We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hidden beach- no amentities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindquist Beach

Lindquist Beach
Smith Bay Road | Anna's Retreat, 00802, St. Thomas
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$85*
and up
Ranked #2 of 135 things to do in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beach between Wyndham Sugar Bay Beach Club and the Sapphire Beach Resort
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful hidden beach- no amentities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very quiet & beautiful- popular place for early morning weddings. It's also called Smith Bay- you enter a long dirt road to get to it. Life guards leave at 4:30 so if you want to stay later you have to move your car near the street. My kids love collecting sea glass- and we fould some amazing pieces. Snorkeling is also good. There are port-a potty's & picnic benches. Also, a popular beach for locals on the weekends. Only a $2 entrance fee. We had family pic's done by Kelly O and they came out amazing. You would definetly need your own car to visit this beach. Never saw cabs available.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    99
    30
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite and close to nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very nice beach with no facilities, one mobile bathroom, lifeguard on duty, 2$ entrance fee, white sand, good for swimming ( I didn't snorkel ....) lot of natural shade, picnic tables,

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best beach on St. Thomas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 5 days in St. Thomas and a good majority of one of those days we spent on Lindquist Beach. We waited until a day where there was a low number of cruise ships coming in and went to the very secluded (relatively speaking) beach. The water was crystal clear and we could see our feet in 5 feet deep water.

Advice/Items of Note:
General - There are no bathrooms to conveniently change. However, there are prota potty bathrooms on site. There is a small entrace fee to enter. No food places available. Luckily we drove but it is hard to find a cab to take you from and to this beach. Lifeguards were present. Make sure to not bring any bottles to the beach.
People visiting St. Thomas from cruises - skip the crowds at Magen's Bay (we went there as well) and visit here. Come early and bring food with you if you want to have a picnic here.
People visiting St. Thomas for longer than a day - Check the cruise schedules and visit here on a low volume cruise ship day. Generally, Monday and Thursdays are the ideal days to visit but obviously this varies from day to day.
Families with kids - Avoid the edges of the beach where water was high and rough. Have you kids swim in the water or do any other water activities towards the middle of the beach where the water was calmer than other spots of the beach.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lindquist Beach is quiet and beautiful, plus had a lifeguard! We were able to rent beach chairs and rate it as our favorite beach visit on St. Thomas.
Note: Port-a-Potty bathroom facility and no food purchase options on beach

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pretty, powery coral sand beach, strong current, STEEP $2.00 pp entrance fee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I heard that this beach, also called Smith Bay Park was the prettiest in St Thomas on the east end not too far from Red Hook Harbour and indeed it is lovely. Not too crowded in a Sunday in March but there was quite a strong current moving from west to east along the beach. We parked our belongings past the Smith Bay Park sign to the west and found a nice isolated spot on a point overlooking the long sweep of this crescent beach overlooking St. John and the British Virgin Islands to the east.The sand here is very fine and powdery, wonderfully clean and the color or beige coral. My friend found some precious small shells and we talked to some friendly people from Canada.
Recently purchased by the Virgin Islands government and opened as a public park, Smith Bay Park is also called Lindquist Beach. Although all beaches in St Thomas are public, this beach charges a STEEP $2.00 per person entrance/parking access fee. I noticed there was anither road that people had driven down to the west of the entrance that avoided the fee however.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindquist Beach also viewed

Magens Bay, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
East End, St. Thomas
 

Been to Lindquist Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindquist Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.