We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait staff was just ok, expensive meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Blue

Havana Blue
5 Estate Bakkeroe, St. Thomas
+1 340-715-2583
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 180 restaurants in St. Thomas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: “Tropical serenity meets cutting-edge chic.” These descriptive words spoken by co-owner, Nicole Horstmeyer, best describe the company vision of Blue Shore Grill which owns and operates the Frenchman’s Reef & Marriott Morning Star Beach Resort’s hottest restaurant – HAVANA BLUE. Overlooking Morning Star Beach, HAVANA BLUE is by far the island’s most sought after restaurant. The stunning décor features an eclectic mix of New York, South Beach and the Caribbean style to create a hip, yet approachable vibe. The restaurant’s cuisine combines authentic Cuban and Latin dishes with exotic spices and tangy sauces from the Pacific Rim. All of this, combined with the restaurant’s oceanfront location, creates a culinary experience unlike any other in the Caribbean.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Wait staff was just ok, expensive meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had to return my steak because the waitress never asked how I wanted it and it came rare. The management was attentive about it, the waitress wasn't.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We apologize for the misstep on our service. Our staff is typically on the ball with details like that. We hope everything was taken care of to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the rest of your meal. Thank you for letting us know about this, and we hope to give you a better experience next time you're in St. Thomas.

Take care,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    640
    207
    110
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We ate at Havana Blue on June 16th, and the food was very nice, but the setting is pure luxury. It is not inexpensive to eat dinner here, but is well worth it. Make sure you make a reservation early, and ask for a waterfront table if available. It is covered al fresco, and you can hear the surf. Christine, our server and sommelier, was so informed about the menu and really made us feel welcome here! A must do in St Thomas.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We're flattered to see you name HAVANA BLUE a 'must-to in St. Thomas', Nicole! Thank you for that. Christine takes great pride in providing exceptional experiences for our guests, and we'll let her know that you appreciated her efforts. Come back to see us soon, and thanks again for the review!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This open-air restaurant that overlooks the ocean is simply beautiful!! This was the first Latin-Cuban restaurant experience I'd had and it was simply fabulous! Yes, it may be on the expensive side, but it's worth every penny of it!!! Our server, Molly, was on top of everything explaining the different appetizers and dishes so we would understand the ingredients to help us make our choices. Our group chose a variety of appetizers to share and each were out of this world! We all had different entrees and taste-tested each others. There were lots of ooo's and ahhh's around the table! And you most definitely need to end your meal with one of their desserts. You may not have room for it, but at least order one to share. Make reservations ahead of time because they get booked.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to introduce you to Latin-Caribbean style cuisine, Kathy! It sounds like you enjoyed the type of experience we pride ourselves on here at HAVANA BLUE, and we'll be sure to let Molly know that you appreciated her service. Sharing is definitely the way to go, and we hope to see you back sharing dishes again soon. Thank you for the very kind review!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went there last night and were overwhelmed. At first we were leery as it is part of the Marriot Hotel. We were wrong. From the first interaction to the last it was great. Let me start with our waiter- RYAN.

He was a consummate professional. Every piece of advice was spot on. He recommended the Snapper and Mahi Mahi and what preparations he enjoyed. He gave us a great wine recommendation and it was not costly. There were much more expensive wines but asking what we liked in our wines, he came up with a perfect wine.

We had the Ceviche of the Day, Mahi Mahi, the Chorizo and Shrimp Stuffed Red Snapper. In addition I had the Sweet Glazed Plantains and the Havana Banana for dessert. Everything was great. We have eaten all over the world and did not expect to be blown away by anything in the Virgin Islands, let alone this restaurant at the end of a street. After the Five Flies Restaurant in Amsterdam, this my be my next favorite. Great job Havana Blue and Ryan.

You will NOT be disappointed.

Wesley and Leslie
Los Angeles, CA

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Wesley and Leslie,

Thank you so much for letting us know that we rank so highly on your list! We take pride in providing an exceptional experience here at HAVANA BLUE, and we'll be sure to let Ryan know how much you appreciated his service. It sounds like you guys made some delectable choices, and we couldn't be happier to hear that your visit left such an impression on you. Stop in to see us again next time you're in St. Thomas. Thank again!

Best regards,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Privately Owned & Operated by the Blue Shore Grill Restaurant Group, LLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Unique”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We chose this beautifully located restaurant to celebrate with friends for their anniversary. Molly, our server was knowledgeable with her recommendations and we all chose four different entrees. The steak with chimichurri sauce, jalopeno creamed spinach, sea bass, wasabi mashed potatoes, fried asparagus (the best ever), mahi with risotto, and filet were excellent! We all vowed that our meal was the best ever and passed bites around the table. The cerviche appetizer was great! The view and blue lighting made this venue very pretty at dusk and into the night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWaterMG, Management at Havana Blue, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for the very kind words! It looks like there might be a mistake, though. You actually only rated us one star, but from the raving review, it sounds like it should have been vastly different! Aside from that, we're glad Molly took such excellent care of everyone in your group, and we'll make sure she know that her efforts were appreciated. Come back to see us again any time.

Take care,

HAVANA BLUE Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Blue also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Havana Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.