We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our usual beach bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat @ Cane Bay

Eat @ Cane Bay
110c Cane Bay | Cane Bay, North Shore, Frederiksted, St. Croix
340-718-0360
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 14 restaurants in Frederiksted
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Casual beachfront restaurant bar with a cool vibe, amazing food & friendly staff. Build your own burgers from plain Jane to gourmet, big salads & fresh fish. Sunday/Funday brunch with live reggae every Sunday during season, monthly during summer.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not our usual beach bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The owners of eat @ CaneBay sold their high end restaurant (Baccus) downtown and rescued this rather seedy beach bar turning it into a favorite for all in the area. Fresh food attractively well resented. Open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Saturday, with brunch only on Sunday. Don't miss out ordering the food shots which are all vey interesting and tasty. If you ask nicely, you might get the chef to make bananas foster. Not on the menu bu one of the best we have had anywhere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    299
    103
    30
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“good view with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Thankfully my group went after the sun set and only had to wait 10min. We luckily arrived when we did because more people came up after us and thus had a longer wait. Had a table close to the water. I built a salad and was a little disappointed in it-too much lettuce, my friends were thrilled with their fish and chips platter. Great live music. Waitress was either too busy or forgetful, it took one her a loooong time to refill one of the drinks-we even had another waitress notice and kept checking back to make sure it was refilled. Could also blame bartender?! aside from that, def def recommend the rounds of food shots! we ordered the pork wonton and triple smoke and were not disappointed at all. Yum!! I'd love to come back either during the day or right at sunset.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were diving with Cane Bay Dive Shop and staying at the CB Cottages. So Eat@CB which is right next became our go-to eatery. Were we lucky! Superb local mahi-mahi, design-your-own-salad (or burger), sweet potato or zucchini fries and many other selections never became boring. Did I mention their inventive drinks, cold beers and well-selected wines - and the very friendly and knowledgeable wait staff? And as a bonus, there is music by local or visiting groups several nights a week.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and location/view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The food is excellent. We like the build-your-own salad and burger, and sweet potato fries. Service is friendly. The location can't be beat, right on Cane Bay beach with a view of the beach from every table. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“French fries and crepes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Best service, crepes were delicious and their fries were yummy! We love the live music and atmosphere was fun and laid back!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat @ Cane Bay also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Eat @ Cane Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat @ Cane Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.