We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a Luxury Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“OK for a Luxury Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

As others have said, this really isn't a Ritz . . . more of a nice Marriott. The hotel is tired, furniture and fixtures are worn and broken. The staff is probably good for St. Thomas, but folks on the island are not the most courteous to tourists. So, expect an island attitude and pace, which is different than the Ritz Carlton standard service in other parts of the world. Despite the drawbacks of the hotel itself, the location is incredible. The private bay is A+

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    298
    129
    73
    40
See reviews for
302
533
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringoes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Ritz Carlton April 22-25.The excellent service began the minute we stepped on the property with Luke an employee who presented us with a fun rum drink and brought us to check in. Upon arrival our room was not ready but we were upgraded to a suite on the third floor. The room had an incredible view , patio with table ,chair and lounges , living room, large bedroom and two full bathrooms. Everyone at the Ritz was friendly and accommodating from the minute we checked in. We stayed on the concierge level which was wonderful- the people who worked there were so polite and remembered your name when you walked in. Concierge level had great food for breakfast, lunch and dessert. Beautiful presentations. Drinks available all day. The beach side service at the Ritz was great~ towels lounges and shade provided. We didn't have to worry about getting a chaise lounge beach front. The pool area was also beautiful-floats/towels and lounges available and very clean bathrooms. The views are breathtaking and the property is very well kept. Can't say enough about the service, it was excellent. Everyone went out of their way , I had an employee at the gift shop who was so helpful in finding medication for a cold-maid service was wonderful twice a day. The Ritz is well worth the price. Highly recommend , and we hope to return.

Room Tip: spend the extra money for consierge level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed on the "club" side for 5 days and just left. It's expensive, but the views are breathtaking. The service overall was good but, if you stay on the club side ask for Todd the beach server. He gave us advice on where to go all over the island, and had great suggestions for St. John. We pretty much did exactly what he said and he was right about absolutely everything! In addition to the advice he is an excellent server, he was prompt, always smiling and making us laugh, and it was a joy to see him every morning we were there. Kudos to the Ritz for hiring such a fun and great worker, we will be back and hope Todd is still there!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

rooms not particularly different than a Hampton Inn, but hampton inn is not $750/nite.
never saw my "personal valet" again....service around the pool was terrible, surly servers looked like they preferred not to be at work....gift shop closed for "inventory" in the middle of the week-- they couldn't wait until a slower day, or over night? I usually do not stay at high end hotels...now I know I have not been missing much. Grounds were nice, and view was nice, but worthy of a 3 star hotel, not a 5 star. who gives out these stars anyway??? I would not return there; I do not recommend.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to have a nice view. Bathroom is large; could have had a tub and shower; only had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Overall, I really cannot complain much about the resort. Annoyances were minor to a degree. But some may find them more than minor.The workers there are very, very nice. Everyone of them will greet you each and every time they see you. The grounds are exceptional. The rooms themselves, could use some updating. In fact they are very outdated. AC in our room worked in the bedroom area but not in the bathroom area. There are no bathroom counter tops to lay out your stuff. Bathroom has an old tub/shower combo in it. Shower curtain was not a new style and looked outdated. There is a 35" or so flat screen tv in the bedroom but some channels did not come in well. I personally did not find the bed comfortable and it was quite squeaky. Maid service..well it was quick. Didn't find the floors to be swept daily and the tub was not cleaned while we were there. Service in the restaurants was very slow. However, the food was excellent.Spa services were ok, I have been to better. Tranquility room wasn't very tranquil. You could hear people up and down the halls talking loudly. No complaints there. Overall, nice place. Just didn't seem to be a Ritz-Carlton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
@thelake
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz for 5 days in April and it was ok. I'm not a snob and the Ritz is not where I usually stay, but I was expecting more luxury, especially for the price. I read the other reviews, and while this place is nice, it just didn't seem up to Ritz standard. My opinion, this resort fits more with the Marriotts, which are nice in their own rights, and more affordable.
We stayed in Begonia, level 2. Can't say if it had been updated or not, as I didn't see any other rooms to compare it to. The room was nice, beds were comfy and pillows were great. Room has a coffee maker, fridge, safe, and blackout curtains. One oddity was the bathroom. Although very nice with 2 sinks and plenty of room, it did not have a door on it. The toilet was in a separate room with shutters on the door, but the bathroom just had an open hallway, and neither situation provided much privacy. Might be ok if it's you and your spouse, but not so much for friends. The balcony was nice and had room for a lounge plus a table and 2 chairs.
They offer rum punch when you first arrive, and also sometimes when you return your car to the valet, which was nice. As most everyone has already said, food and drinks are expensive. $14 for a drink at the pool bar, burgers are $20. It seems like people get up early and throw a towel on the chairs around the pool, so even at the end of the day it was hard to get a lounge around the pool. Pool was beautiful and they also provide floaties for the pool.
Housekeeping and valet service was great. Nice to get a golf cart ride to your room at nighttime, since some rooms are a distance from the lobby. The snorkel gear was good quality and it was fun to get a kayak and go around to the right (when facing the ocean) of the hotel to snorkel.
This resort is over 1/2 hour drive from downtown Charlotte Amalie, which may be a benefit for some, but it was a bit of a drag for me. We had a car and were able to drive to nearby Red Hook for dinner, which made things more affordable and lively. But the drive into town limited our dinner choices, as the roads are narrow and difficult to navigate at night.
Overall, this is a nice resort, but if I came back, I would stay at one of the Marriotts or better yet, stay on St John, which was very beautiful and had better beaches.

Room Tip: Three story buildings, no elevator, A is closest to hotel lobby, 2nd floor is ground level from stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochecton, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I have traveled all over the Islands and without a doubt, the staff at the Ritz-Carlton in St. Thomas is the friendliest and most professional we've seen. They deserve recognition for making our holiday wonderful. The hotel is beautifully situated and the beaches and pools are first rate.
Daniel and Monica greeted us warmly when we arrived. Melissa was great at the front desk. Elgitha and Daniel, at the Concierge desk were outstanding. At the restaurants, Samir Dhir, Marie, Ermine, Shirley, Candace, Mary Kate, Melanie, Juliette, Lorenz , Amber, Clarissa, Chansie and Chief Andrew were beyond accommodating. But the biggest prize would go to the pool and beach crew...Michael, Cassidy, Lee, Heidi and the best of the best, Todd, who knew exactly what we wanted everyday.
Thank you Ritz-Carlton...you know how to hire an incredible staff!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.