We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great beach but not the best on the island..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Beach

Rainbow Beach
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Frederiksted
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Denver
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A great beach but not the best on the island..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Sandcastle on the Beach and spent the better part of our beach time on this beach. The water was great!

The locals come out on the weekends to party and can be kind of noisy. In our case, they blasted music (from giant speakers mounted in the back of a truck) all day long.

On the other hand, the locals also do some things that are interesting and charming. We saw people getting baptized. Every day several horses were brought down to cool down and swim in the ocean. A lot of locals also come out and just hang out in the water chatting with each other.

If you like to snorkel and swim out far enough you can see some awesome fish and even sea turtles.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    29
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansted, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Crowded with terrible parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great for sunset, but a little buggy. Always good music and easy to find a pickup game of volleyball. But the crowds and the terrible parking keep me away.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rainbow Beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Restaurant is really good with tables on the beach. Burgers were good. Beach is ok but swimming sucks because of rocky bottom. Watch your car because of petty theft. I am not going back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rockin Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

By far, Rainbow Beach is the most colorful, lively beach and the best I have been too. The water is breathtaking, the parking is easy, restaurant is awesome and the people are amazing.They also have chair and umbrella rentals too!! What a fabulous day at Rainbow Beach. Can't wait to be there again, real soon!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Beach and Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

great beach to sun and swim. not much to see snorkeling. the restaurant on the beach has great food and the service is great. must visit if you have time on the island. PS i heard that you need to watch your belongings in your car. there has been reports of petty thief

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Beach also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rainbow Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.