We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable evening at Havana Blue!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
5 Estate Bakkeroe, St. Thomas
+1 340-715-2583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 193 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: “Tropical serenity meets cutting-edge chic.” These descriptive words spoken by co-owner, Nicole Horstmeyer, best describe the company vision of Blue Shore Grill which owns and operates the Frenchman’s Reef & Marriott Morning Star Beach Resort’s hottest restaurant – HAVANA BLUE. Overlooking Morning Star Beach, HAVANA BLUE is by far the island’s most sought after restaurant. The stunning décor features an eclectic mix of New York, South Beach and the Caribbean style to create a hip, yet approachable vibe. The restaurant’s cuisine combines authentic Cuban and Latin dishes with exotic spices and tangy sauces from the Pacific Rim. All of this, combined with the restaurant’s oceanfront location, creates a culinary experience unlike any other in the Caribbean.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Memorable evening at Havana Blue!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After 7 days on a catamaran charter thru the BVI's, we were ready for a great meal and cocktails. The seabass & tuna were outstanding, the wine list incredible, and the chocolate martini's were out of this world. Amazing service and great setting right on the beach. Sexy restaurant not to be missed in St Thomas. Go, go, go!!! Can't wait to go back next year!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It was our pleasure to provide the great meal and cocktails that you were so ready for! Thank you stopping in at HAVANA BLUE to spend a wonderful evening with us. You definitely did it right, and we're glad you enjoyed every item you ordered. Here's to a speedy year so you can come see us again! Thanks for the fantastic review and recommendation to others.

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    295
    146
    54
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You don't leave with the Blues at Havana Blue...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice place Lindsay and Tiffany are great bartenders I did not like that I could not charge things to my room from there. They should also me open later and have live music. They should have a champagne brunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself here, and that you don't leave with the blues after visiting HAVANA BLUE! Great title to your review. We apologize that the room charge capability was down during your visit and very much appreciate your recommendations on how we could make your experience here even better. Feedback like that from our guests is always great to see. Stop by to visit us again any time you're in St. Thomas for another delightful evening!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“NYC Dining in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Beautiful simple decor over looking the ocean. Impeccable service. The staff was very knowledgable and attentive. The food was outstanding best on the island. The ahi tuna was to die for and the cool cappuccino for dessert is a must!! You will not be disappointed. Travis our waiter was wonderful. Ask for him!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
What a beautifully written review! Thank you so much for making HAVANA BLUE part of your St. Thomas experience. We'll be sure to pass your kind words on to Travis, and there's no doubt he'll take great care of anyone that follows your recommendation to ask for him. We appreciate the feedback, and hope to see you again!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Best Surf and Turf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the best food on the island. Had the surf and turf, it was to die for! Followed up with the plantains foster tableside. We went back a second night because it was so good. Great food, great staff, great location.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Earning the title of best food on the island from you is something we're thrilled to see. Thanks so much for making HAVANA BLUE part of your visit to St. Thomas! It's also great to hear that you came back a second time, and we appreciate you sharing that Come back to the island and see us again soon!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing! Can't wait to come back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great place for food, drinks and lively atmosphere! Even in the "off season" Havana Blue did not disappoint.
Jeff and Oz were personable and great hosts. Mahi dish is delicious. The Pollo dish is even better.
The best part? The desserts. Great selection and taste. This is my first stop my next trip down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We're thrilled to hear that you had such a delightful time with us. The Mahi Maho Mahi and HAVANA Pollo are definitely a couple customer favorites. We'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Jeff and Oz for making sure you received the full HAVANA BLUE dining experience. We're already looking forward to your next visit. See you then!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.