We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite was unacceptable due to mold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Hudson Valley, NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Suite was unacceptable due to mold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2004

We had recently booked a club level executive suite which is the "best" type of room at this resort and very expensive. Thus, we were extremely upset to encounter an overpowering musty/moldy smell upon entering the suite. We then noticed visible mold around the air conditioner vents and several areas on the walls (and I don't mean just a few dots here and there). There was also visible mold on the sofa, both chairs and on the curtains. This was obviously unacceptable to us and we called the front desk to complain. We had multiple staff come to the room and they acknowledged the problem. However, we were told all the rooms were sold out except for ONLY ONE other room they offered us which was not a suite and we could only have it for one night because it was booked and then we would have to be switched again. We wanted to check it out before agreeing and this room was very old, also very musty smelling (but cleaner), 1/2 the size of the suite and clear across the resort which made the club lounge very impractical (the club was a big reason we booked the resort). We decided to stick out the original suite for the one night because we didn't want to move our stuff twice for another substandard room and they assured us another club suite(they told us the exact room #) would be available the next day and they would adjust the bill. Well the next day we had confusion because the manager was off and the front desk people had no knowledge of the situation. We were told that the new suite number that we were supposed to have was still booked and nothing else was available. At this point we were ready to check out but after several more phone calls we were given another suite which was thankfully in excellent condition. Now for the good part. The resort is gorgeous and most of the staff were extremely pleasant and gracious. Our new room was wonderful and what we had originally expected. The marble bathroom is enormous. The balcony overlooks the water, is large and has 2 lounge chairs, a table with 4 chairs and still plenty of room to walk around. The water sports are excellent and the beach lovely. However, no staff helped us to set up beach chairs or umbrellas. The club amenities were great. We ate most of our meals there and there was always liquor, wine, champagne, etc. also. Be aware that if you book a club level room you might be in a different building than the club level lounge as we were. Evidently the adjacent Heliconia building also has club privileges but you have to walk to the next building for the club lounge. This was a surprise as the web site indicates all the rooms are in the one Gardenia building (but it wasn't a big deal). Also, the ambiance of the club lounge in the evening was spoiled by kids playing hide and seek and being rambunctious. Perhaps after 6 or 7 PM it should be adults only so one can relax with a quiet drink. Had we not had the MAJOR room problem, I would have given this resort 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    294
    129
    73
    39
See reviews for
297
522
17
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2004

The food service took forever all the time! The prices for the quality that was finally served was
sheer robbery.

We knew we were on island time but this was ridiculous.

This is not the first time this has happened.

No more! Pretty hotel but not a RITZ CARLTON.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2004

Recently, my family had a reunion trip planned at the Ritz Carlton, St. Thomas V.I.. We had reserved 4 Club Rooms and 1 Club Suite - that's 5 rooms total.

For some reason, the hotel kept sending us confirmations for 6 rooms; the "phantom" was for someone with the same last name, different first, and entirely different address. It took two weeks to get that room dropped off our advance deposit, and we finally got confirmation for just 5 rooms, in the Gardenia building.

Upon arrival, however, there were only 4 rooms (3 club, one suite). Their first explanation was "we thought the 5th was a duplicate and cancelled it." After around 10 minutes of being screamed at, they changed their story and said that all the rooms were full from people who couldn't leave the island due to the hurricane the previous week. Not only was the hotel now overbooked, but the only room they had available at the time was the suite. 4 hours later, the three club rooms had materialized, but the fourth room was still MIA. (Also, only one of the rooms was in Gardenia, and the other 3 were in Heliconia.) They found a regular room in the farthest building on the other side of the hotel, and then told us we had to pay the club rate on it if we wanted that person to have access to the Club Lounge. Mind you, this hotel is in a very hilly area, and there are steep climbs from anywhere to get to the center of the complex. It took around 20 minutes of hard walking to get from that building to the Gardenia. On the second day, another club room was available and the occupant was able to switch, but no one assisted him with his bags and he ended up having to hike with them all across the complex.

Once the room situation was (sort-of) straighened out, we thought our problems were over. Well, no.

The power went out on the 4th day of our visit, and the backup generator kicked in quickly to restore power; however, the power still managed to blink on and off for the remainder of our visit, knocking out the television signal for a good 10 minutes every time. The generator happens to be conveniently located by the tennis courts - right in front of Gardenia - and sounds like a jet engine. Imagine if you will: 2 full days of this exceptionally loud noise coming from outside your room, with no way to block it out. Upon asking the staff about the power situation, they simply shrugged it off and told us to deal with it. To make matters worse, we'd requested a "quiet floor" initially, with all of our block of rooms on the same level. Well, I ended up with two families on either side of me, with kids screaming at all hours of the day and night.

But wait, it gets worse: The afternoon Club Lounge concierge was so incompetent that she managed to screw up ALL 5 of our dinner reservations. Each one was screwed up in an entirely different fashion; for one, the day was wrong. Another, the reservation was made for lunch and not dinner. For another, it was entirely the wrong restaurant. For the fourth, she somehow made a reservation at a restaurant that doesn't exist anymore, and for the fifth, she made a reservation at restaurant IN THE RITZ HOTEL that is closed for the season. We didn't find out about any of the mistakes until it was almost too late (for one, it *was* too late).

Even their excursions desk was not immune to their mistakes: All week, we'd been trying to make parasailing reservations. Every time, we'd come at one time, and be told to come back at another. The boat would then be gone at the time we were told to return, and no one would be there to take the reservation. Each day we tried different times of day, but it always was the same thing. Calling did not help - no one ever picked up the phone. We also found that the people who *did* manage to make a reservation didn't always get to go on their trips: the boat would leave when it got full, reservation or not. They'd actually take walkups out over people who put down advance deposits!

There's more: The elevators stopped working in Heliconia and Gardenia, so people had to walk all the way up to their rooms. Some rooms were kitted out slippers and shaving kits, others weren't even given mouthwash (this was seemingly random, as people in the same room types on the same floors at the *same rate* would get different things.) Heck, I didn't even know there *were* slippers until I saw my brother walking around the Lounge with them on. He was like "Yeah, they were in my bathroom."

All conversations with the front desk went nowhere. Random charges appeared on our rooms every day, and it was a struggle to get them removed. One day, a $54,208 "Internet Fee" was charged to my room, and they actually tried to tell me it was accurate!

Another warning for parents: In the Club Lounge, they leave the alcohol bottles out all day, every day, unsupervised. I saw many *young* children pouring rum into their guava juice and vodka into their sprites, etc, with no one to stop them. Their parents would often be nowhere to be found.

I have stayed in many Ritz Carlton properties over the years, and NEVER have I had so much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill/Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2004

Let me begin by saying that the Ritz-Carlton in St. Thomas is exceptional. My wife and I were there from 6/21-6/28 on our honeymoon and selected the honeymoon package (info on what this includes is available on the Ritz-Carlton website). Although we were not the only honeymooners there that week we were made to feel that way by all of the staff.

We stayed in a club level suite in Gardenia building which houses the club level lounge. The room was spacious and comfortable with a HUGE deck/balcony. My only gripe and it is very, very minor, is that the “deep” soaking tub is not really deep and is big enough for maybe one small person. I was told when I went on the tour of the Ritz-Carlton club residences that all the tubs are that way because water is so expensive in St. Thomas. Even the >$200,000 for 3 week ownership residences have the same small tubs so don’t expect a Jacuzzi no matter how much you pay. Otherwise there was a feather bed, fine Frette linens, Bose surround sound stereo equipment, 2 TVs, one large one in the sitting area and one in the armoire in the bedroom, a cd/clock radio, Mark David custom designed furniture, etc. I could go on and on, but if your picky with details the Ritz takes care to only select the very best in all of its products and furnishings.

I am going to attempt to break my review into categories so it will hopefully be easier for others to use.

The beach: Very fun! The watersports center at the Ritz beach is very helpful and offers hobie cats, kayaks(single and dual), paddle boats, windsurfboards, and various snorkel equipment. They will help you learn how to use any of the equipment and will get you a dedicated teacher for a lesson if you desire(for a charge).
The Ritz has 2 beaches, one on the side of the original hotel known as Iguana’s beach, and the other on the side of the Ritz-Carlton club residences known as Coconut cove beach. Iguanas is man made and Coconut cove is natural. Neither are great swimming beaches such as you might find at Caneel or on St. John, but are great activity beaches. You can snorkel right on property and see sea turtles, stingray, coral, and various fish. There is also a great breeze that is prominent on the east end which is great if you like to windsurf etc.

The pools: Spectacular, infinity edge with a great view, and the other is a pleasant family pool with great bathrooms. I had never seen a beach bathroom done in all marble, sculpted stone, and granite, but leave it to the Ritz to even make the beach bathrooms Ritzy.

The food: Many have complained on this forum and others about the food at the Ritz. Yes it is expensive, but when you factor in the cost of taxi rides in St. Thomas, which are a back breaker, you will find that the Ritz actually comes out cheaper. $18 for a hamburger may sound like a lot, but after your $10 ride to a Wendys for example and the $10 to get back that Wendy’s hamburger costs more. Also, the Hamburger is solid, very large and big enough for 2 if you want to split it. The Great bay grill which is the fine dining restaurant is very good. Don’t expect French, or creative continental cuisine, but it delivers on its promise of fine meats and seafoods grilled to perfection. The Sunday brunch there is expensive but truly superb. All you can eat lobster, Alaskan crab legs, foie gras, Prime rib, lamb chops, etc. are but a few of the selections available. All in all the food is resort expensive but is tasty and in large portions.

The service: Excellent, 5 stars. When we arrived and were escorted to our room, our guide said that basically we could ask for anything we wanted and they would try and make it happen. He emphasized the word “anything”. 2 examples, my wife was eating a peanut butter cookie on the club floor lounge but left it b/c she thought it was chocolate chip but it wasn’t. When the waitress cleared the plate she noticed the left over cookie and asked if we liked it. I informed her that my wife thought it would be cchip, etc. She said oh, then 30 seconds later someone came out with a freshly baked cchip cookie and handed it to her without even asking for it. That is service! Anticipating needs and reading customers desires. Also, my wife left her engagement and wedding ring in the room accidentally one day when she applied suntan lotion. We were on St. John and she was scared it might get lost or stolen, so I called the club floor concierge Malcolm from a restaurant in St. John. He went to the room, found the rings, wrapped them up and put them in safe storage for us. When I thanked him, he said My pleasure. Service can not be beat at this Ritz.

Conclusions: This resort is expensive, but I feel you get your money’s worth. The watersports are excellent and can be done without having to go anywhere else. The watersports center can arrange parasails(which were really great) or private trips, etc. anywhere or anything. The club floor is an added bonus b/c it offers great food, and additional service. Also, the dinner hours serve heavy enough food that you could easily just eat all your meals there (example foods include: steaks, scallop, crab claws, and shrimp thermidoor, grilled swordfish, etc.). The setting is gorgeous on the east end away from the overly developed center of St. Thomas….plus you get a great direct view to St. John from your balcony. This is easily the best service, and the nicest place I have stayed and I would recommend it wholeheartedly. We visited Caneel on a day trip on the Ritzs’ catamaran the Lady lyndsey. The beaches are nice, but all things considered if you like amenities the Ritz blows it away.

2 other notes: Recent guests at the Ritz include Will Smith and Miss America. We were told this information by our taxi driver taking us to the airport. I think the above two guests can stay wherever they like in the world and they chose this Ritz, that should say something. Also, Bill and Hillary Clinton chartered the Lady Lyndsey while they were on St. Thomas a few years back. The president stays at Sand Dollar villas on a private beach when he visits, but even the Clintons used some of the amenities at the Ritz while visiting St. Thomas.

Please feel free to email me about any questions you might have.
Arun (akrishna@email.unc.edu)

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2004

We stayed at the Ritz during June for our Wedding/Honeymoon. Service was excellent throughout our stay. There was great attention to detail. This included all aspects of our wedding and the amazing coordinators (Jennifer and Shannon).

The food was good, however not excellent. There are many other restaurants on the island serving more creative menus. Food service at the pool/pool bar is slow but courteous.

Our club level suite was well appointed and clean. The very spacious balcony had a great view and was excellent for entertaining. However, the overall quality was not as nice as suites at other Ritz or five star hotels (the suite bathrooms have a large separate shower but unfortunately have normal, shallow tubs without Jacuzzi. Definitely not a "soaking" tub).

Overall, it is the typical Ritz service that impressed us the most. From staff remembering our name to rose petals strewn across our bed and floor on multiple occasions, there is obvious attention to detail.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2004

My first vist to US Virgin Island. The staff made the entire visit so comfortable. We arrived early but the staff did every thing possible to make us feel right at home. Hotel rrom was spacious and handsome.
Lady Lindsey was great. White glove services even on a snokelring tour. If your gona pay the price why not, right?
Yes taxis where high but very freindly and acommodating. Our cab driver recomedened a local resurant for lunch. When we arrived their was a waiting line but he was able to arrangef for us to sit right away.


  • Stayed February 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2004

Building recently renovated, elegant yet comfortable enough that we did not have to monitor every step that our toddler took.
Incredible Ritz Kidz club. The director of the club was always on hand and very much involved with the various daily activities. The staff was very attentive and showed a genuine interest to the children.
Food is fair. Service is impeccable, beginning with the personal greetings and light refreshments we received immediately upon our arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.