We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view in a peaceful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites

Save Saved
You added Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2GA Ridge Road | Estate Nazareth, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 St. Thomas B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful view in a peaceful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friend and I booked the cabana mid-March of 2013 for a wedding that was going to take place at Secret Harbour, just a short walk away. Due to some unforeseen circumstances, the cabana was not available upon our arrival, so Danielle, the general manager allowed us to stay in one of the Escape condos instead. We had our own balcony with an amazing view of Nazareth Bay, a kitchenette complete with flat-top stove, full-sized fridge, microwave, a large bed, a dining table, bathroom, and a flat screen TV with cable. It was a welcome upgrade and our four night stay was an incredible one. There was a nature trail just behind the property and a quick 5 min walk brought you to the beach, restaurant, and bar at Secret Harbour. At the time I booked our room, they had a deal where if you booked three nights, the fourth was free. I would highly recommend staying at Paradise Cove, and if I return to St. Thomas I would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    11
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
11
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, PA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Paradise Cove is located near Red Hook at the eastern end of the island. it sits on a hill overlooking Secret Harbor and the view is spectacular. My wife and I spent a great deal of time just enjoying the view.
We stayed in an Escape Condo. It was roomy, comfortable and clean. it had a bedroom, bath, sitting area, veranda and a very usable kitchenette and we found we had no trouble preparing our breakfasts and lunches there. We had a minor maintenance problem when we arrived but it was dealt with quickly and correctly.
Danielle, our hostess was a wealth of information providing us with tips on where to go (and how to get there) where to eat, how to use the Ferry to St. John, and the attractions that fit our likes. She even tried to get us a taxi one evening when we were stuck for a ride.
The only things that would have made Paradise Cove better is larger tables on the veranda for eating and playing games, and the availability of beach chairs. Also, maid service isn't available unless you stay more than a week but clean towels are available upon request.
A note about driving in the USVI: it's a little insane. You can only rent left-hand drive cars (like in the US) but you drive on the left side of the road. That means the driver is hugging the shoulder while the passenger is next to the yellow line. Both my wife and I found this unnerving to say the least. Add to this that you are literally driving on the top of a mountain using twisty roads that suddenly dive down or crest and turn at the same time and you do not get to relax behind the wheel.
Except for the driving we had a great time. We took the passenger ferry to Cruz Bay, St, John ($6.00 RT) to shop and dine and the next day took the car barge ($50.00 RT) back to sample the beaches there. They were wonderful and a lot less crowded.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad one to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

In early March, 4 of us sailed with Captain Joe on his boat Treazzure (http://www.sailingvirginislands.com/) for 5 days. We booked the Serenity Cottage for 2 nights before and 1 night after our sailing adventure. The accommodations were very comfortable, clean and roomy with a well equipped kitchen and had a terrace overlooking the bay with views that were simply gorgeous! Danielle took such good care of us, giving us plenty of recommendations and even ferried us to our boat and back to the cottage after our sail. The grounds were beautifully landscaped with ongoing updates. The Serenity Cottage sits up on a craggy hillside thick with natural brush and trees. Hummingbirds buzzed close by and deer grazed below us and we watched a gigantic manta ray leisurely swim along the coast below us. Kayaks below appears to be floating on air, the water was so clear.
There is a nice beach and restaurant within walking distance. Taxi's were available to take us to get groceries, etc. Thank you Danielle for taking such good care of us, and sharing your stories of the sea! We'd love to come back and wouldn't change a thing!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Paradise Cove in January 2013 when we were escaping the New England winter weather. Let me start by saying that we were tired, in a hurry, jetlagged and . . . did I say tired? I checked in, headed off to my room and began nesting. The room was exactly what I'd expected, with a very nice beach and ocean view. No surprises. No worries. The nice people there made us feel taken care of, as if we were at home among friends. We had booked a “Book & Bonus” package which saved us about 30%. Not a bad piece of change, I must say! I highly recommend the Paradise Cove resort on St. Thomas for your next winter escape vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for an "Escape"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had an Escape room. Nice room, very clean and comfortable with nice balcony and a great view. Short walk to the beach at Secret Harbor. Very quiet area, off the beaten path. Danielle was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in the "Cabana" room, which (more or less as advertised) is a converted pool house, for a week at the end of February 2013.

Our initial impression, at the end of a long day of travel, was rather negative -- this was based primarily on a number of advertised features (on hotels.com) which did not exist in reality... "This room features views of the ocean or beach from the comfort of a furnished balcony" means "there is a door that opens onto the pool deck, which has some lounge chairs and the grill." The view is, indeed, a real gem at all times of day. "Settle onto the Tempur-Pedic bed with premium bedding and cotton linens for a good night's rest" means "whatever mattress we had, it certainly was NOT Tempur-Pedic nor particularly high-end but seemed serviceable. My wife took a look at the cover and it spent the rest of the stay on the floor in the corner." "The private bathroom has a shower, as well as a makeup/shaving mirror" true, but it is barely possible to close the door and the tiny string on the light was so hard to reach we left it on all night rather than fumble in the dark. "Complementary wired and wireless Internet access keeps you connected" except neither one existed, with the exception of wifi at the cafe which required a password we never learned. We had Sprint 3G access and didn't care too much, except for one outage that required us to walk down to Secret Harbour and use the dive shop's public wifi hotspot. "..and the 32-inch plasma television is offered for your entertainment" except it was about a 20-something-inch tube TV -- but we weren't there to watch television. The other critical difference is that there is no free shuttle service to Red Hook -- the first thing Danielle gave us was the local cabbie's phone number. This really adds up; it's an easy walk to Secret Harbour, and we found it wasn't hard to walk 20 minutes down to Red Hook in the mornings. We took the cab home; it's uphill and hot in the afternoon, and I wouldn't try that walk in the dark (no sidewalks!)

Ultimately, the location, view and price overcame our initial disappointment and we left reasonably satisfied. My wife called the Cabana "rustic", which sums it up pretty well: if you're looking for polish, fit and finish, this room probably won't make you happy, but if you're looking for a base of operations near Red Hook/Secret Harbour that lets you sleep, eat, shower, with a memorable view, this was a great find.

I probably would have given it an extra star if it hadn't been so overhyped in the listing, but ironically we likely wouldn't have chosen it if the listing had been accurate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Paradise Cove is a great place to stay if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Charlotte Amalie and the cruise ships but want to be near a fantastic beach! It was a 30-40 min taxi ride from the airport. The property has a steep, rugged terrain but amazing views. We stayed in one of the escape condos for 5 nights and felt surrounded by nature. The bed was comfy...We had a pull out couch, fans, AC, tv, updated bathroom and full kitchen with drinkable tap water and last but not least... an absolutely stunning ocean view from the balcony! Secret Harbor is a great beach complete with a dive shop, chair & umbrella rentals, great snorkeling (saw sea turtles,lots of cool fish and a manta ray) formal restaurant and great beach bar/ restaurant... just a short walk down the hill/road. There were even drink waiters on the beach! Thanks Yager. Danielle was very helpful and always available around the property or via phone or text. There was also a coffee shop on the property run by the wonderful Laura, who was a wealth of knowledge of things to do and places to see. We liked going to Red Hook for dinner. We only walked there during the day as there is no shoulder, windy roads and broken glass off the road. The other times we took a taxi or had a ride arranged. We were 5 minutes from the ferry to St. John, which was convenient and fun. The pool has amazing views but perhaps needs a pool boy to maintain its PH levels and bring it to its full potential. Paradise Cove is an amazing, peaceful place to stay!

Room Tip: Escape condos are completely updated, #4 is on the end of the lower level and has a corner balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites

Address: 2GA Ridge Road | Estate Nazareth, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Cove Vacation Rental Property is located on the East End of St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands. WE have 6 condos, 2 cottages with adjoining studios, a Cabana, and 6 2 story apartments available for rental. Offering a nature hike straight down to the rock front shore line, a swimming pool with large gas BBQ grill, an Internet Cafe, and a 10 foot Gazebo, and a 50 person multi purpose function room. The property is located walking distance to Secret Harbour Beach, and 2 minutes away by car to Red Hook. Red Hook has over 20 bars and restaurants, shopping, gas station, grocery store, pharmacy, mail room, doctors office, and also is the where the St. John and BVI ferry dock is located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Cove Oceanfront Villas & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.