We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was exactly what you expect from the Ritz! The property was beautiful and the service was top notch. I saw a few reviews on here that said it wsn't "Ritz" quality which made me nervous, but the first hour of my trip put me at ease. The pool was fantasic, the staff super friendly and the atmosphere was so relaxing. The spa was jsut as good! If you happen to go, Jill has MAGIC hands and Michelle really got my muscles loose. I HIGHLY reccomend this property!! There's no question that we will be going here again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    298
    129
    73
    40
See reviews for
302
533
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I heard stories that this property was dated. I simply did not see it. The pool is awesome, the rooms are definitely up to Ritz standards, and the service was terrific. The food is expensive even for a Ritz resort but it was excellent. I want to specifically commend Shirley and Santa who made two dinners at the one restaurant even better. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is considering staying in st thomas. It is not cheap, but the staff does a great job in making you and your family enjoy this beautiful resort more. One last thing I know they do not call it kids club anymore but the staff in there was sensational with my five year old.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

All in all this is a tired resort that needs to be renovated. My sense is that there are some rooms that are newer than others. If you can figure out which ones, may be worth a visit? Beach area is very small and people are all on top of one another. Views are beautiful, but I couldn't help looking at St. John's across the way a bit and wishing I was there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here one night prior to going to The Marriott (Dump) for the other nights. We arrived around 2:45 and were told our room was not ready. Front desk said the would text us when our room was ready. We changed and went to the beach. Nothing like paying a lot of money or a resort , get to the beach to be told we do not have anymore chairs!,,,,,excuse me?! He said there maybe some at the pool, I said great......go get 2. The beach is very small , no long walks here. Check in is at 4.... It is now after 5 and after traveling all day we were ready to get to our room so we headed up to front desk. We were told our room was ready a long time ago and they texted at 3 pm. We still have never got that text...and I got several that day....simply the girl forgot and then lied. Got to the room and it reeked of mold ....opened the door and turned on the fan and it got better. Good views and the bed was comfortable. Dinner at their best restaurant was good and the service was very good. If I had to pick a place to stay it would be here but we will not return to St. Thomas

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The difference between staying at a Ritz Carlton and other nice hotels in great locations is the service. We were greeted with a welcome drink, and after registering, we were driven to our room by a bell man. The hotel is on a nice piece of property, but the difference is when you go to relax on the beach, a RItz employee puts out fresh towels on the lounge chairs and creates a nice pillow for you.

Nobody goes to a RItz to cut costs, but if you try to stay there in the most inexpensive manner, you probably will not realize what makes staying at a Ritz Carlton soo great. They have a great spa, great bars, nice shops and even a catamaran that will take you sailing to St. John, if you like, but you will pay dearly for these services. If you do not intend to avail yourselves of these kinds of services, you might well consider staying elsewhere. THis place is wonderful, but not cheap!

Room Tip: Take a sunset Catamaran coctail cruise to St John for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Property was beautiful, spread out, but easy easy to get around. The aquatic center had a number of different activities todo on the water. Hobie Cats to sail, one and two man kayaks, paddle boats snorkel equipment all included in the resort fees. Additional paid activites were also available. The 1/2 day snorkel trip to St. John with my 9 yr. old son was the highlight ofthe trip. Only negative comment I can make about this resort is that the food is overpriced and none of the restaurants on the property were outstanding. Take a taxi to Red Hook. Restaurants in nearby Red Hook district are better and less expensive.

Room Tip: Resort view rooms are better value because ocean view rooms are far from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Overall, this property is at best at the level of a good Marriott beachfront hotel. I've stayed at several good Marriott properties, so that's not necessarily bad, but the prices here are Ritz prices, and that's too high. Our room and the rest of the property were clean and the service generally was very good and friendly. However, dining options on-site are extremely limited and very expensive. Fortunately, we had rented a car at the airport (I urge everyone flying into St. Thomas to consider it given the cost of taxis to/from the Ritz) and a couple of days went to Red Hook (a nearby village) for lunch and dinner. Also, the pool and the hotel beach are rather small for a resort hotel. There are several non-motorized watersport options, which our kids enjoyed. There is nothing to do at the hotel in the evening other than having dinner. We stayed for four nights and felt that was plenty at this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.