We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Savings On Room Rate
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Standard rooms are comfortable and clean with attentive service. Dinning is relaxing with a wonderful breakfast daily brunch. I'm not one to go to brunches and serve yourself but this was a wonderful setting didn't give it a thought. The beach was a bit small for my liking because I love open space and taking walks. I never use a pool when the ocean is in front of you but looked okay. Just watch out and beware of yelling kids

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    68
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
86
136
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We always like Ritz Carlton because of the service. The hotel staff are friendly and the room is comfortable. The location is a little isolated. We ate at the hotel almost every meal except for one day we went to St. John. The restaurants at Ritz Carlton are expensive and not many choices. We stayed there for 6 nights and it rained almost everyday. We had couple hours of sun and then rain again. We constantly ran in and out because of the rain. I am not sure if it's only the week that we went or the weather is like that in St. Thomas.The beach is small and water was a little cold and rough. We had problem getting chairs at the beach because we got there late. We probably prefer another island.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this review, yesterday
Dar JT3689NJ,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our beautiful resort. Seeing that you are return Ritz-Carlton guests, I'm especially pleased that you were happy with the service of our Ladies and Gentlemen, which I agree truly sets us apart.

We are located on the east end of the St. Thomas, about 30 minutes from the airport and closest to St. John, our beautiful neighboring island that I’m happy you had the opportunity to experience. While it’s completely a matter of personal taste, many guests appreciate the privacy of our location, away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Regarding the weather, in the week before and during your stay, we did experience a lot of rainy weather, much more than is typical during this time of year. I apologize if you were frustrated or if the rain interfered with your enjoyment of the island. Usually our short rainstorms are replaced very quickly by sun.

Thank you again for your thoughtful review. In the event you decide to return to our island, we hope to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas.

Sincerely,
Bernd Kuhlen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I have nothing but positives to say about the Ritz Carlton St. Thomas. Beautiful grounds. Lovely accommodations. Terrific service and a staff that goes out of the way to please. The food can be expensive but it is general good for the Caribbean. Great Hobie cats and paddle boats. This is a wonderful place to go for a relaxing vacation in paradise.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear eadler12,

Thank you so much for your great review of our resort and our fantastic team. I agree that we’re in an ideal place for a perfectly relaxing vacation in paradise.

And hopefully we’ll get to welcome you back soon!

Bernd Kuhlen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a great stay here!! Went with my friends for their 35th birthday back in December 2014. The grounds were nice and clean. Beautiful view! The spa was fantastic! Best massage ever!! The food was great as well and the staff was wonderful. very attentive!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is an absolutely delightful hotel, a little far from the airport (25 minute drive on not so good roads, but none of the roads on St. Thomas are good...). The "great" (not just good)...the location on a private bay is very nice, the staff is helpful and polite, the facility is in great shape.
The not so great...if you want to spend your days on the beach being pampered with plenty of watersports to entertain you, then stay at The Ritz. If your looking for something more like long walks on the beach, not going to happen. The beach is maybe 300 yards long. You can't really walk off the property, there are no sidewalks and the road is very narrow. But as I said, if you enjoy reading and snorkeling and sailing, etc. stay here by all means it really is delightful.
You can get a cab to Charlotte Amalie, but to be honest there's not much there...kind of touristy... If you're adventurous, rent a car and explore the island ! Lot of beaches, Mountain Top tourist trap, lousy roads, Spend a day exploring St. John, again with a car, again lot of beaches, better roads, less developed.
The food on either island wasn't bad, but wasn't great, kind of bland...Went to The Old Stone Farmhouse for dinner. Nice location, again not so great food.

Overall, great place to rest on the beach and read....like many other Caribbean islands...but this one has some of the best facilities and staff ! :)

Room Tip: It appears all the rooms have a view of the beach...but check to be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport, ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The Ritz in st thomas really has everything you want. Beach. Pools. Spa. Restaurants. Privacy. Views. We stayed one night in the hotel and 3 in the residences. The residences returned more value (much more space) but both adjoining properties are spectacular. By far the nicest property in the USVI

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What an amazing trip in mid-March for a winter getaway. From Katrin, who saved the day when we had a pet emergency that required us to postpone our trip in February, to the last "good bye" from Makala in the Club Lounge, on our 5th day, it was an unforgettable experience. The people are amazing(Vance, Daniel, Anna, Shirley, Penny and too many others to mention), it was clear their number one priority was to insure we had a memorable visit. We generally stay on the CLub Level at The Ritz, and this was the nicest Lounge with the best variety and qaulity of offerings we have seen. It is more expensive, but well worth it.
The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable--with the usual Ritz amenities--very well done.
The beach is very nice, but did get a little crowded at times, but the beach staff was always helpful when needed. The water sports/equipment is included in the resort fee, and it was nice not to feel "nickeled and dimed" every time we wanted to do something.
We played a lot of tennis, and it was great. They have two omni courts--artificial grass and sand that are very easy on yhour body. The courts could have been in a little better shape, but were very playable. The only real negative of the visit was the the tennis pro who visited every couple of days. Not friendly, had not interest in trying to arrange of match, find other guests who might want to play, etc, but the hotel does not hold itself as a tennis resort. The gym is very nice and the spa is wonderful.
A great experience and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Stay in Freesia if you can---better views and much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear 48stever,

Thank you very much for your exceptional review of your time at our resort. I’m always especially happy to read about particular employees stood out to make your stay memorable, and I will certainly pass along your comments to the team.

And I have to agree that we have a remarkable Club Lounge, with fantastic ocean views, great food and an unmatched team of Ladies and Gentlemen.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave such a great review, and we’ll look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas soon!

Sincerely,

Bernd Kuhlen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.