We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best dinner ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort

Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort
Secret Harbour Resort, St. Thomas
+1 340-714-7874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 196 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Barbecue, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
toms river
1 review
“best dinner ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wow is all we could say after the great dinner we enjoyed. We live on St. Thomas, and this was our second vist to Sunset Grille. Just as before Patrick was our server and our food was incredeble. Please keep up the good job, and we will continue to recomend Sunset Grille to everyone. Thanks to David for the wonderful wine selection!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    99
    27
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Welcome Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I had our Welcome Dinner at the Sunset Grille the night before the wedding, I had made a reservation prior to our arrival via email, and they had offered to set us up in the wine room for privacy. We had a few too many people so we ate in the regular dining area, and I am so glad we did! When I saw the table they had set up for us, I was just amazed! It was so gorgeous. The view was amazing and our server was phenomenal. Everyone ordered something different and no one was disappointed. Most everyone said it was the best food of the trip and people were talking about it for days. As the bride, I had put little effort into the dinner but everyone thought I put a lot of thought into it and thanked me profusely! Thanks for making me look good Sunset Grille! But really, I highly recommend it, for dinner or for a formal event. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An oasis on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

After a long day on the beach we were pleased to enjoy some ice cold refreshments at Sunset Grille. Jimmy greeted us warmly upon our arrival and provided great service. The view from the deck is awesome. We can’t wait to return.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food with an interesting twist on atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz and wanted to venture off property for dinner. This place was wonderful. Beautiful view on a quiet little bay. Service was very good and we loved the food. The only complaint we had was the nights' "entertainment." About halfway through the meal, a woman on the beach did some "fire dancing" to a few songs. It was very strange, but seemed to be accepted by the restaurant as they supplied the music. We could have done without the side-show. Honestly, it took away from the quality of our experience. They don't need the gimmick. We left wondering what had just happened! Overall, though, we enjoyed out evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An enchanted evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This location has always been a favorite of mine with the water gently grazing the shore right in front of you and, if it's a clear night, the sunsets are amazing. Regardless of the weather, the scenery is incredible. Which, by the way, matches the food. This restaurant has been open only nine months and the word is getting out--this is definitely the place to go. Our evening began with a tasting of gazpacho, compliments of the chef, and wonderful warm bread with honey butter. The only disappointment was the lobster bisque, which was prepared with a seafood based broth, which, in our opinion, was a little over the top. Because it was served at an insufficient temperature and our dissatisfaction with it, the soup was quickly replaced with some really tasty plantain and conch fritters, served with a nicely seasoned aioli. The lettuce wedge with bacon was also very good. The entrees, however, were the stars--two crab and potato encrusted mahis, one 8 oz. filet and a 14 oz ribeye. Each dish had a superbly prepared side, carmalized onions, horseradish laced risotto, brocolini, etc. The risotto was creamy and just right in the spice department, not at all overpowering. The steaks were perfectly prepared and the fish was excellent. Only regret is that we had no room for the molten lava cake. Our server, Rico, was knowledgeable, attentive, very pleasant and the timing and pace of the meal was perfect. Their wine cellar appeared to be of good size, too. This restaurant is worth the effort and the drive. It is just before you reach Red Hook, turn towards the Ritz, but then watch for the sign on the left to turn right. Go just a short distance and make a hairpin turn to the left towards Secret Harbor. Seriously, it's worth it! This just became our new favorite restaurant on the island.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort also viewed

 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grille - Secret Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.