We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anchorage beach resort st thomas, usvi” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added The Anchorage Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Anchorage Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Anchorage Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Cowpet Bay | PO Box 8529, 00801, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
St thomas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Anchorage beach resort st thomas, usvi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We did not received the room until 4:30 pm we called to request a late check out since we wasted all day waiting for the room to be ready and we were denied or will be charged $75 per hour. The room was all runned down the towels were stained and rippied we requested new towels and they never replaced them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I had a confirmed reservation on line and by phone with deposits only to be called three weeks later and told that there was no room. No real solution was given other than staying at other properties miles away from where I wanted to be. Obviously there is no communication in their system between the reservations and actual availability. I now have to scramble around and find other accomodations after plans have been made and plane tickets bought....

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is not a hotel resort, but rather a combination of resident owners and vacation rentals. The pool was never crowded, so we had it to ourselves most of the time. The ocean floor is rocky and the beach is swept clean every day, so would explore other beaches for swimming and hanging out in the water. But you cannot beat the relaxation factor provided by the view of Cowpet Bay. It is next to the St. Thomas Yacht Club, so scenery is dotted with boats anchored nearby...it's beautiful! We sat on the beach and read or watched our kids build sandcastles. A rental car is definitely necessary to get around the area. We explored several beaches, shopping areas, nearby islands. The condo was great as we were able to buy food and fix some meals rather than eating out all the time, which can get very expensive on STT. Our unit had flat screen TV in living room, smaller flat screen TV in master BR, surround sound system/speakers, fully equipped kitchen and was beautifully furnished. Mosquitoes were pesky, but that's going to be the case in any tropical location (even Florida) during the rainy season - just bring lots of Off repellent! Overall, I loved the Anchorage and will return again and again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Didn't like the Anchorage customer service. The condos are in a gated community. This created issues getting in and out of the property. If by chance someone was coming out of the gate when we were coming in, cabs were hesitant to enter the property for fear they would get stuck in the property until someone with a code or badge was leaving the property. We went sightseeing every day and eventually asked cabs to just drop us off at the gate. Unfortunately our condo was quite some distance from the gate. The 1st day we got there we were dropped off by a taxi at the gate around 3:00 pm and followed signs for what we thought was the check in office. When we got to the office there was a sign on the door stating that the office was closed until 10:30 am. We called the office that we made the reservations through and couldn't reach anyone. An ee happened to appear after 5 mins. She didn't appear to know we were checking in, however, after turning on the computer she found our reservation and checked us in. We were not provided a gate code initially. When we did ask for the code the two codes provided didn't work. We would call the main office at the Anchorage regarding questions during the day and the phone would ring and ring with no one picking up. Our biggest concern was what wouldl we do if we had an emergency. On our 1st nite, the TV didn't work but management did upgrade us to another condo very quickly. The queen bed in the master bedroom was not very comfortable. The property is too far out to walk to restaurants, etc. I would have preferred to stay closer in to town. The view from the condo was beautiful but given the lack of customer service at the Anchorage we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — 2 bathrooms
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

Spent 7 days here with immediate family (3 "kids" 16, 19, 23). A little confusion initially because we had to check in at Sapphire Bay resorts, but actually ran into the property maintenance man, who was really nice and offered his cell # in case we had any issues. The property was quiet and private -- clean kitchen, living room, bedrooms, bathrooms. Watched much of the olympics on the TV set. Balcony looking into the bay. A couple negatives: low-quality towels, mosquitoes(!), and condensation of water on the floors (because of the AC we think), which was a slip hazard. Theres a supermarket down if you make a left on the main road with a wide selection, but food in general is very expensive (but liquor is cheap!), where we got most of the supplies to cook dinners.

Didn't have much interaction w/ neighbors. There aren't many people on the small beach, but there are chairs. The beach is shared with a yacht club, so theres tons of boats parked in there. Not the most wonderful beach, but not crowded.

So we used this as an inexpensive base to explore the rest of the Virgin Islands, and since it is so close to Red Hook, it is easy to get anywhere. Highly recommend a rental car. Spent 2 days on St. John, and also took a charter boat to visit the British Virgin Islands.

Overall not luxurious, but homely, simple, adequate, and a good value for parties willing to explore rather than sit on a beach for a week.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed at the Antilles Anchorage Beach Resort in one of the condos near the Yacht Club. It was a relatively spacious 2bd/2ba condo with a small balcony. It appeared to be clean, but it turns out that there were bedbugs that ate my girlfriend alive during our last night. We thought at first that it was mosquito bites or an allergic reaction, but after further research we concluded that it was indeed bed bugs. Needless to say, this was obviously very distressing and seriously detracted from our experience.

The beach is rocky and not great for swimming, but it was nice and quiet and pretty isolated so that was appealing to us (two adults traveling without children). There is no party scene or resort amenities, though the staff person said that we could use the Sapphire Beach Resort amenities if we wanted to do so. We did in fact wander over there for a Sunday night "mash up" that was a good time. (Note: mash up means party in local speak)

There were other issues with our room such as a very loud vent fan in one bathroom. So loud that I didn't turn on the light in there while showering because the fan was attached to the light switch. Also the dryer made some loud noises, so don't plan on drying any laundry overnight! In the other bathroom the toilet seat was broken. Sheets on the beds were old and had holes and tears. Some updates are needed. The full kitchen with pots/pans etc. was very useful and saved money since we were able to make breakfast at home.

Overall, we had a magical time in St. Thomas and we made the best out of the accommodations. Definitely rent a car if you're staying in this condo. I can't imagine how one would get anywhere from this locale without a car.

We threw away our luggage and boiled our clothes after we got back, so hopefully we didn't bring any bed bugs home with us (that would be extremely unpleasant and would ruin our memories of this trip). It's too early to know whether we've dodged that bullet but we're optimistic.

In terms of activities/recommendations: We took our rented Jeep on the Barge from Red Hook over to St. John and had a blast despite a downpour that day! Highly recommend doing that. Also Meagan's Bay is beautiful and Brewer's Beach is a nice place to hang out before going back to the airport. We had a good meal at a place called CariGais or something like that. It's across from the Food Center outside of Red Hook, and it's hidden in a boat docking area but well worth searching for. Outstanding, very fresh seafood, almost like a home cooked meal and relative to the very high prices on St. Thomas, it was reasonable.

I would go to St. Thomas again in a heartbeat, but I would definitely look for another place to stay.

  • Liked — Spacious, remote, privacy
  • Disliked — Critters - bed bugs! No front desk service on site on Sunday, poor signage to location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

I just returned from a week stay at the Anchorage booked through Mclaughlin Anderson villas. Overall I was satisfied with our accommodations and we enjoyed our trip to st thomas. first of all i want to stress that this is a condo rental and not a hotel or resort. we actually quite liked it because of that, but i can see that if you are looking for a resort experience and a lot of amenities on site this would not be a good place. the one time we went to ask questions at the office it was closed. I would recommend renting a car if you are staying here. otherwise you will spend quite a bit of money on taxis and they could be inconvenient.
the units are individually owned so some could be much nicer than others. Ours was clean and well equipped, decorated in a typical caribbean style. We had a group of 4 adults and 3 children. the unit had 2 bedrooms downstairs and a large loft area upstairs, 2 and 1/2 baths, full kitchen, large patio with barbecue grill, and a washer and dryer. The unit was large enough to accommodate our group and i would recommend it for families traveling with children who will be cooking meals.
the grounds and beach were pretty, but nothing spectacular. We didnt spend too much time at the beach here, It was rocky and there are lots of other beaches on st thomas and st john that we explored, but it was nice for the kids when we did not feel like driving anywhere. there is also a small pool and tennis court.
Overall we were satisfied with our visit and i would recommend this property but i want to stress that this is a condo rental and not a resort. There are many people that live in these units all year and are not on vacation. People will be disappointed if they are expecting a resort and this is a place for people who do not mind figuring things out on their own as there is really no concierge or office onsite.

  • Liked — location, and kitchen
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Beach Resort

Address: Cowpet Bay | PO Box 8529, 00801, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Specialty lodging in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Anchorage Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your The Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Beach Hotel St. Thomas
The Anchorage Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.