We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need to know: Ritz Carlton St. Thomas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in St. Thomas
Boston, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Everything you need to know: Ritz Carlton St. Thomas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Ritz Carlton St. Thomas is a relaxing place to enjoy beach life, and arguably the nicest resort on St. Thomas. If you’re paying for the Ritz, your expectations are already pretty high and for the most part this Ritz delivers.

The Setting: The Ritz is located on the opposite end of the island from the airport, so expect a 30-40 minute cab ride to get there. The resort grounds are gorgeous: the whole place is arranged in a horseshoe with the pool, restaurant, and the beach in the middle. The flowers/vegetation around the complex are impressive and the resort is fairly expansive between the hotel resort and the residence club. The pool is impressive, but not huge and can get crowded quickly. The beach is less crowded and nice, but not the most impressive beach I have ever seen.

The Rooms: One of the few disappointments, but only if you compare to other Ritz Carlton standards. Based on the design/layout of the rooms, I’m guessing that the resort was not originally designed as a Ritz Carlton. While certainly not bad, they don’t seem to carry the same level of amenities and quality as other Ritz Carlton locations around the world. The bedding is very nice, but the flooring/furniture/lighting seems more suited to a mid-level luxury resort.

The Service: The highlight of the resort. If they miss in the rooms, they make it up in the service. Everywhere you go in the resort, the staff is some of the nicest I have encountered. Everyone offers warm friendly smiles and goes the extra mile to learn you name and remember it every time they see you.

The Restaurants: All the food options are very good, but after awhile you start to feel they are also limited. Bluewater is the main restaurant serving breakfast and dinner. Everything tastes great with awesome presentation, but the menu only offers a few selections that do not seem to change during the week. Sails is the pool restaurant serving lunch and snacks. Same story: good food, but limited menu that never seems to change. Coconut Grove is another lunch place that seems to offer about the same items as Sails with some more Caribbean twist. Finally, Great Bay Lounge serves a few less expensive dinner options along with a sushi bar and seems closer to fancy bar food. You will not go wrong with any of these locations, but 2 options for lunch and really 2 for dinner you may get bored with them depending on the length of your stay.

Overall: The Ritz Carlton St. Thomas truly is a fantastic resort, in need of some slight upgrades to their rooms to match the rest of the standards of the resort. The island is an easy, laid-back escape, and the Ritz gives excellent service on top of that experience.

A few tips about staying here:

1) There is a 2nd pool located near the Ritz Carlton Timeshare Residences that seems less crowded. The main resort pool can get very crowded by mid-day, so it’s nice to escape to a quieter pool that most people don’t seem to know that you can use.

2) Water sports and equipment at the resort are free and a great opportunity to enjoy the beach/water.

3) There is not much of a night-life at the resort, and the only bar open after 7pm is the Great Bay Lounge which seems very tame and quiet. If you do get bored of the restaurant/bar options, Red Hook is a small shopping/restaurant/bar area about a $10 cab ride away that is extremely fun to visit.

4) The hotel lobby area offers free beverages during most times of the day.

5) Charolette Amalie is the main city area on St. Thomas, and about a 30 min drive from the resort. Some may say it's charming, I'd call it tourist trap. Avoid going there when the cruise ships come in (which ends up being most of the days of the week).

6) You can see St. John across the bay from the resort. It's about a 20 minute ferry ride, and definitely worth it to check out. St. John is a less developed, more natural island that has better views and beaches.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    286
    122
    72
    39
See reviews for
282
494
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

When we arrived I was surprised by the "outdated" buildings. The rooms were nice and the people were friendly. We stayed on the club level and enjoyed the benefits of snacks and breakfast. Although not the the super high end feeling of a Ritz Carlton it didn't disappoint. The New Years festivities were just average. The water sports were plentiful....so this is perfect for kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been to this property three times over the past 10 years. We are here now for spring break and it is really sad how badly the service has deteriorated. The first night, we had a terrible dinner at the cocunut grove restaurant where our servier basically ignored us. We went back to our room for dessert hoping it would be faster. Chocolate chip cookies and a browine took an hour and 15 minutes after ther told us 30 minutes. The following morning, housekeeping never reset the alarm clocks so it went of at 5 am- our kids were crying and my wife and I never could get back to sleep. Second day, turn down service came at 10 pm after calling three times. Ther is no manager on duty on spring break with the hotel full- I spoke to the "loss prevention manager" who was the only superviosr on duty! I told them him that I would keep posting negative reivews for every day we suffer. We are paying $1700 a night for this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Awesome vacation! Great snorkeling, scuba, paddleboard, spa and beaches! Created a Halloween trick or treating event for the children at the Ritz. Candy was given at different areas of the resort and ended in "Monster House" movie on the beach with popcorn and drinks along adult beverages for the adults. Service was outstanding and we became quite accustomed to lifting the flag on our beach chairs. The water was crystal clear and sea life abundant. Weather was outstanding and hurricane Sandy did not effect the beaches surrounding us. Beautiful resort with outstanding accommodations. Definitely will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We did not spend the night at the Ritz but were in a wedding that took place here. The staff were all amazing. Ever person we encountered was eager to assist us and take us to where we were going. The hotel has clearly hired those truly interested in customer service from the valet to the wedding planning group.
However, after seeing the rooms and facilities, I do not think it is worth the price. The rooms were nice but nothing out of the ordinary. The dining areas were well kept but could use a face-lift. The beach was rocky and a little rough at the back of the bay although picturesque.
Red Hook was nearby (about 10 minutes) but the Ritz is about 30 minutes from Charlotte-Amalie and 40 minutes to the airport making it quite a commitment to leave the resort. However, it is very close to the ferry to St. John.
Additionally, the food and drinks at the Ritz were extremely expensive. Our breakfast was cold and bland and our lunch mediocre at best. We had far better meals in Charlottle-Amalie for the same price.
Overall, the Ritz was nice. But I wouldn't stay here considering the rate is more than double that of any other hotel we looked at in St. Thomas. The amenities simply don't line up with the cost.

Room Tip: Do not pick building F - it is a very long walk from the main lobby. Try to get a room in A, B, or C
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 5 nights at the Ritz. We had a wonderful time. The Ritz property is well-maintained and beautiful. Here are the cons and pros:

Pros: Beautiful pool, Beach is nice and has a great view of St. Johns, Resort is away from the cruise ship hustle/bustle, great (but expensive) cocktails, very nice hotel gym, comfy beds, spacious rooms with nice decks.

Cons: there were kids everywhere and they pretty much took over the pool -- my husband and I didn't care, but if someone is looking for a kids-free vacation, this is not the place; there is no coffee/bagel bar for breakfast - you are forced to eat at the restaurant. My husband and I don't like such a big breakfast, so we ended up stocking up on yogurts at the nearby market. Lunch was very overpriced and just fair - I got a salad and there were only about 4 leaves of lettuce. We thought Sangrias (which is walkable) was better for lunch (and breakfast) and walkable from the RItz.

All in all - we would definitely return. The island is a delight. We would likely bring our kids next time!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked a last min getaway to St. Thomas and stayed at the Ritz. Decided to book a club level room and thought it was worth the extra money.

The arrival
Our pvt transfer was late..took us about 1 hour from STT to the resort. Once we arrived everything else was taken care of for us. Arrived a little before 4pm and room wasn't ready. Was taken to the club lounge to wait and explained how the club worked.
Room
Big, Two bathrooms (one with tub and shower the other one just with shower), living are space, with table to eat at. 2 tvs, 2 balconies. Clean, not over the top glamourous but the space worked well.
Club level, breakfast, snacks all day, canapé in the evening and drinks until 10pm. Carl, Katherine and everyone there went above and beyond.
Beach was small but nice.
Food just ok, a bit salty for my palate.
Spa was wonderful.
Gym small but new equipment and enough treadmills, etc for everyone
Def would recommend the Lady Lynsey sail tour.
The free wifii worked great throughout our room, club, beach, etc.
Overall, really enjoyed the stay. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The property was gorgeous. Book the club level, it was worth it!!
Will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.