We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bamboo Seafood Shack - CLOSED

Big Bamboo Seafood Shack
Red Hook | Red Hook Marina, 00802, St. Thomas
340 714 7244
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Hamburgers, Seafood, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Neat place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Great place to get a drink and lunch. Right on the marina. Neat Tiki bar atmosphere. Staff was great. Food was good. Drinks a little pricey but good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    75
    20
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Go Here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

For a relaxed, outdoor dinner that certainly isn't lacking in taste, try Big Bamboo! We had dinner here twice during our weeklong stay in St. Thomas. Each time we were thoroughly impressed. Excellent, knowledgable waitstaff and skilled chefs make this place a must go in my book. The bartenders will make whatever Cruzan rum concoction your heart desires. Try the surf and turf - my mouth waters just thinking about that steak!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Get a burger!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Burgers are amazing here! They always get the temperature right and the sweet potato fries are yummy! Good bar staff as well! Nice to relax for younger people looking to experience St. Thomas! Thor and Julles are awesome, hardworking and make sure you have a fun time while at the bar!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Most fun in St. Thomas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As two tourists in our mid-20s, we were looking for somewhere fun to grab dinner and drinks in St. Thomas on our recent getaway. A friend recommended Big Bamboo in Red Hook to us, so we happily went... and ended up going back at least 3 times during our 6 day trip! The setting is really fun... outdoor tiki restaurant and bar frequented by locals and tourists. The food is delicious... especially the fish tacos. The drinks are tasty and priced very reasonably. But the best part of our our visits was meeting the vivacious, friendly, fun, and talented bartender, Joel. By the end of our trip, Joel had become not only our go-to-cocktail-man, but also a friend who we truly enjoyed spending time with. His drinks were creative, unique, tropical, and delicious. He has the personality that is a mixture of the life of the party, your fun cousin, and a genuine friend. He made sure we were safe every night getting home in cabs, which we cannot thank him enough for. Go for the ambiance, food and drinks, and return for Joel. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our bartender Julles was incredibly proficient in providing great service from spot-on recommendations and delicious drinks! We were visiting from Washington state, where my husband and I also own a bar/nightclub and can appreciate the impact which vibrant employees have on the affect of your business!

We spent numerous nights bellied-up to this bar! Great outdoor venue and fun environment!

We will definitely go back!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bamboo Seafood Shack also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
East End, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bamboo Seafood Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.