We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cane Bay Campground, Virgin Islands

Cane Bay Campground, Virgin Islands
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederiksted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cane Bay Campground, Virgin Islands
Save
You added Cane Bay Campground, Virgin Islands to your Saves list
110 Rt 80 | Cane Bay Beach, Kingshill, Frederiksted 00850, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Midland, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had such a wonderful time staying in these lovely camping cabins that we plan on returning in March of next year. Jill and Brian are an amazing couple who gave us a great Adventure Week. And the cabins are so well thought out in terms of their design and what they include. For example, we were there in July and it was pretty sticky but the cabins had two rechargeable fans that kept the interior quite comfortable.

As long as you like to camp, this is luxurious camping and a great value. And we strongly recommend doing Brian and Jill's adventure week during your stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

You won't find a more wonderful place to get back to what feels good....truly a getaway. This is not "tent camping" - this is a campsite with a comfortable bed, plenty of space for your things, protected from the elements and pests, but open air to the ocean, the jungle and the breeze. The tent cabins and all amenities are new, clean, organized and comfortable. You are walking distance to the best beach bar/restaurant (Spratnet) as well as a very popular more formal restaurant (Eats) and incredible peaceful lovely beach and the departure site for island tours from the luminescent bay canoe trips to the scuba and snorkel center which are both literally at the top of the hill from your cabin. For those "non campers" no fear: you have a locker to store your things safely, and charge your cell phone and ipod, a fan and camp lights ready to go when you get to your room, a little store for toiletries, snacks and any basic you could need, and even a private bath. This is perfect compromise for the couple where one is outdoorsy and the other is not....I went alone and had a BALL!!!! Nice people, lovely island...you won't regret staying here....

Room Tip: All tent cabins are stocked, new, consistent and comfortable....hammock, addirondack chairs, picnic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our five nights at Cane Bay were simply SWEET in every way. We were celebrating our 35th anniversary on this trip, and our stay in the tent cabins at Cane Bay was the finest in our long history of camping trips together. Cane Bay Campground is affordable, clean, private, and a convenient launching point for exploring all of St. Croix. Sleeping in the cabin in our comfortable queen bed was amazing since we could feel the breezes and hear the “nightlife” in the woods, but felt totally safe from creepy crawly things. No bugs and no humidity!

We wanted to camp in the Virgin Islands, and checked out St. John, but this facility made camping possible without the need to carry a lot of equipment. Our hosts, Jill & Bryan Updyke, thought of everything when equipping the cabins. What’s not in the cabin is likely available in the commissary. While we didn’t take advantage of the adventure package, we did enjoy the bioluminescence kayak tour at Salt Bay one evening. Bryan is an excellent tour guide, with boatloads of knowledge and a true passion for both the history and future of the island.

Our evening meals at the local restaurants (within walking distance) were excellent. We were thrilled with the food and service at Eat@CaneBay (LOVED the reggae brunch on Sunday), and the Tuesday night bingo at Off The Wall was a great experience (with the bonus of an awesome sunset). I can’t say enough about the atmosphere at the beach. Super laid back. Next time we’ll get up the energy to snorkel/dive and check out the Wall! Because we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The ecocamp experience was nothing short of jungle amazing and filled with incredible adventures. The camp was beautiful, the cabins are super-cozy. The hikes and kayaking adventures were also incredible.... with a huge variety of sites to see. The owners Brian and Jill are wonderful people and simply made the trip great. So helpful and friendly, they took extra time to explain to us every type of plant or animal that we saw. My dives at the Cane bay dive shop were also wonderful and only a short walk from camp. , and the dining choices just a short walk from camp were all delish.... Can't say enough good things about my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Cane Bay Campgrounds is a fantastic, eco-friendly "semi-luxury" camping getaway just minutes from one of the best beaches on St. Croix's beautiful north shore. 4 quite large. raised tented cabins, each on a private campsite nestled at the foot of the rainforest and each equipped with private grill, covered bench, firepit, adirondack chairs, sunshower and hammocks. The "tents" themselves are raised, mostly-wood structures, fully screened and doored with a small landing with built in seating at the top of the stairs. They are clean and beautifully kept, equipped with very comfortable queen beds (some with a single bed, some with two - perfect for families!), fresh modern linens, dining table and chairs, large cooler, propane camp stove, camp lights, a battery-operated fan, dishes, utensils, coffee pot and several pans (including good-quality cast-iron fry pan). A Well-water spigot is available just steps away, and at the main camp (just a minutes walk from your campsite) you will find a small camp store with charcoal, propane, and a variety of grocery staples, as well as bathrooms and showers that are kept clean and well-equipped. A 3-minute walk on a nicely cleared path brings you to a fantastic beach, kayaking, diving, and at least 5 restaurants and bars within a few minute walk. The owners, Jill and Brian, are very knowledgable about the island, helpful and just wonderful people! They also run Virgin Kayak, and we thoroughly enjoyed a several-hour moonlit "bio bay" tour of Salt River National Park with a multi-national group staying at the campground. Jill and Brian have thought of everything, and provided a great place to get away from it all and experience the beauty and nature of the island while enjoying all of the modern comforts in an eco-friendly holiday. By the day or by the week, this might be the best value and most beautiful setting on St. Croix (and we live here!). Very highly recommended to residents seeking a "staycation" and visitors wanting to experience the best St. Croix has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Cane Bay Campground provides large, comfortable, well-furnished, wood-floored tents on very large, completely private sites. It seems very wild, yet the beach is only a 3-4 minute walk form your campsite. The Cane Bay location is fantastic, with an excellent beach, kayaking, snorkeling, and diving. There are a number of very good restaurants nearby within easy walking distance. The owners of the campground, Brian and Jill, are extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cane Bay Campground, Virgin Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cane Bay Campground, Virgin Islands

Address: 110 Rt 80 | Cane Bay Beach, Kingshill, Frederiksted 00850, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Frederiksted
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cane Bay Campground is St Croix's premier Eco-Resort. Stay in one of four Tent Cabins, steps from Beautiful Cane Bay Beach. The cabins are tucked under the forest canopy, but only steps from the lively atmosphere of St Croix's North Shore. We are located 1.5 miles east of the Carambola Marriot, and 4 miles west of Salt River Bay National Park. There are eight bars and restaurants to enjoy, a kayak outfitter on site, as well as a dive shop. Each cabin is outfitted with everything you need for pampered camping. The North Shore of St Croix is the island's hot spot, and now there is a budget friendly place to stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cane Bay Campground, Virgin Islands St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cane Bay Campground, Virgin Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.