We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice...Very Expensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very nice...Very Expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Two things I'll disclose: 1) I did not choose this resort, but visited as part of a small group for an incentive trip won through my work. 2) I'm used to and prefer all-inclusive resorts for my personal vacations.
Resort/Grounds: The entire resort was very nice and the view of St. John from anywhere in the resort was amazing. Everything was well manicured and clean. There is a pond/swamp thing inbetween some of the room buildings and the pool/beach. Brings out some mosquitos, but also home to what seemed like a few hundred iguanas that hang out by one of the pathways next to the pool/lunch restaurant Sails on a daily basis. Very easy to get around as it's not an incredibly large resort and there are paved pathways that take you anywhere. There are also a few golf carts that you can probably call for to take you to the main lobby.
Pool/Beach: Didn't spend much time at the pool as it was mostly families with kids. (Very family friendly, but we don't prefer to spend our vacation time around a bunch of kids.) We were looking for more of a relaxing, quite time to enjoy some drinks with friends. So, we spent most free time at the beach, directly in front of the pool area. There are maybe 80 lounge chairs in several rows lining the small beach area. The front row of chairs is about 5 feet from the water and are very nice. The water and views are incredible. There are also a few cabanas that can be rented for (what I heard was) $300/day. The resort's catamaran was docked right in the middle of the beach area most of the time when it wasn't in use. Kind of cool to look at, at first - but it ultimately blocks your view of the water and St. John if you're spending time on the beach. One of my favorite things about the beach were the 3 ducks that hung out all day. 2 were always together (apparantly named Ritz and Carlton) and 1 seemed to be the outcast the first 2 chased away. Pretty funny to see them walk around getting food from the beach-goers.
Staff: The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. We were never left wanting for anything in our room or on the beach. There is a rotation of servers on the beach and in the pool area that were attentive and responsive. They also gave us recommendations on food and drink. No complaints about the service or any staff at all.
Rooms: Pretty average rooms. We stayed in a basic room in building C, which is called something else, but I don't remember. Also saw one of the suites in the bigger buildings (building E) - night and day difference, but you get what you pay for. The balcony in the room is very large with a table, a few chairs, and one lounge chair. No real complaints about the room at all, but there was nothing really special about them either.
Food: We didn't eat at the main restaurant since the group we were with had private events all nights we were there. Our first night, we ate dinner at the Bar/Lounge: Good, not great. It helped we were extremely hungry. Didn't go back. We had breakfast at the main/only restaurant 2 mornings and had room service a 3rd. The breakfast at the restaurant was completely generic, standard fare. Hotel eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes. Also a cold bar with cheese, deli-type meats, etc. Nothing special or great about it - simply something to eat. Room service was the same, only cold when we got it. Unimpressed.
Excursion: we went on the catamaran for a day trip around the US and British Islands. Stopped at a few islands for drinks and lunch and cruised around all afternoon. Very nice and a lot of fun.
Overall: I wouldn't go back to this resort due to the cost alone. The discounted rate we had for a group event was $320/night for the room. Nothing else in included in that price. Considering a poor breakfast buffet is $18/person, any of their signature/frozen/mixed drinks are $15-16/each, a beer is $6/each or more, room service comes with an automatic 18% tip and a $5 service fee (and they're happy to let you double tip on accident and not say a word), an appetizer at the lounge is $25+, etc. - be prepared to spend a lot more than $300/day for food and drink if you stay at the resort all day.
Again, I prefer all-inclusive resorts. For the same $320/night (more-or-less) you can stay in an equally nice resort and room (if not nicer) that is all-inclusive, so you can enjoy your day without worrying what your tab is for the day. We've done it many times and have loved not just the all-inclusive feature, but the overall quality of the places we've been. They have matched or exceeded what we saw at the Ritz in St. Thomas and we spent less than half the money we spent here. If that doesn't concern you at all, by all means, I'd recommend the Ritz as it is clean, the staff is great, the grounds are nice, and the views amazing. Me - I'll save my money and find a nice all-inclusive.

Room Tip: spend the extra money and upgrade to one of the larger building (E+). The rooms are nicer and the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    287
    123
    72
    39
See reviews for
287
499
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, Michigan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were in st. Thomas during a storm and lost power. We didn't feel comfortable in our condo so we went to the nearest hotel. We wished we had stayed the entire time at the Ritz. It was gorgeous and the people were fantastic. Carl at the front desk was especially helpful to us in our situation. The property is beautiful and well worth the extra money.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

You get what you pay for and you will not be disappointed. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are amazing and the service is top notch. I must mention Carl at the front desk because he went above and beyond to make our stay even better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was terrific, great island resort. Across the bay is St. John Island. The view at night, with the lights from the island combined with the stars, looked like a scene from a movie. The resort feels small, we were able to get to everything in a short period of time. Service was good, terrific restaurant on the resort, I can't say enough.

Room Tip: We were talked into the Club level upgrade. With the view as well as the other amenities, I would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I'll start by say the setting of the hotel is awesome! It's straight out of a magazine. Other than the location, the property is quite average. I had a suite and a regular room, both were run down and quite frankly not up to "ritz" standards. The food was even worse than the rooms. I have never eaten so many French Fries. I hope that they update the property and food to match the location and the brand name.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Location, Staff, Food, everything. They went the extra mile to make sure our honeymoon was fantastic. I cannot thank the staff there enough. We felt like royalty. Expensive but worth every single penny!

Room Tip: Not really a need to upgrade to ocean view. Seems like every room has a fairly good view and beach i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

VIsited the Ritz, St Thomas with a group for a seminar. Loved the enticing view, day and night, of St John. The room was clean, comfortable, and welcoming. We were in building D, on the first floor, which offered a decent view, but not one of the glorious bay. Would recommend a room closer to the lobby, and on a higher floor.

Food at the Asian Fusion bar/grill was very good, as was breakfast buffet and a la carte (try to bananas foster french toast). On the buffet, we found oatmeal, cereal, fruit and all the things mentioned as absent on another review. Our banquet night offered a really nice fish entree and fabulous chocolate torte.

We loved chillin on the beach, and the fast and friendly food/drink service there. The beach activites offered much for the active traveler.... Hobie sailing, sea kayaks, and snorkeling. Snorkeling in the bay we saw sea turtles, a school of squid, multiple starfish and conch. However, I would consider taking the snorkel sail or another snorkel trip offered on the island for the discriminating snorkeler. Colleagues dove with Patagon divers and reported wonderful shallow dives (30-40 feet) with swim throughs and lots of live coral. Diving was not on our agenda. Actually, we were so content on the beach and with sailing there, that we rarely sought other activities.

We found this Ritz to be very casual, but still offering the friendly, preemptive service on would expect. We would recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Higher floor, closer to lobby building so you have a better view of the bay and St John
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.