We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in St. Thomas
New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 5 nights at the Ritz. We had a wonderful time. The Ritz property is well-maintained and beautiful. Here are the cons and pros:

Pros: Beautiful pool, Beach is nice and has a great view of St. Johns, Resort is away from the cruise ship hustle/bustle, great (but expensive) cocktails, very nice hotel gym, comfy beds, spacious rooms with nice decks.

Cons: there were kids everywhere and they pretty much took over the pool -- my husband and I didn't care, but if someone is looking for a kids-free vacation, this is not the place; there is no coffee/bagel bar for breakfast - you are forced to eat at the restaurant. My husband and I don't like such a big breakfast, so we ended up stocking up on yogurts at the nearby market. Lunch was very overpriced and just fair - I got a salad and there were only about 4 leaves of lettuce. We thought Sangrias (which is walkable) was better for lunch (and breakfast) and walkable from the RItz.

All in all - we would definitely return. The island is a delight. We would likely bring our kids next time!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    614
    283
    120
    72
    37
See reviews for
269
486
16
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked a last min getaway to St. Thomas and stayed at the Ritz. Decided to book a club level room and thought it was worth the extra money.

The arrival
Our pvt transfer was late..took us about 1 hour from STT to the resort. Once we arrived everything else was taken care of for us. Arrived a little before 4pm and room wasn't ready. Was taken to the club lounge to wait and explained how the club worked.
Room
Big, Two bathrooms (one with tub and shower the other one just with shower), living are space, with table to eat at. 2 tvs, 2 balconies. Clean, not over the top glamourous but the space worked well.
Club level, breakfast, snacks all day, canapé in the evening and drinks until 10pm. Carl, Katherine and everyone there went above and beyond.
Beach was small but nice.
Food just ok, a bit salty for my palate.
Spa was wonderful.
Gym small but new equipment and enough treadmills, etc for everyone
Def would recommend the Lady Lynsey sail tour.
The free wifii worked great throughout our room, club, beach, etc.
Overall, really enjoyed the stay. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The property was gorgeous. Book the club level, it was worth it!!
Will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

It is an expensive stay but the excellent, and superior service makes it the best. This was my first stay on the island, I would stay here again! Go on the Lady Lyndsey. The crew is uber professional. The resort fee includes equipment use (including windsurfers, snorkle equiptment etc. Food is good. Great memories are made here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the RC for business. The hotel is located on the East end of the Island, a bit far from downtown where my meetings occurred.

I chose to rent a car. The hotel is a bit difficult to find. Siri couldn't find it and I forgot to get a GPS at the rental car company. With the assistance of several friendly St. Thomas residents, I finally located the hotel after wandering about for over an hour. Lesson: don't be me, get clear directions from the airport or get a GPS. The hotel is located on a very winding road and the turn off onto rt 322 is hard to see, as the roads are not well lit.

When I arrived, I was greeted warmly by the staff and given a rum punch. I felt if earned the rum punch after the driving ordeal. Valet parking is complementary and a bellman takes you via golf cart to your room.

The resort is quite large. I stayed in the Begonia building which is the closest building to the lobby -- a very easy walk. I believe this building is three floors and there is no elevator. If you have problems walking distances (or simply do not like walking), alert the staff and I'm sure they will accommodate you. Plus, they will send a golf cart to pick you up and transport you to the lobby.

My room was simply beautiful. There was a nice patio overlooking the resort and the room was very large. The room was also extremely quiet -- I could scarcely hear passersby.
One day, I returned to the room and it had not been serviced and my privacy tag was on the door. I did not put the privacy tag on the door. I alerted the front desk and they immediately sent a staff person. I'm not sure how this all happened, but it was immediately remedied, so I was happy.

I ate most meals at the casual dining restaurant. As stated in other reviews, the restaurants are expensive. I found the prices to be typical of the other higher-end restaurants on the island. The sushi was tasty and the restaurant staff, very attentive. As I was traveling alone, I ate in the bar area most nights. My server brought me a selection of magazines, in case I wanted some reading material. Very thoughtful.
I ordered room service on one night. The meal arrived in an adorable wicker basket and I had dinner on my patio. Very nice.
Overall, I really enjoyed my stay. I cannot say enough good things about the support staff. They really made the difference b

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I escaped to the Ritz in St. Thomas for four days with another couple for her 40th birthday in February. Upon arrival we were met with smiling faces and a tall rum punch. While checking in, I explained it was my wife's birthday and inquired about upgrades. For a reasonable fee we were upgraded from a standard room to an Ocean Front Suite on the fifth floor above the Club Lounge -- living room, dining room, two full baths (including a tub I swam laps in), and a double balcony with sweeping ocean views. Amazing room! And, since we were now in a suite, for a few extra bucks we got access to The Club Level for our entire stay, which is an absolute steal! Open bar from 7 am until 10 pm and five food presentations per day. The only catch is you have to walk about 100 yards from the pool or beach and up a long flight of stairs to grab your unlimited cocktails and eats. It wasn't a problem for us, as we are both in good shape. The staff in The Club Lounge was wonderful and graciously met all of our requests. If we didn't see something we wanted we just asked for it. My wife was in heaven, so, mission accomplished! The Ritz is not inexpensive, but what do you expect? In my opinion, you certainly get what you pay for. We look forward to returning here again in the future.

Room Tip: Book a standard room and hope there's a Club Level Suite available for upgrade when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton Residences in St Thomas this past summer on a family vacation. Everything was amazing. All the staff is very nice and helpful. The accomodations were unbeleivable--huge rooms, amazing views, awesome pools, hot tubs, beaches etc! There were several palces to eat on the resot as well, and all the food was good, expensive, but that's too be expected on an island vacation. The beaches are lined with cushioned, canopied lounge chairs, there are hammocks among the beautiful trailing trees, and waiters will bring drinks right to your beach chair. The residence inns have access to all the hotel amenities as well,which included a great fitness center, a sps (where I had an unbelievable massage), a couple of shops, and restaurants and pools, and water sport activities (ie paddle boarding). It was just a short cab ride (these are also expensive fyi) to the town where you could go to the flea markets and shops). The hotel arranges anything you need them to--again very helpful. They also rent out board games and dvds if you ahve kids to entertain. It was truly paradise. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Ritz St Thomas is pretty much the only game in town if you want upscale hotel with a primo beach. Having said that, it's certainly not perfect, starting to show it's age somewhat, but it's far nicer than anything else on the island. Realize that it's pretty remote, 1/2 hour away by cab from just about anything. Staff were great, other guests a bit snooty, and the prices are though the roof. But hey, it's the Caribbean...this property would be ranked lower in other parts of the world but you have to remember things don't operate quite the same on some of these Islands. To be honest, it's a bit of an enigma, and I'm not quite sure how to rank the Ritz St. Thomas. The beach experience is fantastic and the rooms are generally pretty nice - just feel a bit shafted when reviewing the bill upon checkout.....but..... we'll probably be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Thomas
Quiet, Beach, B...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
5.2 mi away
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
4.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.