We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dream Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz from Wednesday October 17th to Sunday October 21st. We were with a large group while visiting. I've never been so impressed by a property in my life. Every little detail from the moment we arrived to the minute we left was perfect. Their attention to detail is unreal. The quality of our room was outstanding. It was decorated with upscale luxury and the was meticulously clean. We had a blast here. The views are AMAZING. We stayed in the Freesia building, in room 250. Our view of the Bay and St. Johns was something that never got old. We dined at the Bleuwater restaurant, Sails, and the Great Bay lounge while were there. The food is NOT your typical resort food, but rather that of fine dining. We had so much fun here, and this resort is on our list of places to return in the future. We can't wait!!

Room Tip: Room 250 in the Freesia building has amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    294
    129
    73
    39
See reviews for
298
522
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The view of st john is pretty much one of my favorites of all places. You can't help but looking across to st john, sitting at the infinity pool. they have their own catamaran boat you can take a snorkel tour on. Water at the beach is warm and is beautiful colors, food at resort is little expensive, but can always order out for delivery . One of my favorite vacations.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Ritz-Carlton St Thomas was a fantastic place to stay. Our first friend that greeted us was bellman Jose. What a great person he is. He was so helpful and his level of service and island advice was the best of anyone in St. Thomas. We spent 12 days there and grew to really treasure talking to him and learning about fun things to do and outstanding island food. If we needed anything guess who was there to help --- Jose and his partner Kasheem. Viola at the poor took care of us just like her own family. Service at the Ritz-Carlton was outstanding. We have NEVER been treated to this degree of excellence before. This resort is was so much fun to stay at. The pool/ beach area was where we spent most of our time. The pool was always clean and service was always available. The beach included wind surfing, hobby cat sailing, kyacking, paddle boating, had snorkel equipment and even a dive center. We almost lived there and with guidance from the staff we were able to learn all these activities. The friendliness of all staff is commendable for the Ritz-Carlton. The staff made my daughters birthday very special. They delivered a complimentary beautifully decorated birthday cake and bottle of wine to the room. When we went out to dinner all the bellmen and a greeter lady circled around my daughter and sang happy birthday. WOW - what a wonderful special feeling she had.

The only two drawbacks of this resort (which were minor) was the the room amenities like coffee and tea packs, enough towels for everyone in the room, shampoo and soap were not stocked regularly and often had to be asked for. The other issue was the food at the pool was skimpy, VERY EXPENSIVE for what you get and often left us hungry. To solve this issue we simply went to town and had fabulous food for a much more reasonable price. All in all we loved the Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: You have to get an ocean view and close to the pool. Meet and get to know bellman Jose and Kasheem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The Club is truly first class. Gabrielle was particularly helpful and friendly at the pool. The crew of the Lady Lyndsey were also great. Our night cruise to St John was memorable. We will come stay again and highly recommend for others.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I were there for 5 days in September and it was an amazing experience. Jenna checked us in and she was awesome. Friendly and personable, she knows how to make guests feel welcomed. The grounds are beautiful, and the pool has a killer view to the bay, which, by the way, is great for snorkeling. Shirley the hostess at the restaurant is one of the most wonderful people I have met. She was always checking if we needed something, and giving good advice about great places to go, and things to do.
This place should be a benchmark for hotels all over the world, including other hotels of the same chain.
After staying there, I would never stay anywhere else in St. Thomas.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

So arrived for a three day meeting and typical efficient and gracious Ritz welcome. Resort nicely spread out along a beautiful bay with a view of St Johns taken to my room in golf cart and to be honest I found it a bit tired The room was dark and the drapes a bit saggy and bathroom nice but not lavish Ritz bathroom you expect I was disappointed. However, the service was fantastic, the facilities beautiful and well maintained and the food in every outlet was fantastic. We had a dinner on property one night that was absolutely superb. Overall a great place for a long weekend r a short vacation. My only reservation is that it's very isolated and out f the way. If your looking for nightlife or lots of adjoining activities I'd suggest the Frenchman's reef Marriott which is decent and certainly well located. However if you want a luxury vacation where you just relax and sit poolside and swim with great service and food this is a place for you

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Excellent customer service from every employee. Melanie at the beach and pool is awesome. Jonathan in sports activities is terrific. Everyone is very friendly.

It's low season, so there is not quite as much to do (the Lady Lynsey is out of service, the spa is being renovated, some elevators are not working, ice machines not working, just generally lots of maintenance going on, limited food options) but It's nice that it's not crowded.

Room Tip: look into renting in the condo part of the hotel - it looks newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.