We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Day in the Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shooting Star Charters

Shooting Star Charters
6144 Estate Frydenhoi, 00802, St. Thomas
340-244-5565
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One day, seven days anything you want. Come and explore the Caribbean Islands on this beautiful 42 feet long yacht. Cruise the clear blue water, dive in and explore the underwater world. Relax on the sandy beach after a great meal on the boat. We will provide all the food, beverages and much more...
Ponder, Tx
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Day in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just got back yesterday from a charter day trip with Captain Bob and Gina on Shooting Star Charters from St Thomas to Tortola with snorkeling and swimming stop at Christmas Cove. Perfect Weather, Calm Seas, great food and snacks, great selection of beer, wine and drinks.
Bob and Gina cater their charters to their customers desires and have great humor and charm that went way beyond what you typically get on the "big guys" boats. Gina made a great dinner at the end of our trip and we said our good byes with a glass of B and B and a delicious family dessert.
We felt like we were with old friends and hated for the night to end. We HIGHLY recommend this trip if you want to feel like you are "one of the family" going out to enjoy the islands and do whatever is "in the moment" for yourselves or your family.
We will be back next year and will be on their charter again! Thank you Bob and Gina!
Stan and Dawn .....December 29, 2011

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Point, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We were treated like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We took the trip to The Baths at Virgin Gorda with Captain Bob and Gina. We also snorkeled at the caves on Normal Island. Captain Bob was very knowledgeable about the area and he guided our tour of the Baths. Gina was incredibly attentive to our every need and cooked us a delicious dinner. It felt like we were cruising around with friends, not on a chartered excursion. Food, drink and snacks were plentiful.

This was an all day trip from 8am until 9pm and there is really no set time to leave. Some might think it a little pricy at $250 per person, but this was an all day trip and we feel it was worth every penny!

We would not hesitate to book other excursions with Captain Bob and Gina.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our BEST DAY in the Islands!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

After going on trips with Bob and Gina aboard the Mary E. on previous visits to St. Thomas we were excited to learn that they now offer an all-day trip to Jost Van Dyke. It was undoubtedly the best day of our vacation. It was the only day we used an alarm to get up but it was worth it - we had been trying unsuccessfully to figure-out how to spend a day at JVD for a few years. We knew there was more to JVD than White Bay, and Bob knew where to find it. The leisurely pace and breath-taking views were greatly appreciated and the food and drinks were wonderful as always. I've even started copying Bob's PainKiller Recipe at home! NOTE - Bring some sort of Water Shoes to lunch if you are going to the Bubbling Pool; my wife said Flip-Flops don't cut it.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We booked this charter along with another couple we met at our resort. It was outstanding to say the least. Our taxi driver, K9 Joe, picked us up at 8:30 AM and we headed to the boat. Gina was ready with coffee cake and coffee and off we started for the tip of St. John. A great snorkeling spot where we swam and snorkled at our own pace. We also took the dinghy to shore and climbed up to the ruins of an old sugar plantation house. Great photo opportunity. We could see Tortola, Sopers Hole, Jost Van Dyke and many other islands. Back on board we ate again - caprese salad, cold cuts, french bread, tasty cheeses. And after a leisurely ride to Christmas Cove we did some more snorkeling and some more eating! We stayed at Christmas Cove until the sun went down so we had some spectacular sunset photos to bring home. More snacking on fresh fruit and a full bar awated us. Food and drink flowed all day. Captain Bob's Painkillers lived up to their name! Of course, there was lots of water, juice, etc too so it was easy to stay hydrated in the Carribbean sun. Once we were back at the dock, Gina prepared an awesome dinner. Fish and chicken! Plus a great potato salad, green salad with homemade dressing, french bread, creamed spinach (special recipe) followed by a delicious chocolate dessert, followed by B&B and conversation. We didn't get back to our hotel until 10 PM. K9 Joe came all the way across the island to pick us up and return us to our hotel. You definitely come as guests and leave as friends. Its the most laidback tour I have ever been on and since there are no more than 4 guests you really get personal treatment. Your day has a general plan but you can change it as you wish. Want more time at a certain snorkel spot? No problem! Want more food or drink? No problem. I cannot imagine anyone being a more gracious host than Captain Bob and Admiral Gina1

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

In early October of 2011, myself, my wife, and my 2-year-old daughter had the pleasure of travelling with Bob & Gina of Shooting Star Charters. Bob and Gina run an all-day or all-week boating charter. Along with 2 other couples, we took their 42' yacht on a leisurely voyage along the north shore of St. John. We spent a good part of the day at Waterlemon Cay and Christmas Cove. If anyone gets the opportunity to take the hike up to the top of the ruins at Waterlemon Cay, definitely take the hike! The view is spectacular, and the ruins themselves are amazing (from the early 1700's). Watch the thistles, they can really cut your leg up if you're not careful (but if you're with Bob he always seems to know where they are). And for those that have children, we took our 2-year-old daughter with us and she had the time of her short little life! The amazing part is that she wasn't even the youngest on the boat! Another couple even brought their 5-month-old along for the cruise (she probably didn't appreciate it as much as our daughter did though!) The all-you-can-eat-and-drink affair is extremely fairly priced (read: a bargain) and you get breakfast, lunch, and snacks served throughout the day. On return to the dock, Gina prepares an absolutely marvelous meal that is not to be missed! Definitely ask Bob about his 'Nilla Killas! More information can be found at www.shootingstarchartersvi.com. Of all of the all-day snorkeling charters that we have taken on St. Thomas (and we have been regulars for 2 weeks for 10 years now!), I have to say that this is is the absolute best of them all! Bob and Gina are excellent hosts, they have an absolutely gorgeous yacht, the food is excellent, an the views that they take you to (both above and below the water) are the best you find with any company on the island!

The one thing that truly sets Shoot Star apart from their competitors is that when you go on an all-day cruise with them, they are with you for the day...however long that day is. Unlike other companies that rush you back to dock to take out another group of night snorkelers or night divers, Shooting Star dedicates the day to YOU. On return to dockside, enjoy a leisurely meal with them and have a few drinks while listening to Bob tell you some of the most fascinating stories from his time in both Boston and St. Thomas. Bob and GIna will never rush you to leave. They treat you like family, a very unusual experience for the often fast-paced tourism industry of St. Thomas.

We can not recommend Shoot Star Charters enough!!!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shooting Star Charters also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Shooting Star Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shooting Star Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.