We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back from 5 day stay - OK but read carefully” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in St. Thomas
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just back from 5 day stay - OK but read carefully”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just returned from the Ritz St. Thomas on the Ritz Carlton Club side of the property. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which was very well appointed, however towels and toiletries were below standard for the Ritz. The Cove restaurant was the best dining choice at the resort. High end Bleuwater restaurant was marginal but expensive. Great Bay was a step below Red Lobster at hotel prices. The Club lounge was good and the staff were excellent.The club pool is heated and very nice. The hotel pool is NOT heated and was freezing, nobody was swimming on the hotel side of the property.

Now for the problem which could have been addressed much better.

We had requested and confirmed two full-size cribs from the resort, only to find out when we arrive that the resort only has creaky compact cribs suitable for a newborn. I was told that this was the Ritz "brand standard" and that they would be happy to "listen" to me but that it was what it was. I was told that I was welcome to purchase a crib at K-Mart, however. My further requests went nowhere until I made a trip to the hotel lobby and spoke to manager Jenna Fuchs. Jenna was kind and understood the situation, making it a point to either find a full size crib in storage or send one of her staff to buy and assemble one. We ultimately did get what we needed, only thanks to Jenna and after spending the first day and half of my trip trying to get what I was promised to begin with.

While our trip was overall OK, I probably would not return to this property due to the inconvenience and restaurant experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    285
    122
    72
    39
See reviews for
281
494
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here-the second time for us. Without fail, all staff members were friendly and eager to please, offering "My pleasure" instead of "No problem" or nothing at all other places. The pool and views were nice, but the beach is not really for swimming. Pleanty of water sports with a good staff.

Breakfasts (Bluewaters) and lunches (Sails) were very good. We had the noodle bar for dinner at Great Bay Lounge and really enjoyed it-see my separate review.

The rooms are large and bright and the grounds are well maintained. Be aware that the property is hilly and some of the rooms are a distance from the beach, pool or lobby.

The Ritz is a place to go if you want some pampering or want to relax. Look for package deals that offer breakfast and resort credits.

Room Tip: Look at a site map to decide where you want to close to when selecting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I am finishing up a two night stay here. Overall it is a nice hotel to spend a few days and relax. It is not posh or super luxurious but has beautiful views! The hotel is about 30mins from the airport. The buildings itself aren't all that attractive and sort of smushed into the small cove. The check in process was easy and they were very welcoming and kind. My room is pretty average for a ritz but with a great view. The bathroom isn't huge and not a great shower (poor water pressure) but good enough. I have a large balcony that is covered. The pool area is very nice with an infinity edge that looks out to the ocean and you look at St. John. The beach itself is very small and way, way too crowded with chairs and beach stuff, very commercial. The shades attached to the chairs totally distract and block the view of the beach. I did use the paddleboard which was fun, but you definitely don't feel like you are in a remote location !! The people here are nice/friendly IF you smile and make the effort first. They aren't bending over backwards except for the sunset cruise that leaves from the beach and lasts 1.5 hours. Patrick and his crew were super helpful and great. For 80$ you have an open bar and heavy appetizers. The two main restaurants for dinner were good, not outstanding our super creative menus. The breakfast buffet was smaller than most Ritz hotels or places such as Half Moon in Jamaica.
I have had a nice relaxing weekend, and while the hotel has great views it is not on par with newer hotels like the Rosewood Mayakoba where everything was gleaming and beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk. UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was with hesitation and trepidation that we decided to confirm our reservation, because after reading many negative reports, we did not want to endure a poor holiday experience. Our holidays are important to us and we do not want to be constantly complaining. We did look into changing our plans and staying elsehere, but in the end settled with our original booking.
The 3 day visit to this hotel was a complete success.
We arrived early, and after enjoying a complimentary breakfast our club room was ready by 11am. It was a top floor room with truly excellent views. The room and bathroom was spotlessly clean and well maintained.
The hotel was full, but we had no problem in finding sunbeds around the pool. The staff were very helpful. The gardens are well maintained and manicured. The Club concierge and staff were extremely on the ball and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. THe club room is very large and was never anywhere near full. For most times of the day there was a food offering and plentiful supplies of cookies and drinks.
We ate at Coconut Cove and at Bluewater in the evenings and although relatively expensive, they represented the prices charged by 5* hotels. We also boarded the Lady Lynsey catamaran for an evening Sunset And Sangria sailaway into St Johns Bay. Staff were excellent as was the food and unlimited bar beverages.
We were very pleased we stayed here, no where is perfect, but we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room, the well trained and polite staff and the beach and pool.

Room Tip: We had a corner top floor room in E block. Excellent balcony and view. KIng size bed. Excellent turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It is simply impossible to represent this resort with one, or for that matter, two numbers because the quality and presentation of the breakfast meal was so vastly different from the evening meals, the breakfast meals rating 3 or 4 and the evening meals barely rating a 1. There are four restaurants on the premise, Coconut Cove offers lunch and evening meals; Bleu Water offers breakfast (the only restaurant that offers breakfast) and lunch; GBL, or Great Bay Lounge, offers dinner; and Sails operates late morning to late afternoon offering lunch type items such as burgers, fish tacos, sandwiches, and soups and salads. In fact, the quality of the breakfast meals were so different from the evening meals it was hard to believe that we were at the same resort. I have provided our opinion regarding each of these restaurants in separate reviews but in general, we found that the breakfast meals at Bleu Water were outstanding and the Sails provided very good lunches. At Bleu Water, you have the option to order from the menu or partake in a continental or full buffet. Outdoor seating overlooks the Caribbean. We ate lunch at Sails most days and they were very good as well.

Evening meals were generally poorly prepared and were not appealing at all. One evening my wife left most of a prosciutto and arugula flatbread on the table. There was enough arugula on the flatbread to feed a herd of Holsteins, the prosciutto was cut so thick that it was stringy and not editable, and after asking for a steak knife to cut the flatbread, she gave up on the meal. I ordered tuna one evening and while we both enjoy smaller meals and servings, I was very surprised at the incredibly small serving size of the tuna, which was also very tough. Noodles served with the tuna were cold and not very tasty. I had a similar experience on a different night with an order of grouper. We were at the resort for just over a week and after the fourth night, having tried all three of the restaurant that serve dinner, we starting eating evening meals at restaurants off the resort premise. (As an aside, the Caribbean Seafood Market is excellent, and was one of our best meals.) Bottom line is that if your preference is to enjoy a nice breakfast, good lunch and then skip or have a very light dinner meal eating all your meals on the premise might work for you. If, on the other hand you enjoy evening meals with some wine, as my wife and I do, you should plan to dine at one some of the excellent restaurants close to the resort. Taxis are readily available at the resort and restaurants.

Regarding hotel rooms, a brief outline of the resort layout is in order to understand how room selection might affect your stay. About half of the resort is dedicated to the Ritz’s timeshare program and half to hotel rooms (there are about hotel 185 rooms). All of the buildings form the shape of a very flat and very wide W, more like two very wide and very flat U shapes placed together. The lobby is at the center and base of the W, with the open end of the W facing the Caribbean. As you stand in the lobby and face the Caribbean the buildings on right side of the W are the hotel rooms, and the buildings on the left side of the W form the timeshare section. There are six separate buildings forming the hotel side, with names of flowers from A to E. Most, but not all, of the rooms have a view of the ocean. The reason that the shape of the complex is important is because the prevailing wind blows from the ocean into the W. The buildings closest to the end of the complex (W), those labeled as E and F, and most of the D building, while providing an ocean view, face into the center of the resort, and are parallel to the direction of the prevailing breeze. As such, you get no breeze while sitting on the balcony and in fact, with no ceiling fans, it can get quite warm sitting there greatly limiting the use of the balcony. Rooms on the higher floors in the A, B and building enable you to enjoy the breeze and view. In addition, we were not asked if a handicap accessible room was acceptable and found ourselves in a room without a bathtub. Another consideration on room selection are the steps you need to negotiate if you are in one of the buildings most away from the lobby (D,E and F). You have to navigate at least two long series of steps to get from these buildings to the beach and virtually all of the activities, so if steps are a problem for you consider a closer building.

Service, including room and food, was about average, not the level that one would expect at a 5 start resort. The staff was friendly and was accommodating, but the basics were frequently missed. For example, turn down service was not completed two different nights. (Ok, maybe this is a little petty, but to be candid it was not moving covers off the bed that we missed, but the small chocolate threats that are usually left on the pillow). More important, we had to ask that washcloths, which were missing one night, and towels were missing a different night, be sent to the room. One evening after dinner we went into the GBL bar for an after dinner drink. The bar was very busy and all the tables were taken, except one, which still had to be cleared and cleaned. We asked the Maître for the table and he said he would have it cleaned for us. We had been waiting quite a while when two people walked in and simply sat at the table. The Maitre had simply forgotten about us.

The bottom line for us is that when we return to the area we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great resort! Beautiful room with a wonderful view. The staff was wonderful, we loved the restaurants and there was a lot to do right there on the property! Great water sports, beautiful pool. Their boat, Lady Lynsey was perfect for a sunset cruise with wine tasting!!! Everyone who worked their went way out of their way to always make sure we were happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were married on Sunday, June 10, 2012, in St. Thomas, United States Virgin Islands. The eleven o’clock ceremony, officiated by the Reverend Stuart Scott, took place at The Ritz-Carlton’s Ocean’s Edge Gazebo. What a beautiful setting. Rev. Scott was wonderful; he was suggested to us by the Ritz. Violinist Chris Robbert and Harpist Jesus Zamora performed musical selections from Bach, Pachelbel, and Mendelssohn for the island ceremony. A champagne brunch reception followed in the Great Bay Lounge with music provided by The Lollipop Band.
Blue Glass Photography and High Definition Video created lasting memories for the us. Myléne Kerschner of The Ritz-Carlton planned all of our events. I can’t say enough about the Lollipop Band and Morgan Rael. My photographs and video were better than I could have expected.
The only snafu was that the pastry chef forgot?? to make my cupcake tower. This was to be made for the brunch reception following the11 am wedding. Lucky I didn’t notice until late in the reception so I didn’t waste a lot of time being upset. The hotel made up for the mistake by making my cupcake tower for my evening dinner & dance event at no charge, an $800 savings. The photos were not as good though since I wasn’t wearing my wedding gown and there was no natural sunlight for the photos.
The Sunday evening event started with a sunset cocktail reception on the Great Bay Patio with Caribbean music provided by Morgan Rael on steel pan. Later in the ballroom, guests were treated to the grand buffet ‘Le Tour du Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas’ along with music from the band, The Smashing Mangos. Again, wonderful food and music. One of my favorite touches were the two ice sculptures I had on Sunday evening. I was surprised to find that the hotel had never had these before. Mylene took care of that; she found a company in Florida who would ship them to St Thomas for my wedding. So pleased.
On Saturday evening before the wedding, we hosted a welcome reception for our sixty guests at Sails, The Ritz-Carlton’s Oceanfront Grill. The Lollipop Band featuring Morgan Rael, provided entertainment. I am a food snob and could not believe this buffet. Bravo.
Overall, our 9-day wedding/vacation with 60 family and friends was fabulous. We mastered the Hobie Cat and stand-up paddle boards. Don’t forget to take a sunset sail aboard the Lady Lindsey, the Ritz-Carlton’s yacht, before you leave!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.