We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavor of St. Thomas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gladys' Cafe

Gladys' Cafe
5600 Royal Dane Mall | Suite #9, St. Thomas
340 774 6604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 180 restaurants in St. Thomas
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Description: Try authentic Creole Caribbean and Continental dishes at breakfast and lunch in a colonial warehouse in downtown Charlotte Amalie. Sample all three varieties of Gladys' world famous homemade Hot Sauce - it makes great gifts for your spicy-food-loving friends.
Los Alamitos, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Flavor of St. Thomas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was the first restaurant my husband and I hit when we landed on the island and it was a great way to get a taste of St. Thomas. It is located in one of the passageways of the downtown "mall". The food was very tasty and the atmosphere was quaint. Our waitress was AMAZING!! She was a mature woman that gave us the best service that we experienced from the "locals".

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    419
    217
    80
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Llttle hideaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

LocaWe nverted in one of the passageways off the Charlottle Amalie main shopping street, this little restaurant offers delicious food for the weary shopper. We never miss a visit to Glady's when in St. Thomas. Friendly atmosphere, good food, reasonable prices.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Well menu was great but I was eating light. Order a chicken salad which wasn't so great. Bloody Marie's were good though. Atmosphere was great

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, DE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“On the bay in old town Charlotte Amalee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

In old town. Menu was very different. I had curried goat. Staff was attentive. Atmosphere was great. Food was so so. Right in the middle of wonderful shops.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local food & service at it's best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

located in downtown Gladys' Cafe is a MUST!! The food is amazing and the service is unsurpassed!! We enjoyed several lunches here and our whole family loved it. They have several varieties of homemade hot sauce to go with your meal and they also sell them for you to enjoy at home of give as gifts. There are many shops nearby so make a day of it and stop by for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladys' Cafe also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Gladys' Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gladys' Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.