We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, not so fabulous food....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, not so fabulous food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The good: beautiful views and lush, tropical landscaping. The Blue Water was the highlight of the trip with a scenic view and wonderful wait staff. The employees at this resort were al engaging and helpful, friendly and energetic. We had two massages, both at the seaside cabana, which were in my top 5 massages of all time.
The bad: room was a decent size but not great for the money paid. The mattress and pillows felt like they were filled with corn husks. Not a good nights sleep for either of us the entire trip. These are truly sub par for RC property.
Club Level: do not waste your money unless you have a large group. For us (couple) we would have had better food and paid less money. Just not worth it unless you drink heavily and are willing to make the hike from the pool to the club.

Room Tip: Every room looks like a good view. We stayed in Freesia on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    299
    129
    73
    40
See reviews for
302
535
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We love this resort, and even more after being welcomed to the club level. Although the quality of the room was the same, we were provided extra amenities at the club lounge. The hotel continues with its high quality, which is exemplified by the positive attitudes of each of the guests ervice staff members. Every guest need is fulfilled quickly and pleasantly. As before, our dining experiences were outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been to St. Thomas 4-5 times over the years and each time we stay at a new resort. Our last trip we decided to go for the best on the island and we were NOT let down. The resort itself is everything you'd expect from a big name like The Ritz, but so were the prices! Food was excellent everywhere we ate, service was always top notch and location was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Ritz is located on the east end of St Thomas, which for us is ideal because its so close to the Red Hook ferry over to St John or Tortola, the awesome beaches on the east - Koki, Landquest, and Sapphire, and the restaurants and bars in Red Hook. From the time you enter the gates to your walk around the property everything is pretty. The service by the pool and beach are great and the water toys are plentiful and well maintained. Beautiful bay to take a hobbie out. They have their own nice catamarans and it's easy to get spoiled. Little expensive on the restaurants (not sure if the $ meets the value), plus the menu is more americanized and no real local flavors. But most people won't know or miss it and it's probably best to get the local foods from the locals. Of the servers and valets - a couple call outs for Lorenz at the pool bar - love her. Total local and makes you feel appreciated and welcomed. Kash, who works at the bell stand/valet is a great welcoming character too. He makes you feel like you're coming home. So with good people like that, you feel welcomed. With that said, you can tell management is not really engaged with the guests - at least it feels that way. But the whole experience is a large step up from the Marriott property down in the middle of the island over near Charlotte Amalie. Bottom line: we had a great time and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for over a week during february, great location and experience ! The room was very nice, clean, spacious, comfy bed and a excellent view over the great bay.
We had acces to the club level and the food and berverages there were very good also the staff were so helpful, we really enjoy our stay there for our honeymoon.
There is a beautiful private beach with a great view, also the infinity pool is very nice.
The restaurants are very good, excellent service and plenty of choices. The sushi was a great suprise, one of the best i've ever tried.

If you visit the Ritz on St Thomas you must go on the Lady Linsey, the hotel private catamaran, to visit St John or do some snorkeling.

The hotel is close to red hook (the ferry dock to St John) you can share a taxi for USD$5 per person to go there, and fron there move around the island on safari bus or travel to St John or Tortola.

Definitely we want to go back !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLTS NECK, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located on the East End of the island only 5 minutes from the ferry to St John. Service, cleanliness, meticulous is the operative word about this hotel. The staff is the best you will find anywhere. The food is great, views even better. The best Mai Tai's on STT. Other hotels are rough around the edges at best, neglected for the most part. The Ritz also has its fractional ownership condos downbeach from the hotel. The owners have the best of both worlds there, private residence and hotel amenities. We go every year. Their huge catamaran sails to the British Virgin Islands, St John and sunset or snorkel sails. ITS THE PLACE TO GO.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

From check-in to check-out, Our experience was excellent. The services and the staff were uncommonly helpful and pleasant, which is not always the case in the USVI. The food and service at the restaurants was excellent, but not inexpensive. The setting is perfect with a ton of great water activities including sailing, snorkeling, and windsurfing. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.