We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Diving and Dive Masters but Cottages need overhaul"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cane Bay Cottages

Cane Bay Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederiksted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cane Bay Cottages
Save Saved
You added Cane Bay Cottages to your Saves list
110 C Cane Bay, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancaster, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Diving and Dive Masters but Cottages need overhaul"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great diving and great dive Masters. We found some good restaurants in the area for food. Eats@Cane bay was good and Pizza at Off the Wall. Cottages were just a bit to rustic with the need of a overhaul. Outside Deck and Table was rotted. I am used to seeing island insects but there was more than I usually see.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canebaydiveshop, Manager at Cane Bay Cottages, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We thank our customer for the compliments on our diving and on our dive Masters as well as our neighboring restaurants Eat@Canebay and Off the Wall. We would like to add a few comments regarding our cottages. Our cottages are clean and comfortable and accurately portrayed on our website. For divers who would like to have the full use of a complete kitchen, have a separate living room and be able to roll out of bed and go diving their value is without compare in St Croix. While we understand that not every kind of lodging fits every type of guest we appreciate all of our guest’s comments. We further note the picnic table has been replaced. Life in the Caribbean along the shore takes its toll on all outdoor furniture and we repair and replace often and do apologize this was not done before your arrival. Regarding the bugs, we have some seasons where they are more, others where there are less. This year has been terrible. We hope our guests keep their doors closed to limit the bug access to the cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cane Bay Cottages just last week. Our only regret is that we were there for only 7 nights and not longer. Here's what you get:

Location - St. Croix
- Gorgeous caribbean island, beautiful warm blue waters and nice white sand beaches
- As a US territory it is a very easy arrival & departure experience compared to other destinations
- Familiar products and brands, can find the same things you like back home. Liquor is cheap.
- Plenty of great restaurants, shopping, and lots of photo opps (don't miss the beer drinking pigs!)

Cane Bay Dive Shop
- 1st rate dive operation, friendly knowledgable staff, top notch gear, boats, etc.
- Caters to your schedule, preferences, skill levels, etc. Exceptional service!
- Equipped to support beginner through advanced technical diver training.
- Located on same large property along with cottages and restaurant (Eat @ Cane Bay)
- Directly across from best beach on the island for shore diving. Gear up, walk in.
- Closest beach access to the famous wall dive.

Property Owners/Hosts
Suzanne & Hal - your quality vacation and diving experience is their #1 focus. Fun people too!

The Diving
- Some of the most diverse and healthy sites we have seen throughout the caribbean.
- Everything from seahorses to dolphin and shark (yes on purpose) encounters.
- Reef, wall, wreck, and pier diving. All different with amazing coral, sponges, colors & critters.

We rented a car and drove the entire island on our non-dive day. TomTom GPS application on my phone had all of the roads so it was easy to get around. Just remember to drive on the left side.

Cane Bay has gone to the top of our desired repeat caribbean dive destinations. You'll love it!

Room Tip: We had one of the superior cottages (#2) with full kitchen and all the amenities and comforts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The best diving on the island. Hal (the owner), Neil, Nick, Beth, Rick, Ashley, and Ash were all very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a cottage next to the dive shop. The equipment, boats and tanks were very good. Hal and his staff couldn't do enough for us. As guides and knowledgeable dive masters, Neil, Nick, Beth, and Rick were exceptional. The sea wasp boat, that we used from shore, had a zipper in the bottom which allowed access to the water from a sitting position in the boat. It was extremely convenient and easy for entries and exits. Whether you stay at Cane Bay, or elsewhere on the island, you must dive with these people. They are the best at what they do, and you will not meet nicer folks anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This resort with cottages has a great location on N side of island in rain forest with beautiful beaches and old 1800s fort ruins; We had a cottage with full kitchen. On site restaurant Eat@cane bay has great food. Island is easy to drive with good GPS - we used iPad google maps. Nearby restaurant to east is Rowdy Joe's - also excellent creative food menu. Try the wontons and the fried edamame. Skip the "Waves" as overpriced and nothing special. Be sure to go to St George Botanical garden and plantation ruins. Awesome. Try driving to far east and west points of island for great beach walking and isolated spectacular views. Shopping so-so in Christiansted but some interesting art. Fredricksted shuts down unless cruise ships are in. Turtle's deli has great sandwich creations with best breads ever - worth the wait and location on beach is very nice. Also great is la Reine Chicken Shack for chicken and fish. We were the 2 nondivers in a group experienced with Caribbean island diving who said the diving was some of the best they had done. Dive shop crew very accommodating.

Room Tip: Cottage 1 has best ocean view. Closing wood shutters in morning on front before leaving help keeps c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a beautiful beach with a view from your front porch, great diving and wonderful people, Cane Bay Cottages is the place! We just finished a 10 day stay here & loved it! We have been diving all around the Caribbean and have found the crew at Cane Bay to be some of the best in the water and out!

The cottages are all that you need, comfortable & clean and all about their location! Keep in mind however that you are on an island and plan on being unplugged intermittently, the internet & phone services come & go, but who cares you're at the beach!

We highly recommend Cane Bay Cottages & Dive shop and are already planning our return trip for next year!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cane Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cane Bay Cottages

Address: 110 C Cane Bay, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Frederiksted
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive the Wall right from your doorstep. The Wall runs along St Croix's North Shore and the Cane Bay Coattges are located in the perfect place for your dive vacation. The Cottages offer the most flexible and convenient dive packages with unlimited shore diving and 10 minute boat rides to all St Croix's fantastic dive sites. It is Always a Great Day at Cane Bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cane Bay Cottages St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cane Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.