We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weather, water and relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Tingo.com
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in St. Thomas
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great weather, water and relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our first time to St. Thomas and it was memorable from the moment we got into our taxi. It was a Wednesday which is the biggest Cruise ship day so traffic was heavy but the ride from the airport to the hotel was just a bit too much, especially for my wife who gets motion sickness easy. We took back roads, alleys and hair pin curves up the mountain and then back down, tailgating the entire way the person in front of us and the person behind us did the same. But I learned that is how they drive here. The Ritz property was in very good shape but overall the resort doesn't seem to have the same feel that other 5 star hotels have. Maybe it is just older...not really sure. The staff was exceptional and go out of there way to help you and learn who you are. The food was above average but not as great as you might expect. The water activities are really good plus the bay is perfect for kids to swim. We also took a catamaran from St. Johns Island called KEKOA....Jamison is the captain and he built the boat by hand...interesting stories and I would highly recommend his day trip of snokeling, Foxy BBQ for lunch and a nice stop at Soggy Dollar for some "Painkillers".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    584
    263
    112
    71
    37
See reviews for
250
457
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

After reading some previous reviews, I was nervous about our vacation. We spent 5 nights at the Ritz Carlton Club level and found it to be worth the price. The Club Level staff were exceptional and took the time to get to know my children. Shirley, Carl, Jake, Urene and Catherine were great. The aquatics staff at Island Sol were attentive and watercraft were easily available. My kids had a windsurfing lesson from Nate at Island Sol and found him knowledgable and good at teaching kids.

We also took the opportunity to go out on the Lady Lynsey and found the crew to be engaging, professional and attentive. The Patagon Dive shop on site was exceptional and perfect for beginning and experienced divers.

We had a leak in our ceiling the first night and the hotel offered several times to move our room but we were all set. Bring a lot of sunscreen, the sun is stronger than you think!

Room Tip: Ocean view club level is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton in St. Thomas lives up to the Ritz-Carlton reputation. At the far east end of St. Thomas with views across the water to St. Johns, the Ritz-Carlton is secluded and private. We had a large room and bath room with a good sized balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. The service was excellent, everyone was very friendly. The service on the beach was particularly good. We never had a problem getting the lounge chairs on the beach that we wanted, something that can be a problem at other resorts. The food in the restaurant Bluwater was very good and the outdoor dining romantic for Valentine's Day. If you want to shopping in Charlotte Amalie, it is a long and expensive two way cab ride. Beware that having Marriott Platinum Elite status does not get you access to the Ritz-Carlton club, a $200/day up charge.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a club room if you want access to the Club Lounge. Otherwise, all rooms have ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The good: beautiful views and lush, tropical landscaping. The Blue Water was the highlight of the trip with a scenic view and wonderful wait staff. The employees at this resort were al engaging and helpful, friendly and energetic. We had two massages, both at the seaside cabana, which were in my top 5 massages of all time.
The bad: room was a decent size but not great for the money paid. The mattress and pillows felt like they were filled with corn husks. Not a good nights sleep for either of us the entire trip. These are truly sub par for RC property.
Club Level: do not waste your money unless you have a large group. For us (couple) we would have had better food and paid less money. Just not worth it unless you drink heavily and are willing to make the hike from the pool to the club.

Room Tip: Every room looks like a good view. We stayed in Freesia on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We love this resort, and even more after being welcomed to the club level. Although the quality of the room was the same, we were provided extra amenities at the club lounge. The hotel continues with its high quality, which is exemplified by the positive attitudes of each of the guests ervice staff members. Every guest need is fulfilled quickly and pleasantly. As before, our dining experiences were outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been to St. Thomas 4-5 times over the years and each time we stay at a new resort. Our last trip we decided to go for the best on the island and we were NOT let down. The resort itself is everything you'd expect from a big name like The Ritz, but so were the prices! Food was excellent everywhere we ate, service was always top notch and location was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Ritz is located on the east end of St Thomas, which for us is ideal because its so close to the Red Hook ferry over to St John or Tortola, the awesome beaches on the east - Koki, Landquest, and Sapphire, and the restaurants and bars in Red Hook. From the time you enter the gates to your walk around the property everything is pretty. The service by the pool and beach are great and the water toys are plentiful and well maintained. Beautiful bay to take a hobbie out. They have their own nice catamarans and it's easy to get spoiled. Little expensive on the restaurants (not sure if the $ meets the value), plus the menu is more americanized and no real local flavors. But most people won't know or miss it and it's probably best to get the local foods from the locals. Of the servers and valets - a couple call outs for Lorenz at the pool bar - love her. Total local and makes you feel appreciated and welcomed. Kash, who works at the bell stand/valet is a great welcoming character too. He makes you feel like you're coming home. So with good people like that, you feel welcomed. With that said, you can tell management is not really engaged with the guests - at least it feels that way. But the whole experience is a large step up from the Marriott property down in the middle of the island over near Charlotte Amalie. Bottom line: we had a great time and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton St Thomas
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas
Ritz St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
St. Thomas Ritz
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list