We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club level is the only way to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
cape cod
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Club level is the only way to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights over Thanksgiving in a gorgeous, corner suite in the club level building. Ate breakfast, lunch, appetizers and cocktails and dessert daily in the lounge. The presentations and quality of food served was amazing. The staff of the lounge, from the concierges to the wait people, could not have been more pleasant and helpful, going out of their way to assist in our every need. Went off property twice to eat dinner, as we were there over a week and there are only a few restaurants in the hotel to chose from. Had an awful dinner at Coconut Cove! The others were just mediocre and very expensive. Lots to do on the water, from snorkeling off the the beach to sailing, paddle boarding, kayaking and wind surfing. Lots to keep teenagers entertained and adults too if you enjoy the water. Chartered a boat for the day with Nauti Nymph. Be sure to bring passports, as we headed to the BVIs for the day. Best day of the week. Ask for Captain Mike! Took a day sail on Lady Lindsey also. Loved the crew and the snorkeling and
shopping on St. John. Slightly disappointed with the beach as you are not able to walk it and exercise. Enjoyed a massage with Stephanie. Spa just OK, but my service was well worth the money. Will definitely return someday!

Room Tip: Stay on the Club level and spend the extra money. In the long run, you'll save on food and cock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    298
    129
    73
    40
See reviews for
301
532
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Back from honeymoon and we spent a week here, and then a week at Casa De Campo on Dominican Republic. Facility and location are amazing, we are struggling to decide if we should just come back here or try a different tropical location for next year. The staff are awesome. Some standouts: Al @ Coconut Cove, Amber @ Great Bay Lounge, and Chris Jones @ BlueWater. Don't forget to try a Bushwhacker, and if in season or available, Corvina. 3 stars on spa - not applicable, as we didn't get a massage while on the property. Thank you Chuck Gruber and Mr. Kuhlen, for making our stay/trip memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stopped here one night on the way to Anguilla and are suppose to be back next week for one week's stay and we have to say for the nightly price we are paying we are not looking forward to coming back! The hotel is run down and in desperate need of a "face lift". We were at the outside bar near the beach and the buildings where the restrooms are located had paint peeling, the doors are dirty and in need of fresh paint and the beach cushions are dirty. Maybe we are spoiled as we have been to many other Caribbean islands like Aruba and Turks and Caicos that were spectacular, but paying over $600/ night, I would expect nothing but 5+ star and this is definitely not the case! A glass of wine at the beach bar will run you $26 which is a rip off. No wonder their cancellation policy is 90 days, otherwise they would have no business at all. After staying at the Viceroy in Anguilla, this will certainly be a disappointment to come back to!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently stayed here for a girl's trip and I was certainly not impressed. This felt like it may have been a beautiful resort at one time and then it was forgotten about and slowly started to deteriorate in quality and service.

Service: The staff was pretty friendly for the most part. The one thing that seemed pretty consistent was that they were all on island time aka very slow. Nobody seemed to be in any kind of a hurry. Yes, vacation is a time to relax but waiting for 20 minutes to even be greeted at breakfast is not acceptable.

Room: The rooms seemed very old and run down. The furniture was straight out of the 80s and the beds were not that comfortable. As many others have commented, we also had issues with the air conditioning. I am also pretty sure that there was black mold on the shower ceiling. We also had a smashed bug on our wall for the whole trip. Attention to detail is not something that exists at this hotel.

Food: The food was very average tasting and VERY overpriced. I get that you are paying resort prices but when it doesn't even feel like a resort, it is hard to cough up that kind of cash.

Activities: I did like that you were able to use the paddle boards, kayaks, etc. at the resort since they are included in your resort fee. The hotel does have a beautiful bay area where you can explore on their water crafts.

Overall, I would not stay at this hotel again and I would not recommend it to anyone who is expecting a real Ritz experience. Who wants to pay resort prices for a 3-star hotel experience?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Nov 1-6 for a 10th Anniversary trip. Overall, we enjoyed our vacation. If we ever return to the island, however, we will likely stay at a different hotel. There are certain things a person expects when paying for a room at the Ritz-Carlton. This hotel seems to be a Ritz in name and quality of service, but the rooms are more on par with a 3 or 4 star hotel.

First, the hotel grounds are lovely. Lots of local floriculture around and the resident iguanas are fun to see, if not a little creepy when they are crawling all over the middle of the walkway. There are many separate buildings on the property, so it is a little bit of a walk to get anywhere, but this didn't bother us.

The hotel staff are all excellent, with the exception of Scott at Sails. We nicknamed him "Snotty Scotty". One has to wonder why someone who clearly dislikes people would choose a job in the service industry. But I digress. Everyone else was fantastic. Melanie at Sails was always lovely and the people at the towel stand were always eager to help us feel as comfortable as possible on the beach or at the pool. The food was excellent everywhere we ate on property, albeit expensive. But hey...when you choose to stay at the Ritz, you have to expect the prices to be high. We were not all surprised or put off by this. The concierge, Elgitha, was extremely helpful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on the Lady Lynsey as well. The boat is sparkling, the crew is outstanding and the sailing was really fun. We took two trips out on the boat and both were highlights of our trip. Jolene was our personal favorite among the crew, but they all were top notch. Also, the water sports equipment that was included in the resort fee was a great bonus. We had lots of fun kayaking and using the Hobie Cats.

And to the negative...The room was awful. We booked a resort view room, so we expected a room with little to no ocean view. What we got was a room down on the first floor in what felt like a cave with no other guests in sight. We overlooked a shed. The room was just okay looking inside. The furniture looked old and the bed was AWFUL. I returned home with quite a backache and I usually don't have any issues with hotel beds. The air conditioning wasn't functioning properly and our room couldn't seem to cool down past 76 or so. And there was NO AIR CON VENT IN THE BATHROOM. Ladies, hear me. Getting ready to go out to dinner in a bathroom with no air conditioning stinks! It felt at least 80 degrees in there throughout our trip. I've never stayed in a hotel where this has been the case, but will now feel the need to ask whenever we travel anywhere tropical.

Housekeeping was hit or miss. For some reason they couldn't seem to get the coffee right. Each day we had to call for coffee, condiments, cups or something else. Something was refilled each day, but something was always forgotten. And when we had to call, we usually had to call a couple of times before someone finally brought it...an hour or two later.

There are 6-7 cats that roam the property and visit the outdoor diners in the evening. We are not cat people, so eating dinner with cats circling our feet and staring at us was a bit disconcerting. Had they been dogs we wouldn't have minded so much. ;-)

Overall, we just didn't feel like we got a lot of value for our dollar at this resort. We paid more expecting to receive everything that the Ritz-Carlton delivers at their other properties. The service was on par, but the rooms were not even close. Next time we will try the Marriott or the Westin on St. John.

Room Tip: The club level was closed during our visit, but other reviewers raved about it. We would have chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just got back from this place a few days ago & it is literally paradise! My boyfriend took me for my 30th B-Day and everything about this place is perfection. The restaurants are amazing, the views are amazing, the beaches are amazing...you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great stay, the grounds are beautiful, the people who work there always seem to remember who you are and call you by name.. very helpful.
the restaurant was great as well, pool and beach are great.. workers are there with towels and always ready to do something for you..
this is def the place where you get what you pay for... i would def go back.

Room Tip: all the rooms over look the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.