We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Murrieta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We've stayed at this resort 3 times. Our favorite! The staff is friendly and anticipates your next request without being pompous. We are a beach and water couple. You can walk forever on the beach, and if you get warm you can take a dunk in the sea. Thirsty walk up to the bar. Please don't get me started on THE LADY LINDSEY. Picture this! Quiet cove, clear blue water,floatie. Out of nowhere appears a staff member, wading through the blue water, with a tray of cocktails. My last name is not Trump! But I have died and gone to heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    290
    124
    73
    39
See reviews for
297
504
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

For $1000 per night, the Ritz St Thomas is a big disappointment. We have stayed at many Ritz Carltons and it seems they have no consistency with the brand. The Ritz in Cancun is spectacular, the one in Jamaica is terrible. This one in St. Thomas is perhaps one notch better than the one in Jamaica. The staff are slow to help and grumpy and don't seem happy that you are there. (Caveat: there were a few staff who were very friendly, but this was the exception). Food service is extremely slow. Even getting a juice at breakfast takes forever. It is impossible to get chairs at the pool unless you get up at the crack of dawn. Even when you find chairs it took forever to get staff to help put chair covers on and get towels-- and of course, even then they had minimal level of politeness instead of cheerfulness and welcoming attitude one expects at a Ritz. Food at the restaurants is just ok. The property is run down and could definitely use sprucing up. We ended up leaving the property every day and going to other beaches on St. Thomas and St. John (which was gorgeous, by the way.) If you are looking for something else in this area, I heard the Westin in St John is nice-- we actually tried booking it, but it was full. Unfortunately, on St. Thomas, I have heard from many people, the Ritz is the nicest place you will find--what a disappointment!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Infinity pool sun and the club lounge...it doesn't get better.
The food is just awesome...the settings are bug free and the staff is just unbelievable..they all remember your name and address you appropriately every time ...
this is the place to stay on st thomas

Room Tip: book the club lounge with your room.... every pool is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Ritz Carlton St. Thomas is a relaxing place to enjoy beach life, and arguably the nicest resort on St. Thomas. If you’re paying for the Ritz, your expectations are already pretty high and for the most part this Ritz delivers.

The Setting: The Ritz is located on the opposite end of the island from the airport, so expect a 30-40 minute cab ride to get there. The resort grounds are gorgeous: the whole place is arranged in a horseshoe with the pool, restaurant, and the beach in the middle. The flowers/vegetation around the complex are impressive and the resort is fairly expansive between the hotel resort and the residence club. The pool is impressive, but not huge and can get crowded quickly. The beach is less crowded and nice, but not the most impressive beach I have ever seen.

The Rooms: One of the few disappointments, but only if you compare to other Ritz Carlton standards. Based on the design/layout of the rooms, I’m guessing that the resort was not originally designed as a Ritz Carlton. While certainly not bad, they don’t seem to carry the same level of amenities and quality as other Ritz Carlton locations around the world. The bedding is very nice, but the flooring/furniture/lighting seems more suited to a mid-level luxury resort.

The Service: The highlight of the resort. If they miss in the rooms, they make it up in the service. Everywhere you go in the resort, the staff is some of the nicest I have encountered. Everyone offers warm friendly smiles and goes the extra mile to learn you name and remember it every time they see you.

The Restaurants: All the food options are very good, but after awhile you start to feel they are also limited. Bluewater is the main restaurant serving breakfast and dinner. Everything tastes great with awesome presentation, but the menu only offers a few selections that do not seem to change during the week. Sails is the pool restaurant serving lunch and snacks. Same story: good food, but limited menu that never seems to change. Coconut Grove is another lunch place that seems to offer about the same items as Sails with some more Caribbean twist. Finally, Great Bay Lounge serves a few less expensive dinner options along with a sushi bar and seems closer to fancy bar food. You will not go wrong with any of these locations, but 2 options for lunch and really 2 for dinner you may get bored with them depending on the length of your stay.

Overall: The Ritz Carlton St. Thomas truly is a fantastic resort, in need of some slight upgrades to their rooms to match the rest of the standards of the resort. The island is an easy, laid-back escape, and the Ritz gives excellent service on top of that experience.

A few tips about staying here:

1) There is a 2nd pool located near the Ritz Carlton Timeshare Residences that seems less crowded. The main resort pool can get very crowded by mid-day, so it’s nice to escape to a quieter pool that most people don’t seem to know that you can use.

2) Water sports and equipment at the resort are free and a great opportunity to enjoy the beach/water.

3) There is not much of a night-life at the resort, and the only bar open after 7pm is the Great Bay Lounge which seems very tame and quiet. If you do get bored of the restaurant/bar options, Red Hook is a small shopping/restaurant/bar area about a $10 cab ride away that is extremely fun to visit.

4) The hotel lobby area offers free beverages during most times of the day.

5) Charolette Amalie is the main city area on St. Thomas, and about a 30 min drive from the resort. Some may say it's charming, I'd call it tourist trap. Avoid going there when the cruise ships come in (which ends up being most of the days of the week).

6) You can see St. John across the bay from the resort. It's about a 20 minute ferry ride, and definitely worth it to check out. St. John is a less developed, more natural island that has better views and beaches.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

When we arrived I was surprised by the "outdated" buildings. The rooms were nice and the people were friendly. We stayed on the club level and enjoyed the benefits of snacks and breakfast. Although not the the super high end feeling of a Ritz Carlton it didn't disappoint. The New Years festivities were just average. The water sports were plentiful....so this is perfect for kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been to this property three times over the past 10 years. We are here now for spring break and it is really sad how badly the service has deteriorated. The first night, we had a terrible dinner at the cocunut grove restaurant where our servier basically ignored us. We went back to our room for dessert hoping it would be faster. Chocolate chip cookies and a browine took an hour and 15 minutes after ther told us 30 minutes. The following morning, housekeeping never reset the alarm clocks so it went of at 5 am- our kids were crying and my wife and I never could get back to sleep. Second day, turn down service came at 10 pm after calling three times. Ther is no manager on duty on spring break with the hotel full- I spoke to the "loss prevention manager" who was the only superviosr on duty! I told them him that I would keep posting negative reivews for every day we suffer. We are paying $1700 a night for this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Awesome vacation! Great snorkeling, scuba, paddleboard, spa and beaches! Created a Halloween trick or treating event for the children at the Ritz. Candy was given at different areas of the resort and ended in "Monster House" movie on the beach with popcorn and drinks along adult beverages for the adults. Service was outstanding and we became quite accustomed to lifting the flag on our beach chairs. The water was crystal clear and sea life abundant. Weather was outstanding and hurricane Sandy did not effect the beaches surrounding us. Beautiful resort with outstanding accommodations. Definitely will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.