We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with Dec 9, 2012 review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas

Save Saved
You added Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas
100 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in St. Thomas
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Agree with Dec 9, 2012 review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was my third time to this resort. I stayed in unit 250 bldg E. It was obvious we were the first people to use this room after being renovated. I guess inspecting the room prior to renting the room is not done with this crew. The upgrades are nice, but the workmanship is sloppy and rushed. The shower tiles had writing on them, and the grout had not been cleaned properly. The remote to the AC was missing and the TV in the bedroom had not been programed. There were other things that were not done correctly. I eventually got what I could by calling the front desk. I think they got sick of me because I had to call them so many times. Despite the upgrades, granite counter tops, tiled shower, stainless steel appliances, new furniture, etc, it is too bad the quality of work was horrible.
I will say, this visit was nicer than the last two times, 2010 & 2008. I am glad they are making an attempt to improve the conditions at the resort.

Room Tip: I like the top floor lofts, they are more private and the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    177
    79
    41
    34
See reviews for
70
205
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Location, location, location...you're steps away from the water and can hear the waves crashing on the beach from your room. The beach, although not private, is quiet and clean. The locals that do frequent the stretch of beach (and pool) are friendly. The hotel staff, especially Victoria, is accommodating and pleasant. The rooms, even those that have been renovated, still need some work. The "fit and finish" or quality of the workmanship is terrible. Gaps under front doors and around windows allow mosquitos to come in and nibble on you while you sleep. Closet doors are only half installed. Shower curtains are moldy, shower curtain rods/rings are rusted, and hot water pressure is non-existent. We saw the construction crew at the pool bar more than we noticed them working on the renovations of the remaining rooms. Come here for the location on the water and quick car/taxi trip either way to Red Hook or Charlotte Amalie. Just don't plan to spend much time 'relaxing' in your room.

Room Tip: Renovations in Buildings A & B were (mostly) completed; 3rd floor rooms in bldg A had a nice lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 11/4 - 11/10/2012. Booked with our Wyndham points - this is not our home resort. Normally, we stay on the East End, in another Wyndham affiliated property - but this time, we had to stay here. Initially I was hesitant about the location and the resorts condition....BUT -
I absolutely LOVED this resort! Will definitely be returning.

We were in building A - Room #208. The room was newly rennovated - complete with pull out sofa, small dining table, flat screen TV, King Size Bed and a kitchenette. Kitchenette has small cook top, microwave and fridge. Updated furnishings lend a contemporary feel, but maintain the island vibe. Grounds and pool both maintained very well.

Upon checkin found the staff to be both friendly and informative. Found our room to be cleaned satisfactory. Beach was great for sunbathing - never struggled to find a chair. Hammocks and shaded areas are also available for guest use. Water entry is a bit rocky - and a little tricky to get out of when the surf is high - otherwise the beach is perfect! If you're up early enough and late enough you can watch the ships come and go - which is pretty breathtaking when some of those large ones come in!

There is no restaurant on site - but overall, we didn't find that to be an issue. We did enjoy a BBQ lunch one day, supplied by the owners of the bar. Found that meal to be both reasonable in price and very tasty!

I imagine construction will wrap up in a few months - seems they are over 50% complete. So, if you're traveling soon - you may be bothered by some construction noise through the day - but we didn't find it too disturbing.

A few problems:
First, as others have mentioned - the wifi. We arrived on Sunday, and I immediately signed up, created an account and paid for a week of internet. I couldn't get connected. It took 4 days, 2 phone calls and 3 trips to the front desk to find an associate who was willing to address the problem instead of just "email Alex." Once I was finally connected - the internet worked like a charm! During this struggle with my wifi I attempted to use the lobby internet - not only is the internet a joke, but that PC is so jacked up - it's painful to use! Second, parking. Not only are they short on spots (IMO), but meeting another car while coming or going is impossible. One person has to back up so the other person can get through. Finally, while the rennovations were probably an improvement - don't expect to go and find the Ritz! Much of what was done was done so by repurposing. I happen to be a huge fan of this - but it does show in the work that was done. Many of the doors and woodwork were repainted - but not cleaned up or sanded first. While something like that doesn't ruin a trip - it is one of the reasons I can't give the resort a higher overall rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We love coming to this resort! The rooms are being updated and the changes made were wonderful. Our room was clean and ready on time and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and lush with lots of iguanas to watch. The beach is amazing and never too crowded, the water is clear and the sea life for snorkeling is great. Lots of fish, a couple of turtles, and a lobster this year! The pool bar is separate from the resort but the staff is great. Variety of breakfast items, paninis and drinks all day. They served dinner twice during the week of our stay. It was nice not to have to go anywhere or cook. Victoria did a great job at making sure people had options for activities to do. Quiet location, with a great view! We will be going back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROANOKE VA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful resort grounds. Great views and pool area. Room was very comfortable. Great pillows and mattress. Victoria great asset and helpful with all your needs. Bar is not part of resort and can use some help. Better food and drinks would be much appreciated by guests. Iguanas everywhere. Quite entertaining to watch. Very enjoyable. Quiet, great for couples and older folks.

Room Tip: 225. Very good view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNESOTA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in a remodled unit is was very nice they only strange thing I think was they didn't paint the bathroom it had mold on the door and corners of room with a moldy liner in the shower? The rest was fine.
The view of the ocean from the balcony was so nice to have.
We loved having the kitchen to make some meals in.
The crew at the beach bar was fantasic from Bob & Gina in the mornings making those yum rum pancakes to Vince, Bo and Danny the bartenders who are friendly and give out great recommendations for places to go. From the cornholes games to grilled sandwiches they are a great bunch! Love the new signs Kelsey made expesically watching four bartenders tryin to hang them LOL

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time. We felt like we were the only ones there. We had the beach to ourselves the whole time. There weren't more than three to four groups at the beach at one time. No need to rush for shade and chairs on the beach or pool. There is no restaurant. They serve hot dogs and delicious paninis at the pool bar certain times. Saturdays they have Mr. Nice guy the taxi take you to a grocery for $12 round trip. Stock up and your good for the week. Groceries are expensive. US name brands were used to are about double. Meats and produce are cheap. There is a gift shop on site with some basic groceries. They are not much more expensive than at the grocery. We only planned on staying at the hotel and didn't need to rent a car. Though you will need one to check out the town. Snorkeling was wonderful at the hotel. We saw a sea turtle and lots of fish right off the beach. The beach is a little rocky at the beginning. But sandy after a couple feet. Our toddler enjoyed picking shells and the water is so clear and warm. Lots of shady palm trees, cabanas and a huge grilling area. We had a loft and would not recommend it with multiple small children. It was three stories. Entry and bath on one, living and kitchen on second, and bedroom on third. Our 22 month old is very calm and easy going and with 3 other adults there were plenty of eyes on the stairs and her to keep her safe but not for a couple with more than one small child. Overall it's a low key villa, beautiful private beach, small enough to know everyone by name, great for getting away from the hustle and bustle if the states.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas

Address: 100 Frenchman's Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Thomas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeard`s Beach Club And Villas Hotel St. Thomas
Bluebeards Beach Resort
Bluebeards Beach Hotel
Bluebeards Beach Club
St Thomas Bluebeard
Bluebeard's Beach Club And Villas St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.