We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort

Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort
Secret Harbour Resort, St. Thomas
340-714-7874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 194 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The food and service was good at this restaurant. But, we did ask to change tables as we were originally seated next to the steel drum player and we could not carry on a simple conversation. They did move us all the way to the opposite end of the restaurant. Not sure that this is a restaurant we would return to since it is a pain in the neck to get to and the food wasn't overly compelling.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We appreciate you making the trip to Secret Harbour. We strive for perfection with every plate and would like to apologize for falling short. We would appreciate a return visit if you are willing. My cell is 703-408-3609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    98
    26
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sliding Downhill ... into the Bay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

As island property owners, we have ample opportunities to watch restaurants go up and down. The cycle is virtually inevitable as chefs come and leave, cooks move to other restaurants, and management loses focus.

Sunset Grille is clearly on the downslide ... maybe close to the bottom. Last year we had perfectly decent steaks at the Grille, with capable service and -- the one thing that doesn't change -- a beautiful view.

This week, a different story. First, they "lost" our reservation and we had to negotiate our way to a table. We learned later they had marked it for the wrong day.

Second, the menu promised far more than the kitchen could deliver.

My wife ordered "lamb lollipops" -- aka sliced, frenched ribs -- cooked medium rare. Half were cooked properly; the other half raw, cold, and inedible. My sirloin au poivre was cooked medium-rare as ordered, but suffered from the chewiness that comes from grilling beef when it's right out of the refrigerator, or microwave-defrosted: properly pink but bone-dry. The steak was served with "truffled" mac and cheese. Indeed I tasted a bit of cheese, but after digging through the mushy penne, I suspect the nearest truffle might have been on the cruise ship sailing about ten miles off-shore.

The topper? At the outset, my wife ordered a cocktail, and I asked the server for a glass of Malbec with my meal. Two reminders. No wine. The bill comes and I notice that the wine had been charged -- albeit not delivered. I asked the server to remove it from the bill. She apologized, saying she had forgotten [three times, I guess] and that it was probably still sitting on the bar. I quote directly: "Well, how 'bout I pour it into a plastic cup and you can take it with you," presumably so she wouldn't have to take the trouble [and get the grief] for zeroing out the charge. Grade that "A" for originality, but "F-" for customer satisfaction [especially from a restaurant that claims honors for its wine service.]

I opted to have it taken off the bill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our restaurant. We strive for excellence in every interaction and with you we fell short. We apologize and hope you will return to see what we can really do. We look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food. Even better service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have stayed at Secret Harbor several times. In the past, we had lunch at the restaurant but avoided it for dinner thinking it was too pricey, no sides, not worth the money. This experience was different! New manager Tom K. strives to make your experience a perfect one, welcoming you as if you were old friends. Lunches are still great. The tables are steps from the beach with an awesome view or they will deliver to the beach. Dinners were good. The mahi mahi was fresh and was a generous portion. Yes, its island time, but the wait was not nearly as bad as some other restaurants we tried! If you're looking for loud music and a wild crowd, this place is not for you. There were steel drums in the background, beautiful sunsets, and an atmosphere that made it easy to enjoy conversation and actually hear the water lapping on the shore. The staff and service made this restaurant stand out. Look for Brad S., Mike H., or Kiki. They were extremely attentive, and tried hard to customize the menu to whatever you wanted. Don't be afraid to tell them is something is not right or missing. They want to know and will make it right. We look forward to eating there again. Terri M.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your visits to our restaurants. Your kinds words help us keep going every day. This is our slice of paradise and we like to share it with others :)
Talk to you soon or see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst experience ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you love fish , don't go here!! We ordered Bronzino and it was awful - our entire order came out cold- We asked for it to be deboned in the kitchen and it wasn't - The chef does what he wants not what the customer wants- Kids steaks were ice cold - we asked for all steaks to be prepared with the bernaisse sauce on the side and they all came with the sauce on the steaks- again the chef does only what he wants not what the customer wants- our kids have allergies and couldn't eat their meals because of the sauce on their steaks - Food took forever to come out and I mean forever - we ordered a bottle of 2006 Chardonnay and they were out of it- Then we ordered a 2010 Chardonnay and it wasn't chilled - we had to wait 7 minutes for it to chill( are you kidding me) $650 later and no real compassion for our experience we decided to high tail it out of there- this chef should be fired immediately - He wouldn't even come out to see is he was so embarrassed in what he served us---Please Please do yourself a favor and do not go here!!! Kelly our server was good though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We strive for excellence in every interaction and obviously do not always make it. Our apologies for your experience. Your review will help us improve our service and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts.
As you can see from the other reviews we get it right much more then wrong, Your experience is not indicative of our operation and we would love to see you again before leaving the island for a chance to show you what we are capable of.
If you want some incredible fresh filet of fish, I recommend the sea bass, outstanding and never more then 72 hours from the water.
Again, our apologies for not exceeding your expectations on this visit.
My personal cell number is 703-408-3609 if there is anything I could do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was my second trip to St. Thomas and we enjoyed dinner here last year. So we decided to come back this year. The food was wonderful as well as the service !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Your kind words tickle our insides. We appreciate the review and are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort also viewed

 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.