We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is beautiful and the grounds are fantastic, but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“This place is beautiful and the grounds are fantastic, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The beach and pool areas are great, and the grounds were very well maintained. The food was very good, but the price of the food compared to the product was a joke, not up to Ritz standards. If you can't deliver, you can't charge. The food in the restaurant upstairs was over priced, very good breakfasts, pool bar similarly overpriced, food was very good one day there and horrible next.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    287
    123
    72
    39
See reviews for
287
499
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great grounds, beautiful pool, right on the beach, free equipment - snorkel and small watercraft, friendly staff. Location is great too - 5 minutes from Red Hook - (happening nightlife) and the ferry to St. John. A bit expensive, but you have to pay for the best. The only negative was the outdoor hot tub. The temperature was downright scalding. A complaint about this was not resolved tthe following evening, as it was still too hot to enjoy. Other guests also indicated their displeasure with the hot tub as well. But overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

As an avid Trip Advisory fan, I read the reviews on this hotel and had a sense it was not quite the full Ritz experience and they were right,

The location is on the quiet side of the island about 45 minutes by car(we chose to rent a car which worked out well) and the property grounds are beautiful, set on a quiet cove with very few homes.There was plenty of recreational equipment available on the water for the day however beach chairs were like most Caribbean resorts these days; either you get up very early and stake your claim with towels and books or you take your chances if you come down by 10 am.The pool was quite large with seating all around however, by 8 am most of the pool side chairs were also taken. We visited Thanksgiving week and understand that the resort was full so on par if you stay during prime season.

The staff was attentive except for the front desk. I found them surprisingly inexperienced and uncaring when asked questions on room types, club level and status benefits. I was told they would ask and get back to me that night. Never heard back which is not a Ritz Carlton standard.

Rooms were clean and neat however a bit tired. The furnishings were not quite the Ritz standard but room size and view were very good. You are best to ask for a high floor at either end of property.

The resort is isolated and as such, your food options are limited on this property. We found the quality of the food high and as expected expensive. The breakfast Buffet at Bleuwater was delicious, well stocked and had plenty of both indoor and outdoor seating. What we did not like was they did not have enough restaurant seating for the hotel guests. We do not like having to make reservations as our experience has been that you can always get a table for dinner at a Ritz Carlton property. This is not the case here. The good news is that it forced us to venture out and within walking distance, was a great restaurant called Caribbean Fish Market (see others reviews). We only wish we found this earlier in our week.

We are loyal Ritz Carlton fans however this property while good, was not he great Ritz we have come to expect. Next time, we will explore other locations.

Room Tip: Ask for tallest buildings and higher floors for best views. Watch out for stairways and service clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ok this is not for the faint hearted in any way, shape or form. The hotel is beautifully located, with stunning views over the bay. Located on a hillside I only saw one wheelchair user the entire time and had to wonder how the dickens they got around as their is a dearth of lifts (elevators). We arrived in the afternoon, this was our honeymoon but my husband had messed up and not booked us in till the following day (I still married him), I booked the first night iun my name and emailed them to tell them of the error, my husband also emailed them to advise of the error and he phoned them ans he emailed the day before we arrived. When we got there we had been allocated one room for the first night then another for the remainder of the stay. Although the second room (allegedley an upgrade because my partner is a elite member) had a better view the first room was actually larger! Plus the first room was not so close to the building work so we weren't disturbed by drilling, however all said and done it was still lovely. We were sent a bottle of Cava and some chocolates (chocs were lovely - Cava was like vinegar - we each took a sip and emptied the rest down the sink). Mostly the staff remembered your name (or at least checked your reservation to make sure they got it right) and made you feel special and the views, service and food were exceptional but it is very expensive. Its a Ritz so you have to expect to pay extra just for the name. We ate at all the restaurants and certainly would recommend the Kobe beef and the Mac and cheese (yes, really). Gazel is a wonderful waitress, funny and kind. Tasha on reception was a delight but the chap working with her (Tomake or something like that) needs to learn that tea (ordinary everyday english breakfast tea) is available, he promised to send a tray with lemongrass tea but although we waited it never arrived. I too was surprised at the number of children and how loud they were so we opted to sit and enjoy the views of the sea rather than the pool. We participated in the water sports but the snorkelling in the bay is real let down, very little to see (no pun intended). It's hilly, expensive, loads of children so the real question is would I go back - in an instant

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went to St Thomas to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Although I have stayed at many hotels, this was my first stay at a Ritz. This was a splurge for us and in some ways the service exceeded my expectations and in some areas the service could be improved.
We arrived at the hotel after dark. The security guard at the gate knew our name and congratulated us on our anniversary. Very nice. It went downhill from there. We drove to the front of the hotel. No one was there to open the car door. We got out of our car and walked around searching for where we could check in. Not a person in sight. Kept walking and found the concierge. We were pointed back to the front desk and finally someone was able to help us. This was not a good first impression.
In honor of our anniversary, we had been upgraded from a garden view to a partial ocean view room which was wonderful. The room has a large bath with separate soaking tub and walk in shower. There is a love seat and desk/table with two chairs. There is a pretty large balcony with a small table, two chairs and chaise lounge. Both wired and wireless internet access all included with the daily $58 resort fee. The fee also includes non-motorized water sports, bottles of water in the room daily, free local calls.
I was surprised at the number of children at the property. The main pool is beautiful but is filled with kids which can make taking a nap by the pool difficult while hearing kids yell 'daddy, daddy' endlessly. There are two groups of buildings. We were in building E which is the second closest building to the caribbean on the club side. Building A is the closest to the lobby and furthest from the bay. None of the rooms are right on the water. In most cases, the higher floor, the better the view will be.
The second group of buildings is Ritz Vacation Club (timeshare). I guess that could explain the number of children since I believe these are larger units making better accommodations for families. The timeshare buildings are closer to the water than the hotel buildings.
We had breakfast included with our rate so had the buffet at Bluewater. The food is adequate: made to order omelets, cold cereal, oatmeal, bacon/sausage, breads and muffins, either pancakes or french toast, yogurt, smoke salmon, slices turkey, waffles. All this for $33.
We also had a $100 daily credit and Al at Coconut Cove helped us use up that credit. He provided excellent service and always made sure we were well taken care of.
One suggestion I would offer would be to have more vegetarian options on their menus. There is very little to choose from and made eating dinner at the hotel challenging. Lunch was ok with salads or a veggie burger from Sails, I special ordered a veggie quesadilla from room service one night.
Now a couple warnings for those who have not visited St Thomas before. This would be a difficult place for those with limited mobility. It is very hilly, mountainous and there are stairs everywhere. And I have only seen a couple elevators. The second comment is about the roads. They are narrow, windy, and have steep hills. Coming over the top of many hills, I am unable to see where the road ahead goes. Thankfully my husband is taller so he gets to see where the road is going before me and he was driving so it all worked out. People seem pretty patient with visitors like us driving slowly but driving is not for the faint of heart. Driving is on the left but the cars still have the driver sitting on the same side as on the mainland so the passenger sits on the side of the car that is in the middle of the road and the driver is on the side closest to the ditch. A little strange.
Other than those things, St Thomas is beautiful. A picture perfect view around every corner.

Room Tip: Rooms in building F have the best views on the hotel side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First off, the good stuff. The resort has beautiful grounds (though they are a little worn) and is very well located for travelers who want to experience both St. Thomas and St. John (just a short ferry ride away. The resort facilities have everything you want in a Caribbean resort (kayaks, catamarans, snorkel gear, etc.). The food choices are varied, which gives good options which is good since there are limited options within walking distance - though red hook is a $10 cab ride away.

Now the bad: Although the resort advertises a guaranteed check-in time of 4 PM, we were left in our sweltering mainland clothes for three hours while we waited for a room (it was always 30 minutes away from being ready). This was particularly perplexing since we were there in the shoulder season. They also nickle and dimed us by making us pay for resort and club fees for the full day (even though we couldn't really use the facilities while we waited for our room). In the end, they refunded a part of the overcharge, but our trip was 50% more expensive because of additional fees that were not initially included in our booking. In addition, because the staff member at the registration desk said something different (quoting us a per room rate) than what she wrote down (a per person rate), the bill did not match expectations. When we noted the discrepancy, the staff pointed to the hand-written document that was completed after checked in and said they would look into it. They never did, and we never heard back. Our fault for not asking to see the completed document; their fault for overcharging, promising to look into our issue, and then not doing anything.

Make sure to confirm everything that you may get charged to do. Keep in mind that room, resort fee, and any other facilities charges are all separate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have stayed at a number of hotels over time, and try to write objective reviews, but subjectivity does slip in. Our expectations of a Ritz Carlton are a lot higher than for a Marriot Courtyard, so a problem at the latter might be overlooked while the same problem at a Ritz won’t.
Our first room – 327 – on the Club level or the St. Thomas Ritz is a case in point. The sliding glass door to the balcony has a large stain which spoiled the view. Tiles in the bathroom were cracked, and one on the shower threshold broke and cut Gale’s foot. The drain on the roof was blocked, causing a flood coming through the hallway ceiling light.
The room we moved to – 344 – corrected all these problems, and helped us enjoy the rest of the stay.
That negative aside, everything else was wonderful. The staff throughout the complex were exceptionally helpful, especially the 11 in the club. The grounds are well kept, the buildings very clean, the food and drink in the club tasty, plentiful and well presented. The Club amenities were well worth the extra costs, and should be seriously considered.
The first room knocked the rating down, But, #327 aside, we highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Stay away from #327. While all rooms have an ocean view, the corner rooms seem to have less of a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;