We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure didn't feel like the Ritz...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in St. Thomas
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sure didn't feel like the Ritz...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently stayed here for a girl's trip and I was certainly not impressed. This felt like it may have been a beautiful resort at one time and then it was forgotten about and slowly started to deteriorate in quality and service.

Service: The staff was pretty friendly for the most part. The one thing that seemed pretty consistent was that they were all on island time aka very slow. Nobody seemed to be in any kind of a hurry. Yes, vacation is a time to relax but waiting for 20 minutes to even be greeted at breakfast is not acceptable.

Room: The rooms seemed very old and run down. The furniture was straight out of the 80s and the beds were not that comfortable. As many others have commented, we also had issues with the air conditioning. I am also pretty sure that there was black mold on the shower ceiling. We also had a smashed bug on our wall for the whole trip. Attention to detail is not something that exists at this hotel.

Food: The food was very average tasting and VERY overpriced. I get that you are paying resort prices but when it doesn't even feel like a resort, it is hard to cough up that kind of cash.

Activities: I did like that you were able to use the paddle boards, kayaks, etc. at the resort since they are included in your resort fee. The hotel does have a beautiful bay area where you can explore on their water crafts.

Overall, I would not stay at this hotel again and I would not recommend it to anyone who is expecting a real Ritz experience. Who wants to pay resort prices for a 3-star hotel experience?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    580
    262
    112
    71
    37
See reviews for
248
454
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Nov 1-6 for a 10th Anniversary trip. Overall, we enjoyed our vacation. If we ever return to the island, however, we will likely stay at a different hotel. There are certain things a person expects when paying for a room at the Ritz-Carlton. This hotel seems to be a Ritz in name and quality of service, but the rooms are more on par with a 3 or 4 star hotel.

First, the hotel grounds are lovely. Lots of local floriculture around and the resident iguanas are fun to see, if not a little creepy when they are crawling all over the middle of the walkway. There are many separate buildings on the property, so it is a little bit of a walk to get anywhere, but this didn't bother us.

The hotel staff are all excellent, with the exception of Scott at Sails. We nicknamed him "Snotty Scotty". One has to wonder why someone who clearly dislikes people would choose a job in the service industry. But I digress. Everyone else was fantastic. Melanie at Sails was always lovely and the people at the towel stand were always eager to help us feel as comfortable as possible on the beach or at the pool. The food was excellent everywhere we ate on property, albeit expensive. But hey...when you choose to stay at the Ritz, you have to expect the prices to be high. We were not all surprised or put off by this. The concierge, Elgitha, was extremely helpful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on the Lady Lynsey as well. The boat is sparkling, the crew is outstanding and the sailing was really fun. We took two trips out on the boat and both were highlights of our trip. Jolene was our personal favorite among the crew, but they all were top notch. Also, the water sports equipment that was included in the resort fee was a great bonus. We had lots of fun kayaking and using the Hobie Cats.

And to the negative...The room was awful. We booked a resort view room, so we expected a room with little to no ocean view. What we got was a room down on the first floor in what felt like a cave with no other guests in sight. We overlooked a shed. The room was just okay looking inside. The furniture looked old and the bed was AWFUL. I returned home with quite a backache and I usually don't have any issues with hotel beds. The air conditioning wasn't functioning properly and our room couldn't seem to cool down past 76 or so. And there was NO AIR CON VENT IN THE BATHROOM. Ladies, hear me. Getting ready to go out to dinner in a bathroom with no air conditioning stinks! It felt at least 80 degrees in there throughout our trip. I've never stayed in a hotel where this has been the case, but will now feel the need to ask whenever we travel anywhere tropical.

Housekeeping was hit or miss. For some reason they couldn't seem to get the coffee right. Each day we had to call for coffee, condiments, cups or something else. Something was refilled each day, but something was always forgotten. And when we had to call, we usually had to call a couple of times before someone finally brought it...an hour or two later.

There are 6-7 cats that roam the property and visit the outdoor diners in the evening. We are not cat people, so eating dinner with cats circling our feet and staring at us was a bit disconcerting. Had they been dogs we wouldn't have minded so much. ;-)

Overall, we just didn't feel like we got a lot of value for our dollar at this resort. We paid more expecting to receive everything that the Ritz-Carlton delivers at their other properties. The service was on par, but the rooms were not even close. Next time we will try the Marriott or the Westin on St. John.

Room Tip: The club level was closed during our visit, but other reviewers raved about it. We would have chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just got back from this place a few days ago & it is literally paradise! My boyfriend took me for my 30th B-Day and everything about this place is perfection. The restaurants are amazing, the views are amazing, the beaches are amazing...you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great stay, the grounds are beautiful, the people who work there always seem to remember who you are and call you by name.. very helpful.
the restaurant was great as well, pool and beach are great.. workers are there with towels and always ready to do something for you..
this is def the place where you get what you pay for... i would def go back.

Room Tip: all the rooms over look the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The beach and pool areas are great, and the grounds were very well maintained. The food was very good, but the price of the food compared to the product was a joke, not up to Ritz standards. If you can't deliver, you can't charge. The food in the restaurant upstairs was over priced, very good breakfasts, pool bar similarly overpriced, food was very good one day there and horrible next.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great grounds, beautiful pool, right on the beach, free equipment - snorkel and small watercraft, friendly staff. Location is great too - 5 minutes from Red Hook - (happening nightlife) and the ferry to St. John. A bit expensive, but you have to pay for the best. The only negative was the outdoor hot tub. The temperature was downright scalding. A complaint about this was not resolved tthe following evening, as it was still too hot to enjoy. Other guests also indicated their displeasure with the hot tub as well. But overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

As an avid Trip Advisory fan, I read the reviews on this hotel and had a sense it was not quite the full Ritz experience and they were right,

The location is on the quiet side of the island about 45 minutes by car(we chose to rent a car which worked out well) and the property grounds are beautiful, set on a quiet cove with very few homes.There was plenty of recreational equipment available on the water for the day however beach chairs were like most Caribbean resorts these days; either you get up very early and stake your claim with towels and books or you take your chances if you come down by 10 am.The pool was quite large with seating all around however, by 8 am most of the pool side chairs were also taken. We visited Thanksgiving week and understand that the resort was full so on par if you stay during prime season.

The staff was attentive except for the front desk. I found them surprisingly inexperienced and uncaring when asked questions on room types, club level and status benefits. I was told they would ask and get back to me that night. Never heard back which is not a Ritz Carlton standard.

Rooms were clean and neat however a bit tired. The furnishings were not quite the Ritz standard but room size and view were very good. You are best to ask for a high floor at either end of property.

The resort is isolated and as such, your food options are limited on this property. We found the quality of the food high and as expected expensive. The breakfast Buffet at Bleuwater was delicious, well stocked and had plenty of both indoor and outdoor seating. What we did not like was they did not have enough restaurant seating for the hotel guests. We do not like having to make reservations as our experience has been that you can always get a table for dinner at a Ritz Carlton property. This is not the case here. The good news is that it forced us to venture out and within walking distance, was a great restaurant called Caribbean Fish Market (see others reviews). We only wish we found this earlier in our week.

We are loyal Ritz Carlton fans however this property while good, was not he great Ritz we have come to expect. Next time, we will explore other locations.

Room Tip: Ask for tallest buildings and higher floors for best views. Watch out for stairways and service clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton St Thomas
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas
Ritz St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
St. Thomas Ritz
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Thomas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.