We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar

Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar
7 Wimmelskafts Gade [aka Back Street], St. Thomas
340.777.4711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 194 Restaurants in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Littleton, Co
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We asked a local shop keeper for any lunch reccomendations. She directed us to Cuzzin's. Very quaint, out of the way location. My wife had a shrimp platter which was ok. I had the BBQ chicken dish. It wasn't great and I returned to our ship with Salmonella from the chicken. Hard to recconmmend any restaurant after that!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    122
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great West Indian Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Loved this place and would highly recommend it. If you are looking for authentic Carribean / West Indian food, go here when in Charlotte Amile. We started with Conch Fitters. If you like Conch Fritters, you will likely find these to be among the best you have tried. Light batter with chunks of conch, not overly fried. It is served with a creole style Louis sauce which pairs perfectly.

I ordered Curried Mutton with sweet potato, fungi and the fried plantains. The mutton was melt in you're mouth tender and the curry was the perfect West Indian spiced version. The fungi had a nice texture of cornmeal mixed with okra in a nice gravy. The other two sides were great too.

One big tip here! If you like rum punch, order their Cuzzins Punch. I loved the first so much I quickly ordered two more. Best rum punch I ever had and they don't skimp on the rum! Based on this, other drinks are probably great too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We tried to go to Cuzzin's the first night of our trip. It was not open for dinner, but we returned later for lunch. We had a great lunch two years ago, and were very happy with our most recent meal. Good local recipes, with choice of three sides. The fried plantains and sweet potatoes were great. Worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Carribbean Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

The hubby and I went here for lunch and waited for about 5 mins for a table. There were so many people here from the cruise ships! We ordered conch in creole sauce and fried red snapper in creole sauce. Both were very delicious! The sides of fried plantains and fungi, cornmeal of veggies were delish as well. Service is very attentive and waiter answered our questions on the food.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
“Great Local Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Local jeweler recommended this restaurant. Loved it. If you want to try local food, this is the place to go.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuzzin's Caribbean Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.