We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent little restaurant in Frenchtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Blu

Bella Blu
24-A Honduras, 00802, St. Thomas
340.774.4349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 182 restaurants in St. Thomas
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A decent little restaurant in Frenchtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went to Bella Blu with our son and girlfriend for dinner in November 2012. The restaurant was not very busy with only about 3 tables, but it was early, They have a good amount of German food on the menu, and German beer. I had a sausage platter which was excellent, and everyone else's meal was great. Good wine selection, fairly reasonable prices, and a very attentive staff. Of with only 3 tables active you would expect the staff to be very attentive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    81
    31
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good service, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went on Saturday afternoon, without reservations. Service was great, very attentive staff. The appetizers are very small, individual portions. The portion of the main dish was very reasonable. The food was ok, but none of us 4 were impressed. The restaurant is for "fine dining", so it is pricey, and you might feel unconfortable in shorts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OK, It's Not a Caribbean Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

But It's only a short walk to the fresh fish market, and to the harbor at Charlotte Amalie. At the bar, you'll find locals mostly, a few tourists, and a raft of repeat customers who come for quality, consistency, and freshly-prepared traditional Euro-centric dishes served by experienced and accommodating servers.

I confess I get more than a fair share of Caribbean-influenced fare when I'm on island [maybe 3 times a year for the last 30]. So for me Bella Blu is a special treat: crispy, grease-free schnitzel sauced perfectly. I can get my salt cod and fungi elsewhere, but for a hearty lunch or dinner I'm at Bella Blu. Or at their next-door pizza place [Pie Whole] for the best hand-thrown pizza on the island -- and without a doubt the largest craft beer collection.

You can't say this about many restaurants on St. T -- but Bella Blu is actually better than home.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Yum"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good food, good service. Best steak on Island in my opinion, drinks are well made. Service is quick & the staff is very attentive & accomodating. strongly recommend you try this lovely restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice Schnitzel but where was the Caribbean Flare?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I'm hesitant to even write this review considering all the super reviews for this restaurant, but I have to call it like I see it.

I found the menu confusing. Bella Blu markets itself as an Austrian restaurant, but the menu seemed more like a hodge podge of German, Greek, Italian, and American food. That's fine, it's just not what I was expecting. Their tagline is "Austrian Cuisine with a Caribbean Flare". I didn't see hardly anything on the menu of a Caribbean nature.

The garlic bread was tasty. For entree, I had the sun-dried tomato pesto with penne pasta. It was good, but it was not beyond anything I could get at a local chain.

On a better note, my husband had the schnitzel with Linzer sauce and he thoroughly enjoyed it. He said it was worth returning for. He would give Bella Blu a 3.5 rating if it were allowed.

Our waitress was courteous and helpful, especially with the wine. She was efficient without being overbearing.

For ambiance, I found the restaurant to be too dark. It was difficult to read the menu, and even getting a good look at the food wasn't the easiest.

Perhaps I simply ordered the wrong thing and that prevented me from experiencing the best the restaurant had to offer. But if it weren't for my husband dragging me back there for the schnitzel, I probably wouldn't return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Blu also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Bella Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.