We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stand-up paddle boarding was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cottages by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottages by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“stand-up paddle boarding was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Walk out of the cottages to the beach where Pi and Bill provided a fun beach adventure paddle boarding. Very friendly and helpful with new equipment for someone with no prior experience.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
107
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed for a week at Cottages by the Sea in January and had to come back with our 15 year old daughter in December for 12 days. She had more fun relaxing and playing at the Cottages than she did shopping! What a way to end the year, sitting in the sand all day and letting the water lull you to sleep at night. Fantastic staff that make you feel like family. Hope to see everyone there again soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We loved our 4 night stay at Cottages. We stayed in the Crow's Nest and it suited us perfectly. Simple, basic and clean - when not on the beach, we spent our time on our covered porch enjoying the view and the breeze. There were lovely breezes blowing so we never used the a/c. We enjoyed the grill area and cooked out a couple of nights. The beach is beautiful and the other people staying at the Cottages were very nice. Paul and his staff do a great job and we would return here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondacks, NY State
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

My husband, young son and I just loved our seven night stay at Cottages by the Sea. All of the glowing Trip Advisor reviews are deserved. Paul keeps a wonderful hotel, a dream-like place filled with clean, comfortable cottages all within steps of the beautiful beach. The guests are all within close proximity of one another on the property, but everyone seemed to be there with a similar agenda; all seemed to be seeking peace and quiet to swim and read in a gorgeous setting. The only sounds are the cheerful birds in the morning, frogs in the evening, and the constant waves which will lull you to sleep in whatever cottage you choose.

A car, which we had for three of our seven days, is an absolute must to see a sight or two and to stock up at the grocery store. Sandcastles and Carambola were wonderful places to have dinner. I would be more than happy to correspond with anyone considering this hotel and the logistics of staying there. There is no doubt we will return, possibly as soon as April. St. Croix is a wonderful island and we were spoiled by our time at Cottages.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

I cannot say enough wonderful and positive things about the Cottages By The Sea and it's staff! I was there with my (then) fiance and our son to get married. We stayed in the Crow's Nest and LOVED it! The views were unbelievable, just breathtaking! It felt so private and we felt so comfortable and safe. Our immediate families joined us there. They stayed in Chocolate, Coconut, Cocktail, and Cruzan. All of our rooms were just gorgeous, such attention to detail, design, comfort and convienence! They really thought to include everything in the rooms! Everything was so updated and clean. Donovan and Paul were the kindest people, we appriciated everything they did for us. They went above and beyond what I would normally expect from staff. The housekeeping Ladies and the Maintainence guys were all so sweet and pleasant. Not an attitude in sight, just smiles all around!
The beach was the most beautiful beach I have ever seen in my life. I'm not exaggerating. I have to say that there were rocks exposed while we were there due to some really crazy storms that Summer. At first I was dissapointed, but we all got used to them and then just loved them! It was no trouble walking over them in bare feet to get into the perfect water. Your feet were on soft sand once you were in. We had 3 small kids (Two 4 years olds and one 2 year old) and we were worried at first about them getting hurt. Never happened. They loved all the interesting things (snails and fish) that gathered on them and the pools that they created. It was just gorgeous to see all the amazing fish that lived in and around them underwater too! I have some of the most beautiful wedding pictures because of those rocks. Wouldn't have traded them for anything.
All in all, we will be back. We will most definitely be spending some of our Wedding Anniversaries there. It's a new home away from home for us. We and our families are still sighing when we look at our pictures, in awe at the experience. We wouldn't have had one of the most amazing times of our life without the Cottages By The Sea. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

I arived my room had construction next door so they upgraded me at no charge. the room was cleaner then a 5 star hotel.this is the only place I would stay in fredriksted.all services were great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithsburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay. The staff is so nice and accomdating. The beach is perfect. You can socialize with the other guests or not. It was truly like a home away from home!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Sea

Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. All cottages are newly remodeled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Cottages by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.