We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were misinformed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Johnson city, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We were misinformed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked our reservation here with great hesitation based on previous reviews of food and service at this hotel. We feel a lot of the previous reviews were misinforming. I am very happy to report we feel this hotel has received some harsh undeserved reviews. I travel on business close to 80 nights a year and stay at RC hotels whenever possible. I feel I have a good vantage point on what the RC experience is. Lets start with:

Food- The food on property does not differ from other RC resorts. We ate at all of the restaurants. BlueWater was very romantic and the food was superb. Expensive? Not actually considering dinner here is on par with other RC hotels fine dining venues. Sails had excellent fish tacos and was perfect for dining when at the pool or beach. Room Service was fast and efficient. We also stayed on club level and found everything to be outstanding. Jake in the club lounge went over and above for any request we made. He must have graduated with honors from Ritz training, it showed in his attitude and spirit of service!

Rooms- Very Clean and the housekeeping staff did a superb job. The rooms have a beachy feel which differs from most RC properties so they are different so don't expect plush but do expect clean and comfortable.

Service- Jenna the front desk manager is one of the best front of house managers I have seen in a hotel period. She helped us with a reservation issue , took full control, owned the issue and resolved it. The club lounge staff was superb and if we needed items they never hesitated to get things done for us. Housekeeping came twice a day like clockwork and made certain we had everything we had ask for.

The resort- Likely the best views in St Thomas, the beach was excellent and their equipment was very nice and in good condition. The proximity of the rooms to the main hotel can be quite a walk so we used the complimentary rides on the golf carts. We simply called guest services and ask to be picked up, never waited more than two minutes. Take my advice use the service it works well.

The Spa- We had several services here. It would be great to see a wider variety of services than what was offered. Our service treatments were nice and the facility was good.

Red Hook was a perfect town and had some great restaurants like Carribean Fish Market, Sunset Griile and CoCo Blue.

Overall this resort was one of the best we have ever stayed at and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    287
    123
    72
    39
See reviews for
288
501
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Habe stayed many times at the Ritz in St. Thomas.
This resort is breezy and has the most beautiful views on the island. There are a variety of activities available for guests and the private beach area is superb. Also, a large infinity pool with a large deck with plenty of chairs. Superb pool side food and drink service. Many beach activities available as the beach is just 20 yards from the pool.

Excellent restaurant for dinners with an Asian influenced menu. Great food.
This resort is on the east end of the island which is by far the most desirable area to be. There is a downtown (Charlotte Amalie) market that is worthwhile and several local shops. Also some high end shopping at Havensight which is the port of call for cruise ships.

A day trip to St. John is always an option. Many shuttles operate daily from the red hook area which is near this hotel. St. John is a smaller, more intimate / less crowded version of St. Thomas. Worthwhile for one day if you're on an extended trip. I recommend trunk bay as a St. John beach destination. Red Hook is also the place to go if you want to charter a boat or do some fishing. A few shops and restaurants in this area too.

Will return to this property. However.....prefer St. Maarten to St. Thomas but both are worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We've been coming down every year and stayed all over the island. The ritz has been by far the best! Extremely friendly service, we've never experienced that any where else. We've always felt we were bothering employees at other hotels. At the ritz, thy are eager to help with out expectations. It's very refreshing. The restaurants on site are very delicious as well. Not the case usually. An employee that has been wonderful for us is Shirley. She is hostess at the Great Bay Lounge. By far the most friendly person. She has made us want to stay on site for dinner. That is not what we usually want to do. The ritz is worth it!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

can not fault this place or the hotel, every thing was just spot on.
You got to out in to the town on a night to experience the real night life and laid back approach to life.
Great bars great people and great music.

Room Tip: Any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Overall I think this is a nice hotel and is in line with most of the other Ritz properties.

The location is great with a nice private beach on a bay with a beautiful view of St. John's. There are lots of water activities provided by the hotel as part of the standard resort fee - which is very nice. The beach and pool service staff are excellent and you never have to lift a finger if you don't want to.

The pool area is small, but nice. What was very nice is there wasn't the usual rush to reserve chairs before the sun came up as with some resorts. We went out between 8am and 9am each day and there were plenty of chairs to pick from between the pool and beach, and there continued to be throughout the day. The pool is unheated, so can be a little shocking in the morning, but the ocean is plenty warm all day.

There are only a couple restaurant options on property for dinner. They both have great food, but are expensive. We were there only a couple days, so didn't get off property too much - so can't speak to where else to go in the area. We did in room dining one night, which was good, but they forgot a couple items - so a little off on the service.

Overall the rooms are nice. There is free wifi across the whole resort, even the beach, which is very nice not to be charged at a high end resort - seems rare these days. We did have an issue with a lack of hot water at the end of the day each day when we came in from the beach. But it seemed to be fine in the morning and mid-day.

I would give the resort a 5 rating if we hadn't had one issue that took far too long to resolve. We were missing one side of the black out curtains in our room. We informed the front desk the first day and the issue was not resolved until the 3rd day we were there. We had to remind them 3 different times over the next 2 days and it still did not get resolved. Waking up with the sun is nice, but not when I'm on vacation.

Again, overall a very nice hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone. Just a couple isolated issues that I would hope were unique to our stay.

Room Tip: As with most beach resorts, get a high ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We wrapped up our honeymoon in St. Thomas and stayed for a few nights at the Ritz after a debacle with another hotel. We showed up at the Ritz with no reservation and they were so kind from the moment we arrived. They helped us with all our luggage, gave us drinks and told us not to worry about anything. Tokebo at the front desk helped us to make a reservation and he took care of everything for us. It was such a seamless process, we just laid by the quiet pool until our room - overooking the ocean was ready. Tokebo was absolutely incredible and he even helped me get some medicine the same evening from the gift shop that was closed. He was by far the best staff member I encountered during our stay. We could not thank him enough. Allen by the pool was fantastic too, very helpful with getting our chairs set up for the day with towels and very friendly. The snorkeling was great right off the beach and everything was extremely clean - including the room. Breakfast was my favorite part of the day and Bleauwater has a wonderful breakfast display (buffet) and menu options. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just returned from the Ritz St. Thomas on the Ritz Carlton Club side of the property. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which was very well appointed, however towels and toiletries were below standard for the Ritz. The Cove restaurant was the best dining choice at the resort. High end Bleuwater restaurant was marginal but expensive. Great Bay was a step below Red Lobster at hotel prices. The Club lounge was good and the staff were excellent.The club pool is heated and very nice. The hotel pool is NOT heated and was freezing, nobody was swimming on the hotel side of the property.

Now for the problem which could have been addressed much better.

We had requested and confirmed two full-size cribs from the resort, only to find out when we arrive that the resort only has creaky compact cribs suitable for a newborn. I was told that this was the Ritz "brand standard" and that they would be happy to "listen" to me but that it was what it was. I was told that I was welcome to purchase a crib at K-Mart, however. My further requests went nowhere until I made a trip to the hotel lobby and spoke to manager Jenna Fuchs. Jenna was kind and understood the situation, making it a point to either find a full size crib in storage or send one of her staff to buy and assemble one. We ultimately did get what we needed, only thanks to Jenna and after spending the first day and half of my trip trying to get what I was promised to begin with.

While our trip was overall OK, I probably would not return to this property due to the inconvenience and restaurant experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.