We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stretch of white sand beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Beach

Rainbow Beach
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely stretch of white sand beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a lovely beach where the water is quite calm and protected. There are facilities along the beach front as well as a number of restaurants and beach gear rentals including paddle boards and snorkel gear. Grab lunch in Frederiksted and hit the beach!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    59
    23
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Aside from some whimsical man-made reefs, e.g., toilets and The Thinker, some really nice natural stuff. My wife had a sea turtle almost swim into her mask. After snorkeling, walk up to Rhythms for munchies, drinks, and shore fun.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible jet skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Rainbow Beach and the Jet skiing was great. The water is definitely less choppy on the west side of the island and you are allowed to go out pretty far. Prices are reasonable. Staff is very friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Deep erosion in the last few months”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I don't doubt that this was once a beautiful beach. But, the erosion has been severe in the last few months. I often see travelers complaining about "rocky" beaches, and there's only like a rock or two. It looks fine, until you step into the water. Once you step into the water you realize it is all rocks. There is also a big drop-off. We met up with some people who have been here 10 times before and they were in shock at how terrible the sand conditions are.

The bar has a great view, but the drinks were really watered down. A "mango" drink was mostly ice and OJ. The chairs for rent have seen better days. And there is a catamaran that leaves from Frederikstead that parks right in front and dumps like 100 people (who can barely make it to shore due to the rocks). Wish I would have read a review like this before deciding to spend our only day in St. Croix here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
346 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Can You Really Complain?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am writing this review under the premise that this is the beach that is located near the area where the cruise ship docks. Exit the pier and turn left and you find the beach awaiting you. There are multiple vendors along this stretch of beach who will rent you chairs some others will rent snorkel gear, paddle boards and other items. Most have everything from a small hut that serves as a bar to full blown restaurants. All seem to have sort of restroom facility. Overall the beach was nice. Lots of rocks in the water. As previous reviewers have said, you have to go out to location of the swim buoy to find consistent sand and at the point you have to dive to find it. Overall it was a great way to start our cruise with time at the beach for the low cost of $7 for a beach chair. In all honestly can you really complain about a beach when the alternative is your office?

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Beach also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rainbow Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.