We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it, on the beach, great bang for your buck, used all the extras...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cottages by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottages by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“love it, on the beach, great bang for your buck, used all the extras...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

It is right on the beach, I sometimes swam three times a day. The staff could not have been more kind and helpful. We felt at home in a few days. We used the guide books and maps, bikes, beach towels, full refrigirtor, dishes, oven and stove, floats,fins, snokel, flippers, board games, hammock and enjoyed sunsets over the ocean on our patio all at no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
111
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, ga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We visited Cottages By The Sea for our family vacation. It was an all around great vacation. The Cottages were comfortable and clean. The people were friendly and helpful. During the week we basically had the beach to ourselves but on Saturday when the cruise ship came in, the town came to life with vendors, shopping, and restaurants. The beach was without doubt the most beautiful I have seen. We snorkeled, and swam in water that was as calm and clear as our home pool. The Cottages had snorkel equipment, beach toys, kayaks, books, and boardgames. We met some of the "regulars", (guests who return yearly or more often), and they made us feel welcome and had great ideas of places to visit and dine. Paul and his staff were great (especially Rose). We will all have great memories of St. Croix thanks to their hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This trip to St. Croix was to celebrate our 25th Anniversary and to reward our two children for graduating with honors from college. We had a great time. Cottages by the Sea is truly that. It is right on the water. The staff is great. They are very helpful and informative. They know the island well and can answer any question. The water was spectacular. Make sure you bring your snorkel gear. They may have some but we preferred to use our own and have it available any time. We spent hours snorkeling right in front of the cottages and along the west end. We saw sea turtles, sting ray, crabs, and many beautiful fish. It was great.

Be prepared for the sticker shock at the food market. We found it to be at least 2 times what we pay in Charlotte, NC. If you are looking for great places to eat - don't miss the Terrace restaurant at the Buccaneer Hotel and the food at the Carambola Beach Resort was great. Both had great views of the water from your table.

Definitely check out the Cottages By The Sea

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

This was our first trip to St. Croix so we didn't know what to expect. We liked what we saw on the web site and hoped that the description and pictures would be at least similar to what we would find when we arrived. My husband and I could not have been more pleased. It was exactly as pictured! Our room was very nice and comfortable, with everything we needed for a pleasant stay. Cottage By The Sea Staff members were very nice, welcoming, friendly, helpful, & pleasant. Other Guests were friendly. Our privacy was respected and no one bothered us or hovered over us. It was like we had our own private beach cottage. Scenery was beautiful with the Caribbean Sea so clean, clear, various shades of blues, greens, & turquoise. The sea was calm and refreshing and there was a constantly cooling breeze that was "just right" keeping us comfortable. The Caribbean was amazingly comfortable as we never once had to experience that first startling cold water and never had to "adjust" to get used to the temperature. Anytime from early morning to late evening was the "right time" to swim. Snorkeling was great. Many times during our stay we looked at each other and at the same time said, "Can you believe this?!!" If you want a great beach vacation away from the hustle bustle of tourism, try it, you won't regret it. Thank You to all of Cottage By The Sea Staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Cottages by the Sea in the Calabash cottage for a week in May 2009. We can’t say enough good things about Cottages and loved every minute of our vacation. In order to make this review has helpful as possible I’ve broken it down by: Location, Staff, Amenities, Island in General (stuff to do, food, etc).

Location:
While St Croix is the largest island in the US VI, it certainly isn’t crowded. We thought it was due to the recession but we were told that generally, it’s always pretty quiet. My wife and I like to avoid crowds. We look for great beaches, quiet areas, peace and relaxation and don’t like trips filled with non-stop activities so this place was perfect for us.

Cottages is right outside Frederiksted, the smaller of the two main cities on the island. The beach was unbelievably beautiful and far superior to any other we saw on the island. The snorkeling off the beach is great and we saw a lot of fish, a giant starfish, and an eel. Cottages is about half a mile from main street in Frederisksted which is an easy walk in the day time but we found there wasn’t much to see there. At night you want to drive since there is a local element that isn’t as friendly.

Cottages is a very quiet place and we didn’t see more than 10 people on the beach at any given time, although there were at least 50 staying at the hotel. It’s an incredibly relaxing atmosphere so if you’re looking for a lot of action or night life, this isn’t the place for you. But if you’re looking for a quiet place to stay on a gorgeous beach with friendly staff, you’ve found your destination.

There is a man who comes by on Tuesdays and Thursdays selling some of the most incredible fruit we've ever had. His mangoes and pineapple are to die for. There is also apparently a person who stops by on Fridays to sell fresh bread but he didn't show up while were there but it's supposed to be delicious.

Most of the really good restaurants are on the other side of the island in Christiansted. We didn’t think it was feasible for taxis to pick us up and shuttle us around so we rented a car and that worked out very well. We drove for an afternoon through the nearby rain forest which we highly recommend (and while you’re there, stop by Hailey’s for an incredible fresh fruit smoothie and check out their petting zoo).

Staff:
The staff at Cottages was warm, friendly, helpful, informed, and pretty much everything you could hope for. Paul, the on-site manager who is also the son of the owners, is a great guy and a wealth of information. Everyone there bent over backwards to help us with our accommodations (we have special requirements due to my wife’s sensitivity to chemicals) and worked with us to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

Amenities:
At Cottages they have a couple BBQ’s (for those sensitive to smoke the wind takes it right out to the ocean), kayaking gear, snorkeling equipment (though I didn’t find any flippers for large feet), rafts, spaghetti floater things, books, games and a PC for internet access. All of this is free for the guests which is a nice perk. Next door there is a restaurant with good food though they are apparently closed Monday through Thursday.

A supermarket called Plaza Extra is about 5-10 minutes away by car and they have all sorts of food although the prices are on par with or higher in many cases to Whole Foods. They even had our favorite organic cereal. We recommend when you get there, do a shopping trip for food during the day or for breakfast food as many of the local restaurants don’t open until 10 or 11am.

Our cottage was very cute, well laid out and had a kitchen so we made coffee and breakfast in the morning, sat on the beach and read. Good way to start the day. It was only about 15 feet from the beach and we had a beautiful view of the ocean from our breakfast nook and from our patio.

Island in General:
St. Croix is a wonderful place and we plan on returning after we see the rest of the world. Christiansted is somewhat upper-scale and very charming although it was a bit too touristy for us. Frederiksted is where most of the locals live so you get a real flavor for the island by staying there which we loved.

Beaches – the beach to the left of Cottages is where the end of Shawshank Redemption was filmed…so you can picture the white sand and turquoise water. Saying it was gorgeous doesn’t do it justice. The water is so incredibly clear and pretty warm. It was glorious.

Point Udall – The eastern most part of the United States. They have a cool looking monument and it’s a great view…of ocean, but still, a great view and worth doing if you have a car since it’s at the opposite end of the island.

Rain forest – this is an incredibly beautiful place and we highly recommend you visit. We drove through it for the most part but it was an incredible experience. Don’t forget to stop at Haileys to get an amazing organic shake made up of seven or so native fruits.

Cruzan Rum Factory - we took a 15 minute tour of the rum factory and it was an interesting experience. Plus, you get a free rum drink at the end which is cool.

There is some really great food on the island and some of our favorite restaurants were:
- Kendricks – Incredible rack of lamb, steak, amazing patio
- Savant – Beautiful patio in the back, amazing food
- Salud – Incredible dipping sauce, duck, mango cake – Indoors

They don’t really drink coffee on the island so the only place we found that saved us in this regard was Polly’s in Frederiksted. Coffee elsewhere was just bad (with the exception of Savant).

We didn’t really see any typical sunsets since there is a ribbon of clouds that seems to hover right over the middle of the island, out to sea where the sun sets. It’s still beautiful, just not the setting sun we’d come to expect from the Caribbean.

Overall, we had a wonderful time at Cottages and as I mentioned earlier, plan to go back. We offer our highest recommendation for Cottages and for St. Croix – you won’t be sorry.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Ma.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed at the Cottages by the Sea , with a bunch of Coast Guard Shipmates . This was our second time to St Croix. The Wife & I ENJOYED it much more by staying at the Cottages, then the year before ,we found it was More Relaxing & Friendly . We are coming back to the Cottages this Nov 2009 because of the Value , Location & being just a Great Place . We live on Cape Cod ,Ma. and Enjoy going to St Croix & Staying at the Cottages.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

I enjoyed a relaxing week at Cottages by the Sea. Don't expect luxury. You may see an insect in your room, but nothing crazy. There's air conditioning and a TV for home like comforts. Lovely kitchens to cook in. I was staying in a cottage that had some construction going on nearby. I talked to the front desk about it and was immediately upgraded to the newly renovated honeymoon suite. I could practically jump into the ocean from my balcony. The beach is wonderful, lots to see if you are a snorkeler. There's a restaurant/bar a stone's throw away, next door. Very nice for a midday pina colada. As I said, don't expect a 5 star hotel. But if you are looking for peace, quiet, a nice beach and friendly atmosphere, this place is for you. Family friendly also with bigger suites.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Sea

Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. All cottages are newly remodeled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Cottages by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.