We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfully unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Blackbeard's Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Inn at Blackbeard's Castle to your Saves list
The Inn at Blackbeard's Castle
1001 Blackbeard's Hill, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 St. Thomas B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
1 review
“wonderfully unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I had a two night stay at Blackbeards. We were heading for a week long stay in St. John. We were very satisified with our selection. The hotel is located downtown overlooking the harbor. We arrived from the airport after a short taxi ride. We were greeted by Michael the evening manager/bartender. He checked us in , showed us our room, he filled us in on the evening life on St. Thomas and safety issues.

We chilled and then met Michael at the bar. We observed a wonderful sunset to the West and drank a 6 flavored rum punch named " Michael's confusion". We chose to eat on property that evening. Menu is limited to grilled burgers, hot dogs etc.. Michael also was the grill cook....he explained he had five children and loved to grill. We had a wonderful time and we were later joined by two other couples at the bar.

The next day we took the self guided tour of the property and went to a locals beach that Michael had suggested on the eastend named Lindquist beach . It was INCREDIBLE.

Overall the entire staff was friendly and helpful . The property is well groomed and clean. Highly recommend. Thank you Blackbeards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    30
    9
    10
    4
See reviews for
14
53
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MN USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I enjoy places that are unique, fun, a little quirky-- anything but the typical cookie-cutter resort. This fit the bill perfectly!
We got in shortly before sunset and were shown to our upper floor room by extremely personable Michael. He filled us in on the basics, and my husband, teen-age daughter and I surveyed our quarters. The room was great-- wood floor, period-style furniture, a little refrigerator, ceiling fan, small-but-nice bathroom with a tiled step-in shower, and a deck with a gorgeous view of both the ocean and the hillside. Our daughter places a higher value on the comfort of accommodations than on their unique character, and she was very pleased with the room; it had a great balance of both! There was wi-fi and cable, though we didn't spend a lot of time with either. In spite of our leaving the AC setting where it was, our unit iced up at one point, but when we reported it, they fixed it immediately. Maintenance and housekeeping were both great.
The only drawback to a perfect night's sleep was the crowing of roosters in the middle of the night! The town has a lot of free-range chickens. The AC fan helped drown them out.
The hotel and grounds are a tourist attraction, a combination of authentic historical sites and pirate lore. The area is gated for security and after hours is only open to hotel guests. There are only a few rooms, and I don't think they were all occupied when we were there, so it was very quiet and peaceful.
That first evening we walked past larger than life pirate statues (each with a little plaque giving some historical information about the individual) and the watchtower to the bar and grill. We were surprised to find Michael was also bartender and fry cook. They were down to a bare-bones crew after hours, but he handled it flawlessly! The open-air bar and grill was really special-- I smile just thinking about it. The menu was limited, but the ambiance was exceptional. The view, the warm breeze...when we were there, we either had it to ourselves, or shared the delightful company of another couple or two at most. We tended to be non-stop active during our days in St. Thomas, and it was great to kick back in the late evenings enjoying the tropical feel, the sound of the breeze through the palm fronds, the faint scent of frangipani drifting in, the lights of departing cruise ships reflected in the water...*sigh*. We wound up there several evenings during our stay.
As guests, we had free access to the attractions during tour-operation hours. We climbed the historic Danish lookout tour and enjoyed an even wider view than that from the bar. We toured historical houses, one British, one Danish, that were furnished as in the heyday of shipping and rum-making. We went through the amber museum, which was a lot more impressive than I had expected. We took a quick look at the rum factory, but passed on the free samples as it was still pretty early morning. The landscaping was nice, and well-tended. There was opportunity, if one chose it, to get one's picture taken with a swashbuckling young man in excellent-looking pirate garb. (There were even pillories to be photographed in, with a beautiful ocean background.) It was definitely a fun spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
548 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to a sailing charter in Tortola. It was the PERFECT stop for us. While we were a bit disappointed the historic buildings were not open, we did understand it was a cost issue related to opening only for cruise boat tours. There are only a few rooms at the Inn, so it would not be cost effective to open everything all the time. The tower and grounds, though, provided lots to see. The pool is quiet and was private for us. Michael, the bartender, was tons of fun, and his drink, "Michael's Confusion" is aptly named :) Our rooms were simple, but with lovely views and lots of space. All in all, this is a great stay at a great price.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We only stayed one night after coming off of a sailboat charter in the BVIs and really enjoyed this inn. It is much nicer than Galleon House where we stayed before the charter. The good news: The staff was incredibly solicitous, helping with luggage, giving us our room two hours early, serving us drinks while we waited on the terrace to enjoy the incredible view (and the first beer was on Blackbeard), offering to take pictures of the two of us with the various pirate statues etc. It is right on the grounds of the 1679 watchtower known as Blackbeard's castle and one of the three pools is at its base. They give you a key to the gates of the grounds with your room key and you can wander around the old town and let yourself back in. The room was very spacious and clean with typical "Tropical Colonial" decor (tile floor, beamed ceiling, louvered doors to the balcony, dark wood furniture) and the view from the balcony was lovely. The bad news: the bar makes great drinks but the food menu is limited to hamburgers and sandwiches and it is a long walk down the hill to find other restaurants. The included breakfast is just store bought muffins, yogurt and apples and oranges with coffee and juice. The historic properties are only open on the days that cruise ships are in port (Tues-Friday) so none of the houses were available to tour since we were there on a Saturday/Sunday. They did open up the tower for us and we walked the grounds and the surrounding streets. It is probably a fair trade off to not have to share the premises with hordes of tourists. On these "off days" there were only the two dozen guests on the whole property which is quite extensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was a wayward traveler who did not look carefully enough at my hotel reservations and ended up at the lovely Inn at Blackbeards Castle instead of Bluebeards Hotel. After a long day of travel from MI, I was tired and felt foolish. But Michael was there taking care of both the front desk and the bar. He was kind enough to call a new taxi for me and make me the BEST rum punch I have ever had while I waited. By the time my cab came, I had been able to watch the sunset over the water, have a lovely drink and enjoy this beautiful inn for about 45 minutes. I would definitely stay at this place over Bluebeards! A note to all travelers... pay attention to which bearded pirate your hotel is named after, it does make a difference. Thanks again Michael!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

WE had no idea what to expect when we booked this hotel! The views, the decore, the staff could not have any better. Adam Forrester was the best Tour / Facility Director. Anything we asked about or for was at our finger tips. He seemed well adapt in every facut of the establishment. from checking us in, answering questions about the grounds, suggestions on where to eat & shop, and even getting our boarding passes for our flight out. Mike (the bartender) quickly became our new best friend - full of entertaining stories and suggestions - we spent every night closing out our day sitting at the terrace bar with him. Over all it was one of the best expereinces for our 2 weeks vacation and can't wait to visit again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms in the whole place - very private & quaint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Getting in to St. Thomas late p.m., we had decided to stay on the island without going over to St. John until the next day. We booked the Inn at Blackbeard's Castle and had a good one night stay (triple room).... other than taking the taxi to Bluebeard's Castle first, an expensive mistake that I made. We had dinner at the Inn... burgers, with 2 out of 3 very good. We were also cautioned to take a taxi at night in and out of town due to major safety issues nearby. A continental breakfast was provided: packaged muffins, coffee, juice (ask as it is in the refrig. at bar), oranges/apples, yogurt. Nothing special but certainly fine to start the day. Excellent views of the harbor. The pool water was cold but manageable.

The best part of the inn was the ability to tour the historic grounds. We did this prior to others arriving and greatly enjoyed learning about the history of the area. We especially enjoyed the amber museum.

All staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Inn at Blackbeard's Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Blackbeard's Castle

Address: 1001 Blackbeard's Hill, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at BlackBeard's Castle. Casual elegance abounds at the Inn with four poster beds, crown moldings, private baths, cable television, refrigerators, large private balconies with views of the city and harbor, ceiling fans and air conditioning. The Inn at Blackbeard's Castle is a small, charming hotel with extensive grounds in Charlotte Amalie. Quiet guest rooms are finished with individual detail. Comfort and conveniences are remarkably intertwined with this unique hotel's heritage. Launch your imagination into the days of pirates and tall ships in the harbor. Swashbuckler pirate statues and cannons dot the historic grounds of this unique St. Thomas Hotel. Amenities include: Free wi-fi, swimming pools, open air bar and terrace overlooking ocean with spectacular views of the harbor, cruise ships and seaplanes. Enjoy easy access to leisure activities and the wonders that our beautiful Caribbean Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your The Inn at Blackbeard's Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Blackbeard's Castle St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Blackbeard's Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.