We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Views, Just a Couple of Suggestions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Savings On Room Rate
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Views, Just a Couple of Suggestions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton for a few days this month. Overall, I think this is a great choice for St Thomas, but I have a few suggestions for travelers and the hotel.

The hotel is on the opposite side of the island from the airport so it can take 45-50 minutes to go about 11 miles.

This is an expensive place to stay. It is up there with some of the most expensive beach hotels I have ever stayed in. We upgraded to an ocean view, which was an extra $100 per night, but well worth it. If you can stay here on business, that would be the way to do it.

The hotel has incredibly nice staff. The restaurant staff was particularly friendly, not just nice, but truly friendly.

Our room was lovely. The bathroom was large- although I think more counter space instead of two huge sinks would have been better. The view from our balcony was beautiful. I would recommend staying away from the rooms next to the ice machine and staff closet ( Room 215 and anything above or below) as it can be noisy.

The restaurants are expensive. However, we went to a mediocre restaurant in Red Hook and it was expensive too. The breakfast buffet at the Ritz Carlton is $35 per person. We ate at the Italian restaurant one night. The half portions of pasta are small, but the salads and appetizers are generous. The bread and tapenade are good. It is nice to sit outside and eat on the patio. Not the best Italian, but not bad either.

While the hotel doesn't advertise it, guests can and should eat at Palazzo. This restaurant is located above the ownership units which are somewhat separated from the hotel. It has indoor and outdoor seating with views of the ocean.The owner of the restaurant made a point ot check in with us. The Tagine was very good, as was the grilled artichoke. The Pad Thai was a bit spicy for our tastes. Service was very good.

Guests should make it a point to go out on the Lady Lyndsey catamaran. We did the sunset sail and it was wonderful. The staff is great, the appetizers are quite good and so are the drinks. Since you can't see the sunset from the hotel due to the direction it faces, this is a great way to see the sunset. The guests on our sail were all very friendly and we got, and shared, some good tips about the area.

One of the biggest complaints I have about the hotel, is the pool and beach situation. There seemed to be too few chairs for the number of guests. Also, although I love little kids, most hotels of this caliber would have an adult pool. I was surpised at how many young children were at this hotel.

The rooms have Nespresso machines which is a nice touch if you like little cups of espresso. Personally, I think most people would prefer a Keurig or coffee maker.

We had a car during our visit. It was nice to have the car during the day, as the taxis are really open air trams and can be very crowded. Driving on the left isn't too bad, but driving at night is scary. If you stay at the Ritz Carlton, you can't really walk anywhere to shop or eat. On the positive side, the hotel is very close to the Red Hook ferry which takes you to St John. A day trip that is highly recommended.

Overall, I think this is a great choice on St Thomas if you don't mind the expense.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the ice machine and staff supply closets. Get a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    76
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
90
149
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I expect to pay for the best in room and resort accommodations when I stay at a Ritz, but why must they charge triple other places for everything else? And $65/day for a "resort fee" is just plain nonsense. I'm already paying to stay at a resort. Why are they separating this fee out other than to make their rooms appear to be more competitive?? As if we had a choice to not pay it! Turns out we never even used any of the facilities we were paying "extra" for.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Dave H,

Thank you for your review of our resort. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us, though I’m sorry you were disappointed with our resort fee. The daily fee includes use of all water sports equipment, parking, Internet, fitness classes and daily programs with Ambassadors of the Environment, additions which we feel really enhance the guest experience. It is truly not our intent to hide thisfee, but rather to provide our guests with a variety of amenities at their convenience.

Thank you again for the review and for choosing to stay with us. If you’re back in the Virgin Islands, we hope to welcome you to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas!

Sincerely,

Bernd Kuhlen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Staying at this hotel was a wonderful experience and the service was excellent! The only thing that was annoying during this trip was the fact that there was screaming kids and people throwing balls across the pool all day long. If the resort had a quiet pool or an adult pool all of this would be resolved. The food was good, but not amazing. Overall, the service was amazing as well as the attitudes of the employees. If your coming to Saint Thomas, come here because it was a great trip! We will definetely be back here again in the future!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STTRZGM, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Kathleenjasmin,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our resort, especially you compliments about our service! However, I’m sorry that you felt our pool was too loud. We welcome everyone to our resort, which oftentimes includes families of all ages. Fortunately, our guests are welcome to use the adults-only pool over at The Ritz-Carlton Destination Club, just a short walk from the main resort.

Thank you again for your review, and we’re looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Ian McPhee
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband took me here for my 50 th Birthday. From the time our car was met at the front gate until the day I left the whole staff told me "happy birthday. " we dined at all the restaurants on property and were never disappointed. We actually had a reservation off property the last night and decided to cancel and dined on property. Not a mistake. The beach staff was very helpful and professional. They helped us with snorkel gear and renting a boat with a captain for the day. Perfect day. We island hopped and did some great snorkeling. One day we rented a cabana and we had a great cabana guy ( steve). Who took care of us. Massages were on the list as well. Totally relaxing, very professional. Our room was perfect and well taken care of. The amenities were always replenished. We were on the club level. Which I would totally recommend. You could eat a full breakfast there. Omelet station with all fresh ingredients. The rest of the day is amazing as well. Cocktails, wine and beer.. If you have special request, just ask Carl and his staff. They treat you like family. They aim to please. Our stay was perfect. The staff at the ritz carlton st. Thomas work very hard to make everyone's stay perfect. So for that I would say " Thank you."

Room Tip: Club level is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STTRZGM, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear beverly352,

Thank you for your great review, and it was certainly our pleasure to have you here for your birthday! I’m so pleased to see that our team could help to make your special day a memorable one. I agree that our Ladies in Gentlemen from the Club Lounge to the restaurants truly go above and beyond to make our guests’ experiences special.

Thank you again for your great review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Ian McPhee
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came here with another couple for a week of R&R. The people at the Ritz made sure we were not disappointed. Wonderful facility, nice pool and beach area. Water sports equipment included. The Ritz is on a small bay that gives you a lot of space to use the Hobe Cat, kayaks, paddle boards, snorkel...etc. The food is expensive but good. Their drinks are refreshing and tasty. Rooms are comfortable, clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly, helpful and just a pleasure. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our recent trip to the Ritz Carlton St. Thomas was, in a word, fine. The room was perfectly acceptable--cookie cutter Ritz Carlton (I could have been in Akron!), the beaches were lovely, two small, crescents with beautiful water and vistas (though the chairs were VERY close together), the bed was very comfy, the food was slightly under par--restaurant reservations didn't mean anything, the menus were limited and quality so-so, and the services seemed uninspired.

On our second morning I awoke to no water, and NOBODY appeared to know what was going on and when it would be rectified. There also was the elusive $65 per person/per day "resort fee." UGH! Just raise the room rate already--don't nickle and dime me!

I daresay the Ritz is probably the nicest place to stay on St. Thomas. Remove the sunshine and sea, however, and it's just another hotel--nothing terribly special or memorable...

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Tyme4atrip,

Thank you very much for the thorough review of your time at our resort. I’m very happy to see that you enjoyed our beach and our beds, but disappointed that our restaurants and services did not meet your expectations, as we aim to provide the finest service and facilities to our guests on a daily basis.

Our resort fee of $65 per room per day includes use of all water sports equipment on the beach, as well as fitness classes and gym access. It is truly not our intent to nickel and dime our guests, and I’m sorry that you felt that it wasn’t a value. As far as the water issue, I’m very sorry that you had to experience this inconvenience, though assure you and future guests that it is a rare occurrence.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate feedback as we look to improve the experience for future guests. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back if you are ever again in St. Thomas.

Sincerely,

Bernd Kuhlen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start out by saying that the staff here is wonderful and they were very kind. The location is iconic and the pool area/ beach is very nice! The beach is man made (I think). The water is clear and beautiful to swim in! Essenza is an amazing option. The food was amazing! They even grow fresh herbs in their own garden! The only thing I was not impressed by: The slow check in. Not a good first impression. Get more people working!!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a 30-acre beachfront estate, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas blends classic European elegance with warm Caribbean hospitality. The resort overlooks sparkling turquoise waters and white sand beaches on the eastern tip of the island along Great Bay and with views of St. John. 180 Guestrooms each have private balconies, Caribbean-inspired decor and views of the Caribbean Sea and tropical surroundings. Other features include a full service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, a Club Level with private concierge and complimentary food and beverage presentations, infinity pool, a beach and aquatic center with ample complimentary water sports, and four restaurants for gourmet dining and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.