We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1/2 price happy hour! Tapas wee exceptional! Mojitos fantastic and Lindsy our bar tender was the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
5 Estate Bakkeroe, St. Thomas
+1 340-715-2583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 199 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: “Tropical serenity meets cutting-edge chic.” These descriptive words spoken by co-owner, Nicole Horstmeyer, best describe the company vision of Blue Shore Grill which owns and operates the Frenchman’s Reef & Marriott Morning Star Beach Resort’s hottest restaurant – HAVANA BLUE. Overlooking Morning Star Beach, HAVANA BLUE is by far the island’s most sought after restaurant. The stunning décor features an eclectic mix of New York, South Beach and the Caribbean style to create a hip, yet approachable vibe. The restaurant’s cuisine combines authentic Cuban and Latin dishes with exotic spices and tangy sauces from the Pacific Rim. All of this, combined with the restaurant’s oceanfront location, creates a culinary experience unlike any other in the Caribbean.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1/2 price happy hour! Tapas wee exceptional! Mojitos fantastic and Lindsy our bar tender was the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend a stop to belly up to the bar or sit down and have a fantastic dinner! View is amazing, good even better!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We love being a spot where people can swing by for some Happy Hour treats, or settle in for a romantic sunset and exceptional meal. We appreciate your recommendation for both experiences! You can bet we'll let Lindsay know that you appreciated her great service, too. If you find yourself back in St. Thomas, we'll be waiting with the perfect Happy Hour specials to kick your evening off right. Thanks for the kind review.

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    333
    159
    59
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Jason was amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Best service we have ever had and the food was delicious. Jason was an amazing sever. Chilean Sea Bass is a must and the Tuna was fantastic. Havana Blue was our best choice for our last night on St. Thomas :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Nothing like saving the best for last! We're so glad you stopped in to HAVANA BLUE before ending your vacation in St. Thomas, Tiffani. Excellent recommendations, and we'll be sure to pass your kind words on to Jason. Hope you'll get a chance to come back to the island and see us again soon. Thanks for the great review!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memorable evening at Havana Blue!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After 7 days on a catamaran charter thru the BVI's, we were ready for a great meal and cocktails. The seabass & tuna were outstanding, the wine list incredible, and the chocolate martini's were out of this world. Amazing service and great setting right on the beach. Sexy restaurant not to be missed in St Thomas. Go, go, go!!! Can't wait to go back next year!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It was our pleasure to provide the great meal and cocktails that you were so ready for! Thank you stopping in at HAVANA BLUE to spend a wonderful evening with us. You definitely did it right, and we're glad you enjoyed every item you ordered. Here's to a speedy year so you can come see us again! Thanks for the fantastic review and recommendation to others.

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You don't leave with the Blues at Havana Blue...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice place Lindsay and Tiffany are great bartenders I did not like that I could not charge things to my room from there. They should also me open later and have live music. They should have a champagne brunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself here, and that you don't leave with the blues after visiting HAVANA BLUE! Great title to your review. We apologize that the room charge capability was down during your visit and very much appreciate your recommendations on how we could make your experience here even better. Feedback like that from our guests is always great to see. Stop by to visit us again any time you're in St. Thomas for another delightful evening!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“NYC Dining in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Beautiful simple decor over looking the ocean. Impeccable service. The staff was very knowledgable and attentive. The food was outstanding best on the island. The ahi tuna was to die for and the cool cappuccino for dessert is a must!! You will not be disappointed. Travis our waiter was wonderful. Ask for him!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
What a beautifully written review! Thank you so much for making HAVANA BLUE part of your St. Thomas experience. We'll be sure to pass your kind words on to Travis, and there's no doubt he'll take great care of anyone that follows your recommendation to ask for him. We appreciate the feedback, and hope to see you again!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.