truely one of the best places on the island to eat for fine dinning. Try the Key Lime pie, also a grand treat!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Our beautiful waitress from Austria was wonderful. The food was fantastic. Maynard is a top notch host. Best place to go in St Thomas...hands down. Coming back again before we leave the island.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalia Cafe also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Water Island, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Been to Amalia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.