We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freshest fish, great views, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Tails Bar and Grill

Fish Tails Bar and Grill
Red Hook, 00802, St. Thomas
+1 340-714-3188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 194 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Price range: $0 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“freshest fish, great views, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We liked it so much we went twice...I had the fresh catch grilled it was delicious. The BF had the snapper & was not super impressed (little overcooked) but still so fresh. We both had catch of day sandwiches next night & were very happy.
Also a great place to grab a to go drink for the ferry ride to St. John.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    318
    120
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mill Village, Pa.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

this restaurant is a tourist trap. the food portions are small but the prices are large. save your money, go somewhere else.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio tx
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food on Island time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our first night on the island and chose to start it off with fishtails. There fresh catch was really well done and did not disappoint. There are better restaurants but this is great for a laid back casual restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Truly amazing sushi!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were looking for a place with peal and eat shrimp and found out this place served some of the most amazing sushi. Actually some of the best we've ever had!! The staff was extremely friendly and located right on the waterfront. Easy access to the ferry and other evening festivities. Be sure and make this a definite stop on your island vacation!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascagoula, Mississippi
1 review
“Bad Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Bad customer service made what would have been a good meal a poor one. Either the waiter or cook messed up on my order for a sushi roll and it took fifteen minutes to bring another out and that was only after I complained. The waiter only had defensive excuses and when I pointed out the fallacy of those excuses, he came up with more. If anyone in management reads this please accept this advice: when you mess up an order, drop everything and fix it immediately. It should be the priority. Additionally, my daughter overheard the waiter telling some customers at a table next to us that their meal was not out in a timely fashion because of my group (11 people). Really???? I thought the people in St. Thomas were just rude when they were driving! Wrong.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tails Bar and Grill also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
East End, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Fish Tails Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Tails Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.