We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the List” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Top of the List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed two days at the Ritz and the experience could not have been better. The staff is always smiling, anticipates your needs, and pampers you. The grounds are as beautiful as they come. The restaurants all serve quality food with excellent service. The room was ultra clean and large with service twice daily. I definitely recommend this hotel if your aim is to relax in luxury.

Room Tip: Ocean/pool view is nice although the garden views are also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    287
    123
    72
    39
See reviews for
288
499
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

A magnificent hotel; fabulous service, fabulous rooms, beautiful setting. Great facilities; water sports, beach, infinity pool, spa, fitness facilities, tennis courts.

The hotel is off the beaten track on an island filled with hilly terrain and windy roads. Leaving the site to their than the little town of Red Hook is less than easy. Enormously overpriced taxis ($90 to the airport) encourage one to stay put. The prices, especially in the restaurants ( a bit overpriced on an overpriced island) seem to reflect the. Fact that there are not a lot of obvious alternatives.

In spite of this, perhaps the best hotel we Haves ever experienced. Take the Lady Linsey dinner sail to nearby St. John.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Let me start off by saying, I was a bit apprehensive when my husband told me he booked the Ritz. He started pulling nice clothes from his closet to pack, and all I thought was.....I do not want to be at an uptight snooty place with our young children!! Boy, was I wrong! This place was the nicest resort we have ever stayed at, and we travel quite a bit and have higher standards as far as accommodations go. When we arrived we were greeted with tropical drinks, they gave the kids "virgin" ones and he carried a bottle of rum to pour shots into ours! That was perfect considering our long flight with crabby kids! We were debating between an ocean view room and garden view, so they drove us to each room so we could see it. Take note;;; the ocean view room was no more spectacular than the garden view. I suggest you save the extra $ and just go with garden. In fact our balcony was even larger. (we were on the lower level).

We didn't leave the resort much as we grew accustom to the impeccable service from the staff! My 5 year old got water in his ear, so my husband asked someone if they sold anything to help with it. Rather than just telling him where to get it, they told him they would go get it and bring it to us. If that was enough, she had also got him ear plugs as well. Now, that to me, is going above and beyond! Every employee made an effort to really get to know us! Asked us about ourselves and remembered all our names And what we liked to drink and eat. Even as passing by they would greet us by our names. They made up our chairs by the pool ( incredible infinity pool!!) brought us fresh towels when they could see our were wet.

We did not use the kids program. When we travel its most always with our children. We go on vacation with them to BE with them and enjoy it. During the day is the fun time, the kids are so exhausted come nightitme, going to dinner becomes more of a chore. The kids program only runs until, 4pm. Which is a bit disappointing, as it would have been nice to have dinner with my husband while the kids could unwind at the kids program. I do feel as though they are lacking on that end.

The food in the Restaurant left something to be desired, but did the trick. I don't believe it matched up to rest of the resort. Sails, which is an out door restaurant, was great! We had lunch poolside everyday there.

We booked a cruise in the hotels signature catamaran, the Lady Lynsay....which is a little pricey for all four of us, but believe me.....you get your money's worth for sure! The hotels amazing service is also demonstrated on the boat! The kids loved it and we all had a blast! They brought out a whole spread on yummy snacks and the bar was open! I think that was our favorite part of the trip!

The hotel offers some water sports that are included (no charge) we took paddle boats outs, used snorkeling gear and the hobie sailboat....that was amazing!

I can't say enough wonderful things about this resort. We've been home for two days, and I am having a hard time adjusting to reality! Lol! This has set the bar extremely high for future travel.....but it's my husbands fault...not mine!! Lol!

Room Tip: We had room 119 a garden view king with a sofa sleeper. The sofa sleepers are only twins....just an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Wonderful, gorgeous hotel, with fantastic service. The people who work here are so nice, and it really seems to come from the heart. We had a blissful week here. Our room overlooked the Carribean, our bed was so comfortable. The drinks were amazing. My only criticism would be that I would've liked to hear some indigenous music, instead of really corny reggae Xmas songs, and the food in the main restaurant could be better, but all one the most restful vacations we've ever had. We were lucky to arrive the week before Xmas, and just as we were leaving, it became very crowded and I would advise going there one to 2 weks before Xmas, or after New Years. Also, I've heard it's less windy in late January, the wind was alittle annoying. But all in all a great place.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Chef & Manager (William & Michael) are the living proof that Ritz stands for unsurpassed customer service.

We are vegan and attended the new years eve celebration in this casual, ocean front restaurant. The menu was a fixed buffet that at first looked somewhat vegan friendly.

When we arrived, we learned that most buffet items that could have been vegan were cooked with animal products. So there was almost nothing for us to eat expect a humble salad.

We spoke with Manager. He wasted no time to have the Chef come over to talk to us. The Chef, in a very professional manner, asked questions to learned about our dietary needs.

With almost no guidance from us, he proceeded to prepare a custom-plate for us. Not only was the thought amazing but the quality, flavors and creativity of the dishes were amazing!

Michael and William made our New Years Celebration a night to remember. Make sure that during your stay you stop by this casual restaurant and enjoy the genuine, great service & amazing food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Went to St Thomas for a family holiday over Christmas - overall impression is this is a very unique upscale Carribean property suited to US tastes.

The service level was way beyond anything we have experienced in the carribean. The quality of the resources, the abilityof the staff to assist and the overall demeanor of the staff servicing the front of the house, the club lounge as well as the pool and beach area was terrific.

We had a wide assortment of rooms as we had a large group and overall the rooms are fine. Big large luxurious beds with great Frete linens. Bathrooms had been redone a few years ago to accomodate a seperate shower and toilet area as well as double sinks and a small soaking tub. It is high quality but no doubt a retro fit - one done to goods standards for the US (exceptional for the caribean) but not exceptional. However way above functional and definetly well suited to the Ritz brand.

The rooms are decorated pretty basically, the desk and small sleep sofa are functional and have no unique features. The 32 inch lcd tv in the regular guest room was fine, the 55" in the Suite was excellent. All of the rooms had the cool Ritz coffee service in the box that has a single serve machine with all of the accouitraments in a wicker box, very nice! Balconies were huge and the furniture heavy gauged with fine cushions. The hard wall in front of each balcony kept us from really enjoying the space, nice for a room service meal but really annoying if trying to sit and read and enjoy a by the sea experience.

This property has a club room that is very dramatic and staff that is comparable with any in the chain. Accomodating, friendly and outgoing we enjoyed our interaction with the staff. Breakfast provided the standard club fare, oatmeal, cold cereal, yogurt parfaits, toast, bagels, muffins, juice, hard boiled eggs. Late afternooon snacks included a great cheese service and a few nibbles as well as fresh fruit and veggies. Similar service for pre-dinner apps but great cocktail service - a different cocktail of the day offered, access to a full bar and standard Ritz wine choices - Steven Kent and William Hill. Deserts, cookies, coffees and after dinner drinks all done well. The lounge itself is divided into multiple sections, a concierge desk on the left upon entering, down a set of dramatic stairs to a backward L shaped area with floor to ceiling views of the ocean/beach; to the left a kids area, to the right food displays and past that an adults only area of sofas and tables looking out on the beach. A door leads outside to two levels of tables and chairs that provide the same great view of the beach and bay.

Fitness center well stocked with relatively new treadmills, bikes and elipticals with LCD TVs most positioned with windowed water views. Both free weights and weight machines were plentiful and in great shape.

The pool is an "ess" shaped infinity that had pleanty of loungers with Ritz blue cushions and small tables and umbrellas availabole for every thrid chair or so. The staff was exceptional and attentive at setting up and also keeping chair hogs from spoiling the day for us late sleepers.

Same team kept the beach up to speed, and even though the house was full everyone seemed to get what they wanted, beach chairs with bimini tops were plentiful.

Beach services included free use of hobie cats, wind surfing, kayaks and paddle botas, these were used quite often and eays to btain. Lessons were provided by the staff and were the hardest thing to come by, plan ahead if you want to use this service. A crafts table creating "sand art" was fun and for $10 to $20 you could create a custom sea shell / art glass take home that was very popular.

There were two extra cost items at the beach area, three tented cabanas at one end of the beach and a private beach gazebo at the other. The gazebo worked well for us as we had a large group of 14 of us and it entitled us to secure a private beach area we could all sit togther in. Both the gazebo and the cabanas came with a dedicated attendant with great service for water, drinks, food, etc. Beach/pool food service was well above par but standard US fare like burgers and chicken ceasar salad plus excellent fish tacos but Pepsi products only for drinks.

The hotel's restaurants are innovative and fun except the breakfast service which is standard US hotel $35 buffet with all teh trimmings, done as well as can be expected. Lunch service by the pool or at Sails is executed very well, wait times are minimal for the Carribean, no real "island time" issues. Dinner service is in two restarurants, - one casual with a great sushi bar and patiio and outdoor seating, one more formal with excpetinal steaks and fish but prices to go with it. Both restaurants have backlit menus that are geat fun for the kids and allow us 50+ year old the ability to actually see a menu when dining outside.

The hotel has a catamaran that they run day trips and evening sunset sails, drinks and food are bountiful and of high quality. The captain, Patrick is skilled and a great knowledge source of the islands and historivcal points of interest.

All in all a great warm winter holiday location, priced outrageously ($1300 per nigth for a club floor room during the holiday season w/ 7 night minimum) but certainly one of the highest service quality experiences in the carribean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

We spent 4 days at the Ritz St Thomas. We had a wonderful experience except for a couple snafus. There was a roach in the bathroom and the shower door had a huge leak that pretty much flooded the bathroom entrance whenever someone showered. Management was very responsive to the latter issue and refunded the cost of 1 night's stay since they were unable to relocate us (hotel was completely booked).
The staff were extraordinarily helpful and welcoming. The beach was relaxing and the resort fee includes use of paddle boats, windsurfing, kayaking, hobie cats etc and we took advantage of all of them. Scuba lessons also available.
For the most part we ate at the resort restaurants - overpriced but pretty good. Breakfast buffet was $29 but we enjoyed it every morning.
Concierge arranged a taxi to take us to the airport and the driver was very prompt. FYI: airport opens at 6am so even if you have an early flight there's no point getting there before that. Thankfully the concierge gave us this information. Also we didn't realize that the hotel is about 30mins or so from the airport so plan accordingly.
Overall, great place to stay if you like luxury and you're willing to pay for it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.