We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hidden beach- no amentities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindquist Beach

Lindquist Beach
St. Thomas
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 80 Attractions in St. Thomas
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Beach between Wyndham Sugar Bay Beach Club and the Sapphire Beach Resort
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hidden beach- no amentities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very quiet & beautiful- popular place for early morning weddings. It's also called Smith Bay- you enter a long dirt road to get to it. Life guards leave at 4:30 so if you want to stay later you have to move your car near the street. My kids love collecting sea glass- and we fould some amazing pieces. Snorkeling is also good. There are port-a potty's & picnic benches. Also, a popular beach for locals on the weekends. Only a $2 entrance fee. We had family pic's done by Kelly O and they came out amazing. You would definetly need your own car to visit this beach. Never saw cabs available.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    63
    21
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quite and close to nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very nice beach with no facilities, one mobile bathroom, lifeguard on duty, 2$ entrance fee, white sand, good for swimming ( I didn't snorkel ....) lot of natural shade, picnic tables,

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best beach on St. Thomas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 5 days in St. Thomas and a good majority of one of those days we spent on Lindquist Beach. We waited until a day where there was a low number of cruise ships coming in and went to the very secluded (relatively speaking) beach. The water was crystal clear and we could see our feet in 5 feet deep water.

Advice/Items of Note:
General - There are no bathrooms to conveniently change. However, there are prota potty bathrooms on site. There is a small entrace fee to enter. No food places available. Luckily we drove but it is hard to find a cab to take you from and to this beach. Lifeguards were present. Make sure to not bring any bottles to the beach.
People visiting St. Thomas from cruises - skip the crowds at Magen's Bay (we went there as well) and visit here. Come early and bring food with you if you want to have a picnic here.
People visiting St. Thomas for longer than a day - Check the cruise schedules and visit here on a low volume cruise ship day. Generally, Monday and Thursdays are the ideal days to visit but obviously this varies from day to day.
Families with kids - Avoid the edges of the beach where water was high and rough. Have you kids swim in the water or do any other water activities towards the middle of the beach where the water was calmer than other spots of the beach.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lindquist Beach is quiet and beautiful, plus had a lifeguard! We were able to rent beach chairs and rate it as our favorite beach visit on St. Thomas.
Note: Port-a-Potty bathroom facility and no food purchase options on beach

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pretty, powery coral sand beach, strong current, STEEP $2.00 pp entrance fee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I heard that this beach, also called Smith Bay Park was the prettiest in St Thomas on the east end not too far from Red Hook Harbour and indeed it is lovely. Not too crowded in a Sunday in March but there was quite a strong current moving from west to east along the beach. We parked our belongings past the Smith Bay Park sign to the west and found a nice isolated spot on a point overlooking the long sweep of this crescent beach overlooking St. John and the British Virgin Islands to the east.The sand here is very fine and powdery, wonderfully clean and the color or beige coral. My friend found some precious small shells and we talked to some friendly people from Canada.
Recently purchased by the Virgin Islands government and opened as a public park, Smith Bay Park is also called Lindquist Beach. Although all beaches in St Thomas are public, this beach charges a STEEP $2.00 per person entrance/parking access fee. I noticed there was anither road that people had driven down to the west of the entrance that avoided the fee however.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindquist Beach also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
 

Been to Lindquist Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindquist Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.