We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a swimming beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hull Bay

Hull Bay
St. Thomas
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 132 things to do in St. Thomas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on St. Thomas' north shore, the beach at Hull Bay faces Inner and Outer Brass cays and attracts fishermen, beachcombers and, because it is open to rough Atlantic waters, is considered one of the best places to surf on the island.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not a swimming beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This beach is much rockier than most on the island, but still very nice if you just want to walk on the shoreline or listen to the surf. Just don't expect to swim like you can at Megan's. Very uncrowded the day we went so it was peaceful to just enjoy the ocean without the crowds. We saw some surfers over where the waves were higher and it has a boat dock with lots of amall boats moored just offshore.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tlcottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hull Bay is a terrific place to relax if you're looking for a quiet, no crowd type of beach scene where many locals hang out. The snorkeling was fantastic at Hull Bay. My husband and I saw a sea turtle on our very first day there on the the island. If you're relaxing on the beach and get thirsty and hungry; head over to the Hull Bay Hideaway and make sure you get the fish tacos. Delicious!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hiding place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I enjoyed it here! We went with a wonderful couple who had heard of the place! We did some snorkeling and there was only a handful of people! Great place to relax!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beredia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simple and no frills, day at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

It's a great family beach, no entry fee, and the snorkling is fun if you know where to look.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenniferQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food at affordable pricing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is truly a taste of the local life on St Thomas. A very relaxed, quaint bar where the locals hang and enjoy good music in a laid back atmosphere. The food is great and prices are reasonable. Had both the Fish Tacos and Grouper Fish and Chips and were probably the best Fish and Chips I ever had. Very lightly battered and seasoned to perfection. Kids can enjoy the beach or just run wild on the grounds. If you want a real local flavor, drop in next door to the converted Dairy truck and have Ed the Barber cut your hair. Try it out folks, it doesn't get any more "Local" than this!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hull Bay also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
East End, St. Thomas
South Coast, St. Thomas
 

Been to Hull Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing