We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas to your Saves list
Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7511 Frenchman's Bay | # 100, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have been an owner for many years..for one thing, there are no bath tubs since the renovations were completed. Not sure what this guy is talking sbout. This is a wonderful resort run by very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zayna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was a nice resort, all buildings/units have a view of the ocean (higher is better). I was in the top floor / loft unit in building E - nice well maintained building. The beach was a little rocky beneath the surface (recommend water shoes) but once you get out further in the water its just sand. The resort itself is quiet, ideal for couples, even families. The only downside and reason i didnt rate higher was the lack of a restaurant onsite. Which is a major inconvenience as it means you either have to drive (highly recommend renting a car - note they drive on the left in St Thomas) or pay 12$ per person round trip for a taxi to go offsite to eat. There is the pool bar that offers basic breakfast in the AM and panini's in the afternoon but no dinner. If you want a good breakfast go offsite to the Morningstar/Frenchman's resort to Coco Joe for the $15 breakfast buffet (best deal). I recommend Iggie's in Bolongo Bay for dinner, nice open air dinning reasonable prices. Victoria the activities coordinator is a good resource for information and recommendations. my party of 3 did several of the activities (offsite) presented during her orientation and loved all of them- 1) sunset sail & a movie on water island 2) VI ecotour 3) sunset side on pirate ship (ideal for all ages). the guest and the employees were nice & friendly. You will see cats (friendly/saw at least 4 different ones) on the resort that are there to keep mice away (they do a good job as I saw no mice). The resort maintain a cat 'cafe' with food/h20 for them. Overall pleasant experience - minus the lack of a restaurant.

Room Tip: For couples or friends under 4 people recommended the loft units - there is a bedroom with kingsize...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have been here twice...Last year and 2 years before that. The first time the units were dated, but decent. The latest time...the unit was renovated, but there were issues. The toilet leaked from underneath. So, the bathroom floor was always wet all the way into the kitchen area. I called service, but never saw them come and eventually, the toilet did quit leaking. None of the area had been cleaned, but, I ASSUME they must have come since the floor stayed dry after I cleaned it. Also, they must be pumping the shower water in straight from the ocean. It was VERY dirty and salty. During a shower the tub would fill up with SANDY, SALTY water. Other patrons were complaining of the same thing. So, I knew it wasn't just our unit. Our friends arrived the week before us and had upset stomach for 3 days before some of the other patrons warned them not to use the tap water to make their coffee. This was not the case the first time I went to this resort 2 years prior.

The activities coordinator, Victoria, is wonderful and knowledgeable. The other staff was very distant and non-engaging. I can only assume it must be because they were beaten down from the constant, yet earned, complaints.

The good side to this resort is the fabulous small private beach. Just fabulous. There is gated security that will NOT let you in if you don't have a room there. So, the beach is not packed by locals...just patrons. The a/c works great. The pool has a swim up bar that offers beverages and limited food items (hotdogs and such). Even the bartenders were not overly friendly. Which was a disappointing surprise to me. I reluctantly tipped them only because of my previous restaurant service career.

All in all, the beach itself is great. The resort is smaller and quaint. The updated rooms are nice, other than the water issues. The other guests and activities coordinator are great. Just don't expect much from the other staff members.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Thomas hotels

Jefferson Hills, Pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was great to see the renovations to the units.....Love them!!!! Thanks!!! We love this quiet and relaxing out of the way location...It truely is an island setting with great views...love to watch the boats including the cruise ships that turn in front of the resorts beach area... It would be great to have the restaurant open again, hopefully they will find someone that wants to operate one for them.....Regardless it is still awesome and oh so relaxing...you really feel like you've been on a true vacation...when you come back home you feel better and ready to get back to work (even though you really wanted to stay longer---it's so warm!!) We've been enjoying this resort for 6 years now and plan on being back next spring!!! Oh...we LOVE the new king size beds in the studio pLus!!!

Room Tip: studio plus units are on the top and have the most awesome views of the resort and the beautiful blu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The resort was very quiet and relaxing. All of the employees went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The beach was close, clean, and always had a chair or hammock available to relax in. We would definitely return to Bluebeard Beach Club!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Bluebeard's Beach Club is a smaller-sized property with 7 buildings, all facing the ocean. Tremendous views. It's a laid-back resort: quiet, peaceful, never any crowds. Great little beach and rarely are there more than a few couples on the beach and by the pool. Unfortunate that the restaurant is no longer open. Victoria in Concierge is excellent! This is an older property so don't expect '5-Star', but do expect it to be a great place to relax and have a great vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top (3rd floor) have a better view. Rooms at the bottom are closer to the beach and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandJackCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We actually stayed in one of the first floor studios in the building on the right side in the photo. The front door of the studio unit was less than 50 yards from the beach. We would literally walk out the front door to the cabana or the beach without even locking our door. It was so laid back and not overly crowded that we didn't feel the need to lock our door. The studio was recently refurbished with an efficiency kitchen with granite countertops and sofa bed on the first level. Up 2 stairs was the a king bed, large dresser with flat screen tv and the bathroom with granite countertop. The resort had it's own cove and beach as well as a fitness center and pool as would be expected. The only restaurant was at the pool for breakfast and lunch. There were 2 open air buildings that I think were former restaurants that were in disrepair. It must have been spectacular when it was new and everything was open. One disappointment was the lack of wifi. AT&T phone service worked fine throughout the resort, but Sprint only worked at the top of the hill at the registration building. I would definitely stay here again because the location was fantastic.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
4.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
3.8 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas

Address: 7511 Frenchman's Bay | # 100, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in St. Thomas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeard`s Beach Club And Villas Hotel St. Thomas
Bluebeards Beach Resort
Bluebeards Beach Hotel
Bluebeards Beach Club
St Thomas Bluebeard
Bluebeard's Beach Club And Villas St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing