We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice place right on the water in Frenchtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hook, Line & Sinker

Hook, Line & Sinker
62 Honduras | French Town, St. Thomas
340.776.9708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 180 restaurants in St. Thomas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food and nice place right on the water in Frenchtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have gone to this place for the past 5 years that we have visited the island. The food is good along with the service. The place is right on the water and has all of the windows open so you can get a nice sea breeze. The seafood that they serve is very fresh and the sandwiches are excellent. My mom thinks that their key lime pie is the best ever.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    123
    95
    34
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best seafood on St. Thomas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

After three local people recommended this place for dinner, we knew we just had to go. Although there is no air conditioning, the weather was just great and we never missed it. I had the escargot appetizer and, I believe, had 10 snails in a bowl in yummy sauce. Not the traditional way to serve it, but I got twice as much! My husband had the stuffed mushrooms and they were wonderful! I had the 1/2 lobster with seafood stuffing on top and ate every bite. It also came with a bake potato and veggies. We topped the night off with a chocolate cake the waitress recommended and it did not disappoint. Atmosphere was nice and service better than most places. (I've learned that the service is slow for the most part in the Caribbean, so this was a plus). I would go here again for sure. Casual dining which is a plus for me!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go for the Prime Rib!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Best on the island! All the food was excellent, but he may need to invest in some fans to get a breeze. No AC, so it was a little warm. Located in Frenchtown on the otherside of the bay from the cruise ships, definitely worth a visit during your vacation!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“They didn't seem to want us there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

First of all, it was 5:00 on a Wednesday and the cruise ships were just pulling out of the harbor. Maybe they expect everyone else to just go home. When we arrived, there were zero people in there and the staff stared at us with a dead look on their faces. "Can we help you?" We asked if we could grab some food and they said they don't start serving dinner until 6pm and that nothing was available until then. We asked if we could have a drink and they offered us the happy hour prices, which were higher than most other places normal prices in town. We had our one drink and decided not to wait around for the dinner. We were hungry and they didn't seem to want us there anyway. I gave 2 stars because a few people in town actually recommended it to us, so it can't be terrible.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Eat Where the Locals Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The headline tells the story here. This is a local restaurant that stays closed until the cruise ships leave port. It has to. Its just too relaxed here for those on a tight schedule to get back to the ship. Relax in the semi open air setting as every window is propped fully open to catch the trade breezes off the harbor at Frenchtown. You can come early and enjoy the atmosphere but nothing happens till about 6 oclock when today's menu is printed based on the catches that day by the fishermen of Frenchtown. Linger over a beer while some of the freshest fish in the world is done in a simple style to perfection. The Almond crusted grouper is very lightly coated in Panko before the coating of paper thin almonds. The most expensive item is the half tropical lobster, cleaned then stuffed with shrimp filling to fill up the spaces where the lobster's works used to be and then grilled and served with melted butter. I would trade my $40 for this dish every day of the year. Finish the night with more moderately priced drinks and a serving of Auntie's home made rum cake served on strawberry sauce with whipped cream. Don't expect fancy. Don't expect air conditioning. Don't expect fast service. Food this good takes time to prepare. Think like a local and this will be your forever memory of dining on St. Thomas.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hook, Line & Sinker also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Hook, Line & Sinker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hook, Line & Sinker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.