We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Relaxing Vacation in Unit B-11” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay to your Saves list
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Venice, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Relaxing Vacation in Unit B-11”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed July 12-20 at unit B-11 Bargain on the Beach. We had a fantastic time. The unit was clean, fully stocked with everything you could possibly need, beautiful view, bed was comfy, decor was a very nice beach theme. There was a new washer/dryer which we used quite a few times. This was so handy to toss in beach towels and swim suits. I was even able to come home with clean clothes. Plenty of snorkeling gear, beach toys, etc. There was WIFI and a printer to print our boarding passes. They had a large flat screen TV in the main area and smaller one in the bedroom. We didn't watch much TV, but did enjoy having them. They are equipped with all kinds of starter supplies. I am sure guests leave all kinds of things for the next tenant just like we did.

We had trouble with the air conditioner one day and it wasn't working. Norma the person that takes care of the condo for the owners Steve and Honey sent someone over and it was repaired by the time we got home that afternoon. Now that's service.

The location is near Red Hook and so convenient. There are a lot of restaurants and shops along with a decent grocery store. We found Cost U Less to be cheaper and stopped there twice coming back from town.

The snorkeling was terrific. We saw a huge spotted eagle ray, sea turtles, star fish, squid, live conchs, barracuda and tons of various fish.

The grounds were landscaped very nice. Diane the beach attendant was a sweetheart. She had our chairs setup for us each morning. If we decided to go back to the condo for a quick lunch, she watched our stuff for us.

There is a nice salt water pool we used the few times we just didn't feel like getting sandy again

I would definitely rent a car though. It is a ways out there and you don't get to experience the rest of the island if you just stay put at your unit.

I would not hesitate to stay at Crystal Cove again and especially at unit B11. One hint I got from these boards is to always rent from an owner. I used VRBO, but there are other sites that owner's post their condo's on.

Thanks Steve for sharing your condo with us.

Room Tip: Always rent from an owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    62
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
82
119
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just came back and I have to say be careful if you stay here. We booked a room with a king bed and a safe, two important things we go for, and when we were taken to our room, it had a queen bed and no safe, even though the front desk said there was one, after running back an forth to the desk, which is in a room, there really is no front desk, RED FLAG, they kept trying to put us in rooms but could not find the keys, RED FLAG, finally got a room but safe was broke and sliding glass locked but you could easily just slide them both over and walk out the door. These rooms were now over in the Sapphire resort, it will get confusing, since both places are run by the same people, who by the way don't give a crap if you are pleased or not, RED FLAG.and when you look up crystal cove you also see pictures of Sapphire resorts, so if you have never been there you can get confused. Crystal Cove is a dump and that's saying it nicely. We finally got a beach front room after telling the manager we will dispute our visa charges, since what we paid for was not what was represented and the safe in that room was broken, he finally paid up and called for a locksmith to fix it, after complaining it will cost $150 to get it fixed...NO MY PROBLEM!!!!.......RED FLAG. These people are the most unfriendly management staff we have ever run into....if I were you I would look at another place to stay. I could go on with how they lie to you face and hate their jobs, I will leave that for the next person, I'm sure there will be more bad reviews in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms in another place would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife an I stayed in B-11 the second week in June and we were totally satisfied. The condo was very clean, and has very nice furnishings. The kitchen and pantry are very well stocked. The walls are decorated with art everywhere you look. It was very nice having the washer and dryer. The cloths line and hose out back came in very handy. The grounds are very well kept and beautiful with fruit trees and flowering shrubs. The lagoon attracts all kinds of wildlife. The beach was absolutely wonderful with white sand with warm crystal clear water. The snorkeling right off the beach was spectacular. We saw all kinds of corals, fish, turtles, and rays. For me it was a dream come true. Red Hook is a mile or less away. There are stores, restaurants, and a grocery store to buy food to take back to the condo. We like Fish Tails the best. You can also board a ferry there to check out other islands. In conclusion, The owners are very nice to deal with. The are honest and caring people. You can't go wrong if you choose B-11 Bargain on the Beach!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Pros.
Beautiful beach
Chairs on beach
Shade at beach
Great snorkeling
Good location
Landscaping is beautiful
Cons.
Our unit was nasty
Our unit had bugs
Our unit had very uncomfortable beds they claim to have memory foam mattress. Beds are broken
Our unit didn't have a comfortable place to set in the living room area
The owner claimed that the unit sleeps 8 no way it could. The unit has a king bed, a queen and a sofa mattress that isn't usable. Bugs!
This was my families second stay at the Crystal Cove and the last. We had such good memories of our last stay. I was told to get the good units to call The manager. It didn't help we probably got the worst one. I talked with one of the ladies the work cleaning at crystal cove she told me she would not stay there. Enough for me.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The grounds are beautiful. Beautiful flowers everywhere. The beach is spectacular. Beautiful blue water. They have breach chairs to use while you're at the beach. I was told the five shop should be opening in a week, so that will help regarding bathrooms, fresh water showers and amenities.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We traveled with friends who were staying at Sapphire Beach Resort, a five minute beach walk from Crystal Cove. By far we had the best sandy beach. We spent the days on our beach which was truly amazing. Always a breeze, the snorkeling right from the beach was outstanding. Saw sea turtles, rays, tons of fish, beautiful coral, barracuda, starfish. Water was perfect temp for us…refreshing but so nice to stay in. Shade trees provided a nice break when we needed it…just had to pull our chairs under. Diane was our beach attendant and took care of getting our chairs every morning. People were super friendly and grounds are well maintained. We stayed in A16, a studio in A building and it was just steps to the beach. We will be back!

Room Tip: Going through VRBO was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We just returned from another great trip to Crystal Cove - Sapphire Beach. Stayed in A building booked thru Dave at bestbeach.com, excellent rental. Dave treats us like old friends when we book and Norma his on site manager always takes good care of us. Many hours at Sapphire Beach with excellent snorkeling on reefs on the left and right, and plentiful sea turtles in the center sea grass. Also snorkeled at Lindquist Beach up the road a few times, excellent reefs. Found some new restaurants like Cheers Mate at Pools & Pavilions (best deal on fish/chips on Friday night and super friendly staff and cook) and ate at our old standby Mafolie Restaurant, best view of Charlotte Amalie. Went to St. John one day and excellent snorkeling at Trunk Bay and Cinnamon Beach. Drove to Coral Bay, not worth the trip, not much there. Cruz Bay has much more shopping and restaurants. Already looking forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay

Address: Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Beach Resort On Sapphire Bay Hotel St. Thomas
Crystal Cove Beach St Thomas
Crystal Cove Condos St Thomas
Crystal Cove Condominiums
Crystal Cove Beach Resort On Sapphire Bay St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.