We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jen's Island Cafe and Deli

Jen's Island Cafe and Deli
43-46 Norre Gade, St. Thomas
340.777.4611
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 194 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive but very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We soon tired of shopping in town and scheduled a bus tour for noon, so we came in around 11am for an early lunch. We split a fish & chips. The prices were quite high - everything on the island was expensive - but the food was excellent and there was plenty for both of us. The cole slaw was the best I have ever eaten. We tried two of the local beers and enjoyed them very much. We ate inside as it was hot outside, and the place had a lot of atmosphere. I'd visit this place often if I lived there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    51
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A "rip-off"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

WARNING

This place is a "rip-off".

You will be surpised to see the price for a beer!

Outside they say "Free WiFi", but inside You will be informed after You have ordered drinks that You must also order some food to get access.

Don´t go there - I warned You!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Visited Jen's for an early lunch and we were greeted by Jen's husband, Marty. I got the fried fish sandwich and my hubby got the Jamaican jerk chicken wrap; both were super delicious. The fries are really good too. My frozen mudslide, hubby's Bushwacker and the kid's strawberry milkshake were all tasty. Atmosphere is chill with a variety of island music playing in the background. Marty was a really friendly guy with a sense of humor; he gave us a map of the historic area and some pointers on a few historic landmarks we might wish to visit nearby. I would highly recommend visiting Jen's for some yummy food in downtown Charlotte Amalie. We will be back on our next visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good food, great price. Deli style inside but amazing little courtyard in the back that you would not even know is there. They also have live music on Wednesdays in the courtyard. A place where locals go for lunch. Homemade food. Jen is always there. She's a fixture on the island

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great place to eat in the Center of Charlotte Amalie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place was hopping. The food was delicious. The service good but very slow. But everything on the Island is slow. People were very nice and lots of conversation going on amongst diners. They told us ahead of time that the service would be slow because everything is made to order. I was faint from the heat and they brought me cold water immediately in spite of the crowd. Jen is a pip - a really nice funny lady. Would go back when in the City.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jen's Island Cafe and Deli also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Been to Jen's Island Cafe and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jen's Island Cafe and Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.