We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous chunk of paradise laid out in a well prepared, food included day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morningstar Sailing and Power Charters

Morningstar Sailing and Power Charters
St. Thomas, USVI, 00802, St. Thomas
(340)775-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 201 Activities in St. Thomas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Morningstar’s day sail charter will show you the beautiful cays, bays and beaches of the Caribbean. After you snorkel and explore the island of St John the Captain and crew provide a delicious lunch of barbecue chicken, corn on the cob, sautéed vegetables, buttered rolls and Champagne all cooked fresh right on board the boat. After lunch you can set off to explore the uninhabited Islands and Cays surrounding St. John, Mingo, La Vongo, Grass and Thatch Cay. There you will find some of the best snorkeling and sailing anywhere in the Virgin Islands. Finally with a maximum of six passengers, you can take a turn at the helm or just lay back and relax and soak up the tropical sun while enjoying the pleasures of being pampered on your own 42 foot sailing yacht.Morningstar Update: We have just added a beautiful 42' Sparkman Stephens to our fleet. We can now accommodate up to 12 guests per day (6 per boat) in fabulous Regatta Sails. We pride ourselves in being the most flexible and customer service focused attraction on island. Please feel free to contact us at any time for all of your vacation needs!NEW!!! We now have custom power boat tours to the beautiful BVI!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A gorgeous chunk of paradise laid out in a well prepared, food included day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Be prepared for a wonderful day at sea. We were able to do everything we wanted and more. Captain Mike and First Mate Josh are wonderful! They make the extra effort to make you feel comfortable. The beach was amazing (honeymoon beach) and the food was excellent! I would recommend this to anyone else that is looking for a little adventure sprinkled into a relaxing voyage.

A must see!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    12
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Vacation Highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great captain "Mike" and crew "Bridget" very accommodating and personable. Lots of confidence, inspiring the novice sailors making them feel at ease. This the day of our 10th Wedding anniversary surprisingly turned out to be the highlight of our week in St Thomas. Good value for money, would definitely go again :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Highlight of Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I wish I could give Morningstar 10 stars, it was that fantastic! Our day of sailing was by far the highlight of our 10 day stay in St. Thomas. It was worth every penny and more. If we ever have the opportunity to go back, we will for sure take another day out with them. I'm sure all of the staff are great, but we had the opportunity to sail with Mike, who made our trip enjoyable and exciting. His assistant happened to be out of town visiting family, so he was sailing solo. This turned out to be our advantage because he taught each of us more about the basics of sailing and even let us steer for the majority of the trip. Mike was funny, personable, and made us feel right at home at sea. The places we stopped to snorkel had fantastic sea life and lots of sea turtles. The food Mike served us was by far the best food we ate the whole time on the island. Fresh, simple, delicious! The sail boat was beautiful and it's clear Mike takes pride in his vessel. We also had a great time swinging from the main mast and launching ourselves into the sea. If you do anything while you're in St. Thomas, this should be it! I would suggest booking ahead of time though, as sometimes they fill up and you won't want to miss out!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this amazing day on the water!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Before we arrived in St. Thomas, I got on Tripadvisor and read all of the reviews for Morningstar. I called Shawn and booked the day sail before we even arrived. He was extremely helpful with trying to get our excursion in on a day that made sense for us.
I will admit that my husband was a bit skeptical. We were looking to relax on this vacation and not party with a boat full of people.
We walked away so happy that we booked this excursion and cannot say enough great things about the day. We loved the fact that we were placed with a small group. Captain Mike was informative, laid back and a great guide and source of information. Bridget was sweet and always asking if we were hungry and/or thirsty. They took us to Honeymoon beach on St. John and the snorkeling put the rest to shame. Sea turtles, stingray and tropical fish galore. Breathtaking!
After snorkeling it was time for lunch and I say in all honesty it was the BEST meal we had on our vacation. Nice to have a "home cooked" lunch far away from home. YUM!
Our only complaint is that the day went way too fast.....
Thank you Captain Mike, Bridget and Morningstar for managing to top off our vacation in style and providing us with the relaxing and amazing excursion we were looking for. We can't wait to come back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Day of Sailing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

my family and i went on a sailing trip with Morningstar last week. We sailed from St Thomas to St John and snorkeled, ate lunch at Honeymoon Beach. We had a rough boat ride day before with a different company, so had a couple of nervous sailors. Fortunately, Mike and Bridget put them at ease and provided us with a great trip. The boat is a classic sailboat and is very pretty, but basic. Food was excellent. On way back, we managed to rescue a small boat with engine issues. Mike did a masterful job of getting them to shore. Added to excitement. All told, would recommend the trip. Nice way to spend the day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morningstar Sailing and Power Charters also viewed

 
East End, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Morningstar Sailing and Power Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morningstar Sailing and Power Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.