We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Tails Bar and Grill

Fish Tails Bar and Grill
Red Hook, 00802, St. Thomas
+1 340-714-3188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 186 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Price range: $0 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have to be honest - this was not the best restaurant experience ever. A long menu of American dishes, with no trace of a local flavour, and all of the fish in this fish restaurant are imported frozen from Florida. What a shame. Far too expensive for the limited quality it offers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We're sorry we couldn't make a better impression on you, Donald. However, we take pride in offering a different taste to our guests, so many of our dishes are influenced by American favorites. Moving on to your comments about our fish, we try to use fresh catch whenever possible, but the local fishing laws are not always on our side. Still, we use the freshest ingredients we can, and we hope it's evident in our food. Although it's a shame that you walked away disappointed, we stand by our quality. Thanks for your feedback.

Best,
Reggie Poe and Kelley Olive, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    258
    103
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stone Ridge, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Long wait, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We went to Fish Tails last night...a Monday. Since many restaurants are closed Mondays, Fish Tails was mobbed. We were seated in 20 minutes, but then waited close to an hour for our food. They do not serve bread so my hubby and I were really hungry. The chowder soup was good, but not hot. The Greek salad was excellent. My husband had fish and chips which was OK; I had fried fisherman's platter. The oysters were excellent; the rest average. The bill was $82 which included two drinks, two appetizers and two entrees. I would go back and have an oyster Po Boy sandwich and a mixed drink...and not on a Monday night!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Yes, we can get pretty busy on Mondays! We really appreciate your patience with the wait, and we're glad to see that it was well worth it. Thanks for joining us for dinner, and please keep us in mind for the next time you're in town. We'd love to have you back!

Cheers,
Reggie Poe and Kelley Olive, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stopped for a quick lunch at Fish Tails before heading out on a sailing trip for the afternoon. We were immediately greeted and chose a place to sit that looked out on the water. Our server was great - provided lots of info on the drinks and menu to help us decide. I highly recommend the "Painkiller" - a fantastic drink! The fish was fresh and nicely cooked and the service was great!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Yes, the Painkiller definitely gets the job done! So glad that you loved it, and that your meal was just as great. Come back for another bite next time you're in St. Thomas—our team would love to see you again!

Cheers,
Reggie Poe and Kelley Olive, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for Drinks on the Harbour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stopped in for lunch one day while on one of our many trips to Red Hook. The location and view of the Marina area is great, The Bar Staff and Drinks are great, but on this day our food was just very average.. nothing exciting.. maybe it was and "off" day or something.. but for the value we paid it was not worth it..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We're sorry to hear about this, Steve, but we'd love to know if you have any specific information about what you ordered. If you can tell us what didn't wow you, we'll be able to pinpoint the issue and make sure every dish is delicious. Until then, thanks for your feedback, and please keep us in mind next time you're looking for a drink in Redhook!

Regards,
Reggie Poe and Kelley Olive, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

First, I'd like to start out saying that my bf and I are chefs. We had one night left on the island so we decided to do crabs. They had awesome peel and eat shrimps covered in Old Bay spices. I liked that they split the shells and cleaned it which most places do not. It was just awesome. Really good, fresh, well-prepared seafood. This place was recommended to us and we couldn't have been happier!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Splitting the shell really does cut down on the work needed to enjoy those delicious crabs, so we're always happy to make it easier on our guests! It's so rewarding to hear how much you and your boyfriend enjoyed them, especially with your experience. Thank you, and please keep us in mind next time you're in town—we'd love to have you back!

All the best,
Reggie Poe and Kelley Olive, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tails Bar and Grill also viewed

East End, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Fish Tails Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Tails Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.